We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson York
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Louth
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Value for money and great location”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Having stayed at the Park Inn in Manchester in January we thought we would try the one in York for a one night stay. As we didn't plan to spend much time in the room this proved to be perfect for our needs. The location is spot on as it is right in the centre of the city by the river and just a short stroll from the city centre shops and restaurants. The railway station is about a 10 minute walk away. We travelled by car and were most impressed with the secure parking which costs £12. We felt it was well worth it, and it is right next door so really convenient too. The standard room we booked was modern and clean and had the usual tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom only had a shower, as expected, and was reasonably clean. I was a bit disappointed that the toilet had several hairs on it but overall that was the only gripe. The rest of the room and the hotel was really very clean. The breakfast was good although the dining room is a little tired in places. The reception staff were really nice as were the dining room staff. Everyone we spoke to was very polite and we were made to feel welcome. Again, we really appreciated that you can only operate the lift with your room key and the added security made us feel safe not worried! For us this was a perfectly located, value for money hotel and we had a superb time.

Room Tip: I always prefer to be on a high floor as it seens quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunkissedbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you found the hotel to be perfect for your needs. York is a beautiful city and the recent warm weather shows it off to its best. I do hope that you have joined our Club Carlson loyalty scheme.... as a regular visitor to our hotels this will offer you a range of benefits. Full details can be found on the web or from any team member.

I hope we will have the opportunity to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    793
    385
    116
    48
See reviews for
239
892
71
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I found the parking a mess about with me been disabled there only is three parking bays outside hotel ,staff were very helpful, having breakfast was a bit of a rush very busy staff run of their feet , I was forgotten about both times,when we asked for tea with our breakfast day one asked twice for tea day two my wife didn't like to bother them as there were to busy,could do with more staff stay was ok but a little expensive mr and mrs o neill from middlesbrough 30/07/2013 room 604.

Room Tip: Sleep away from river to many pubs on other side to park your car is expensive bring extra cash?.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. I am sorry you found the parking arrangements were not to you satisfaction. As you say, we have 3 disabled parking bays adjacent to the ramp; this is usually sufficient so I am sorry if they were all taken during your stay. The main hotel car park is extremely secure and we are confident the cost is extremely competitive compared to other car parks in the city centre.

I do apologise that you did not receive your team and coffee and I will certainly ensure that this is brought to the attention of the Breakfast supervisor.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Boldon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband and I have just spent two nights at this hotel in York. The cost for two nights and bed and breakfast was £138, which was excellent value. The hotel was immaculate and the rooms were well presented and also very clean. The hotel provided free Internet during our stay, there was free television, tea and coffee making facilities, power shower including complimentary toiletries and the air conditioning was great! The hotel was in an ideal location with views overlooking the river. There were plenty shops, bars and restaurants nearby. We were able to walk everywhere from the hotel due to its ideal location. Staff were friendly, breakfast was lovely and catered for a range of customers.
Parking was secure, although it did cost an extra £24 to park for two nights. This could maybe be something which is tailored into the package? As it may attract more guests but to us this wasn't a problem as we saved on the train fare and knew our car was secure for the duration of our stay.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynd926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Carolyn

I just wanted to say a big thank you on behalf of the team for your kind comments. York has certainly been at its best during the beautiful weather and I am pleased that in some small way we made your visit to the city even better.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed two nights (22nd to the 24th July) as part of a really good deal through Superbreaks, this also included breakfast for two and train travel from our home in Montrose Scotland. The hotel is very close to the train station and with a unique setting on the river, is very easy to find.

Checking in was very smooth and the staff were very polite and friendly, the room itself was excellent, it had modern decor, very clean, LCD freeview, and free wi-fi access, we even had a nice view overlooking the river. We stayed on the fifth floor and noise was no issue either.

We didn't have evening meals in the hotel but did on the first night have a beer and wine where the bar staff serving was also polite and friendly. Breakfast was excellent with a full choice of either English or continental serving, again staff were very pleasant. On the second night we planned an early dash back up on the train, Breakfast started serving at 7am and our train was 7.30am so to give us a bit more time we used the room service option (tag hanging on the back of our door) and highlighted a 6.15-6.30am continental breakfast. This was served o nthe morning on time and with a full selection for two persons including hot tea and toast.

If your planning a visit to York I couldn't fault this place

Room Tip: Request a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Many thanks for your fantastic feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you had such a good time and you found the team to be so efficient and provided genuine Yorkshire hospitality!

I do hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again should your travels bring you back to York.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a very good budget hotel- great for a short stay in York if you're planning on spending little time in your room.
The staff were very courteous and check in/out was done quickly. They will look after you bags for you if you arrive early and your room isn't ready yet.
The room (garden room) was very clean and there was little to no noise from outside (though perhaps rooms in a different part of the hotel may be noisy). The public areas of the hotel were also spotless. The bed was comfortable and the room amenities were fine, if relatively basic. The room was rather small but we spent little time in it so it didn't really matter to us.
The location is great- central but in a quiet spot, and convenient for the railway station.
We didn't get up early enough for breakfast, or use the hotel bar so I cannot comment on those.
Overall I would say this is a very good budget choice for a weekend in York, where you're more interested in being out and about in York than sitting in your room. It's not a luxury hotel but it doesn't pretend to be (this should go without saying but I often see reviews that judge budget hotels by 5 star standards)! We paid £50 per room per night and I felt this was very good value for money.
The only real negative is that it is easy to get lost if you're in the garden wing as you have to go to the first floor and then walk halfway around the building to another lift bank to go up to the other floors- a little confusing in the early hours of the morning- we ended up walking around for ages. To be fair we did not have such problems in the cold light of day though, so teetotallers should be fine!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Lucy

I just wanted to say thank you on behalf of the team for your kind comments. I will share your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel last summer in a single room and found the room too small and cramped. This time I booked a double for a few pounds more and the room was great. Modern, spacious and clean. Full tea tray, clean modern shower room, Sony freeview tv and a safe. Well looked after by Michelle on reception and although the car park ticket system was temperamental and cost £12 a night it would cost more elsewhere and the location was superb. Was awoken by bin men at 5.30 but that is hardly the hotels fault. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear George

I was very pleased to hear that your second visit was a success and you found the room to meet all your needs. I will share your kind comments with Michelle, thank you. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future should your travels bring you this way.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffeild
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just had a girlie weekend ,12 of us,arrived to a friendly receptionist ,our rooms were not ready but we were checked in very quickly and our bags stored safely until they were.Our rooms were scattered all over the hotel but as we weren't staying long that was fine, some had a river view ,some didn't have any view at all, if a view matters to you book a river room.the rooms are clean and modern , nothing to complain about. Breakfast was good quality and cooked well.All staff were friendly,we would use this hotel again as it is very central,within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayannie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
I just wanted to say a big thank you on behalf of the team for your kind comments which I will share with the team. I am pleased you had a goot time and would recommend the hotels to others.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 47 in York
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson York

Property: Park Inn by Radisson York
Address: North Street, York YO1 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson York 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Ouse, Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre is a vibrant hotel close to premier attractions. The hotel's prime location is within walking distance of the train station, shopping and business districts. Feel at home in one of the 200 bedrooms with stunning views of the river, city centre or cathedral. Room amenities include flat-screen televisions, Free Wireless High-speed Internet and complimentary toiletries. Enjoy on-site dining in the vibrant restaurant and bar, which serves appetising dishes and an extensive drinks menu. Onsite, secure car parking is also available; charges apply. With 12 meeting rooms, the hotel is a great choice for hosting events. The facilities can accommodate up to 400 delegates for conferences and up to 240 guests for gala dinners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson York Hotel York
York Park Inn
Park Inn York
Park Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing