We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Basic Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson York
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in York
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal Basic Business Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Average hotel well placed for a good visit to York as a reasonable short walk from the centre of York and also from York train station. Room comfortable if basic and a good nights sleep was enjoyed. Room service excellent and a good range & quality of food delivered

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Inn by Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Margaret Mrs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review of the hotel; I am delighted you found the accommodation and food more than met your needs for your business trip to York. If you stay with us again, may I recommend you join the Club Carlson loyalty programme, which offers regular guests additional benefits when staying at any Rezidor Hotel. A member of our reception team would be pleased to advise you further.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    757
    365
    110
    45
See reviews for
224
850
69
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The location is the best thing about this hotel!! It is within very easy walking distance of everything fun in York, and really close to the station. The views from our room were wonderful! You could see all the way up the river and across to the busy and interesting venues across the river. We spent quite some time watching the boats rowing past. Otherwise tho: The windows were almost opaque with grime. The mattress on our bed was dreadful - the padding on top of the springs had moved and bunched into the middle, leaving very uncomfortable springs all around the edges and a huge ridge in the middle of the bed. The bathroom was not completely clean. The shower had a curtain rather than a door and that was an unpleasant experience. The shower itself was under-pressured. The bins were not emptied properly, and there was a mouldy milk carton in the bottom of the bin both days we were there. The bin bags made more of a cover for the bins rather than actually fitting inside, so that things just bounced back out of them. We were right next to the lift, which was exceptionally noisy. On check in, the staff member didn't take an impression of our card, and so we were unable to charge anything to our room. The service in the RGB bar was absolutely dreadful. We waited a very long time between each visit from the serving staff. And our food was less than perfect. The restaurant was unavailable for food, but we weren't informed of this by the staff - another guest told us, and we then had that confirmed by staff. Breakfast was very, very good though! As we bought this as a deal on eBay, I am happy enough that we put up with some drawbacks. I would have asked for money back if we had actually paid the full rate!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Inn by Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Whilst it is never good to hear when a guest has not had the best experience when staying with us, all feedback is useful to ensure we continually strive to improve our standards. I am a little surprised to hear of your findings as they are at variance to the general comments we received, but if you would wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact me directly at sally.hughes@rezidorparkinn.com.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The room had an excellent river view and we were in the centre of York but it was an expensive room. We were disappointed with the facilities, shower was awful like drizzle,bed was too hard, toilet roll cheap and long queue for checkout. The car park was secure but we had to pay full price despite being guest at the hotel.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Sally

I am alwasy disappointed to read when a guest feels they were disappointed with some elements of their stay but I thank you for pointing out the areas where you feel we could improve. There are some days when a large number of guests check out at the same time and whilst we do have staff on duty to cater for this demand, inevitably there can be a delay. Perhaps next time you could consider using our Express Check Out system which removes the need to queue.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesley, Cleveland, UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed on Saturday and can say very pleasantly surprised, got a late deal so happy with the price and the location and standard of hotel was very good, clean spacious and tidy rooms. Nice bathroom and shower and nice layout. Has hair dryer and shower/shampoo gel. Will defo stay again as so close to everything.
Asked for a quiet room and that's what we got - did not expect that in York City centre - so well done the Park Inn
Car parking at £12 is extra and very secure.
Did not do breakfast or dinner as wanted to explore York

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
It is always good to hear when a guest has had such an enjoyable stay and that we more than met their expectations. Thank you for letting us know. There are often some opportunities for 'good deals' so may I recommend that you keep an eye on the Park Inn website and book directly with us to take advantage of them should you be considering visiting York again in the future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked this at short notice as it had secure on site parking for our motorbike. It is eay to find being a few hundred yards through Micklegate. Room overlooked the river with a small balcony which was pleasing. Staff were friendly and informative. Parking was expensive at £20 per day. Breakfast was ok but we had trouble getting green tea and my husband thought they might have had kippers.

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise2955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Good morning. I am delighted to hear that you found our secure car parking facilities were good for your bike storage overnight but am a little surprised if the charges were more than £12 for 24 hours as this is the standard charge. I am sorry that kippers do not form part of our extensive breakfast buffet offering; my apologies to your husband if he was looking forward to them!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We booked 4 nights at The Park Inn mainly due to its good location. We did not eat any meals other than breakfast there, which were the usual cereals, English cooked breakfast or cold meats & cheese. The breakfast was fine, although I would have liked a better selection of bread for toast rather than cheap sliced white and brown bread.
The room was large enough but the absence of a wardrobe( just 3 hooks each with 4 hangers on each ) and only 1 drawer meant we had to store a lot of our clothes in suitcases. This seems to be a common trend with the conference hotels but is a bit annoying when you are staying more than 1 night. We were very impressed with the car parking which we knew was £12.00 per night as it had huge electric security gates and there were spaces available.
The staff were very helpful with any little queries that we had. Only complaint was the guest wi fi works for 1 device- not sure why hotels do this because most couples have a smart phone each and possibly an I pad or tablet and I can't see it costs the hotel to ensure you can be logged into more than one device in each room- this was remedied when we asked and we were given a different access and password.
The bar expertise in the evening was abysmal- we ordered 2 coffees and 2 brandies. 2 cups were brought to our table with coffee in, when after about 5 minutes we asked about the brandy we were told they had put the shots in our coffees. So we got 2 new coffees and 2 brandies this time in whisky glasses- so we left it at that. The next evening we ordered the same and were brought 2 brandies in dirty glasses, these were changed and then the brandies were brought in whisky glasses. Not really the wind down experience that you want just before going to bed.
I would stay here again but it is clearly geared for conference people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your very extensive review of the hotel and your recent stay. Whilst it is never good to hear that we have failed to deliver the excellent Yes I Can service for which the hotel and brand are famous, you have highlighted an area where additional training would be of benefit and I thank you for this. I am very sorry that the modern style of our newly refurbished guestrooms was not perhaps to your taste but I am pleased to hear that you would consider staying with us again in the future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pulborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

on the night of my stay at this hotel which I had booked because of attending an event held in the evening at the hotel they decided without warning to close the main restaurant, the only option and food available was in the bar which was distgusting - microwaved precooked rubbish. I have no intention of ever staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Inn by Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sir Whilst I appreciate you may not have enjoyed the food served, I wish to assure you that none of our men items are microwaved, but cooked fresh to order in all instance. The food served in the bar grill is exactly the same menu as in the restaurant. We are launching a new menu next week and I hope that you would find this more appealing.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson York

Property: Park Inn by Radisson York
Address: North Street, York YO1 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson York 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Ouse, Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre is a vibrant hotel close to premier attractions. The hotel's prime location is within walking distance of the train station, shopping and business districts. Feel at home in one of the 200 bedrooms with stunning views of the river, city centre or cathedral. Room amenities include flat-screen televisions, Free Wireless High-speed Internet and complimentary toiletries. Enjoy on-site dining in the vibrant restaurant and bar, which serves appetising dishes and an extensive drinks menu. Onsite, secure car parking is also available; charges apply. With 12 meeting rooms, the hotel is a great choice for hosting events. The facilities can accommodate up to 400 delegates for conferences and up to 240 guests for gala dinners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, LateRooms, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson York Hotel York
York Park Inn
Park Inn York
Park Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing