We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson York
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the York attractions, we had visited York before and love the city of York.
The hotel could have been cleaner- more attention needs to be paid to the bathroom and beside the beds.
The food was very average. Although the quantity of breakfast was very good, the quality and appeal left a lot to be desired.
The hotel staff were excellent, and every effort was made to ensure we were comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a river view room and although there were night revellers at hotels across the river , becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nanny0002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback; I am however a little disappointed to hear that you found some faults with your room as we are invariably receive extremely positive with regards to cleanliness standards. Please be assured that I will speak with the Head Housekeeper. I agree, the river views are certainly amazing and it is certainly well worth paying to upgrade to these rooms.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,387 - 1,393 of 2,182 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Our trip was spoiled by two main things, which prevented us from good night's sleep. Firstly, the beds were very uncomfortable because the mattresses had seen better days. Secondly, on 2 consecutive nights we were woken up by both nighttime revelers and various early morning bangs and crashes made by trash collectors, street cleaners etc. if we were ever to stay at the hotel again (which we won't) we would definitely insist on a room facing the river and not the street.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 361_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Whilst it is never good to hear when a guest has not enjoyed all aspects of their stay, all feedback is welcome. I am a little surprised to hear that you found the mattress was not suitable, but wish to assure you that they are certainly not old. We have an amazing city centre location, with all the benefits that provides, but as with any city there are inevitably on occasions the associated city centre noises. I am sorry to hear, that despite the double glazing, you were disturbed and even more disappointed that you would not therefore consider staying with us again the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were really happy with our stay at this hotel. Easy to find and just a short walk from all the shops. The reception staff were friendly and informative. We were able to leave our bags when we checked in and checked out so we didn't have to lug them around York with us. The room was spotlessly clean. There was an ironing board and iron which is a first for most hotels and also nice to have a bath too. Also great to have free wifi for a change! The breakfast was lovely - a great selection of food and although a buffet style, the hot food was reasonably warm, not gone cold like often happens on a buffet breakfast. Clean and modern reception area where you could sit and wait to be picked up. The only very minor negative (but doesn't apply to heavy sleepers like me), was that my Mum said there was quite a lot of noise outside from about 5am (which I assume would be deliveries etc) but she is a very light sleeper anyway. We were in room 118 which is on the first floor at the front of the hotel. We would definetely stay here again. Just as good, if not better, than a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

It sounds as though you had a great time here in York and the hotel lived up to your expectations. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback and I know the team will be delighted to hear that their Yes I Can! customer service made all the difference.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Park Inn is an excellent, modern hotel, overlooking the river Ouse & just a two minute walk over the bridge to the main shopping area, the castle museum & a short walk to the Minster. It is ideal for a weekend or as a base for a longer stay. The facilities in the rooms are impressive providing for every need. The staff are friendly & helpful & very professional.The secure car park is just a very short distance from the hotel. Breakfast is excellent with an wide choice of food. I cannot fault it we had a marvellous time.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but a river view would be the icing on the cake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contentedtraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

We really could not ask for a better review of your recent stay at the Park Inn Hotel; thank you. It is always so pleasing to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay, so thank you for taking the time to write. We are so lucky to have such a perfect location with amazing views and all the main tourist attractions are within walking distance; I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you travels bring you back this way.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

For location it can't be beat! Right on the river with unrivalled views of the Minster, walls,
some bridges & countryside beyond. Abundance of wonderful restaurants close by. (Prepare for some noise from bars over the water however).
Car park is VERY tight, staff friendly & helpful.
Bathroom was well equipped & clean, bed very comfortable with clean pressed sheets. The room could've been exceptional if it weren't for a big cobweb, (coated in a lot of dust), in the corner of the room.
Breakfast, mmm.., as with all hotels where it's buffet style, to be fair, I find them all insipid, would much rather prefer a good 'just cooked' breakfast. Having said that, there was a lot of fayre for everyone's tastes.
To be honest I would stay there again too, even though we had to evacuate due to fire alarms going off, at least you're safe in the knowledge they work, & are quickly attended to by the fire brigade...

Room Tip: try to get views of the river, minster
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank carl_garden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review of your recent stay at the hotel; I do apologise for the cobweb which has now been removed... thank you for letting me know. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at some time in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Enjoyed staying at The Park Inn but would advise patrons to avoid during The Ebor race meeting. Very noisy racegoers made the bar an uncomfortable place to be in the evening. They had usually had more than enough to drink at the race course and so were very noisy indeed by the time they arrived back at the hotel. Breakfast was excellent, only spoiled by one very rude woman breaking the yolks on the friend eggs until she found one of the correct consistency for her! Staff were wonderful and very attentive. Decent selection of wines and beers. The bed was extremely comfortable but I found having no drawers a bit disconcerting -my underwear on display to whoever entered the room! Very good shower cubicle and large fluffy towels. Would go back again when I wasn't a race meeting week.

Room Tip: Get a room on floors 7 or 8 as the noisy parties seem to allocated rooms on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Park Inn hotel. Ebor is one of the largest race meetings in the country and always draws a large number of visitors to York. I am afraid that on occasions those who attend do drink rather too much during the day but we do not tolerate bad behaviour and they received a warning. I must stress this is very unusual and I note that in all other respects you have an enjoyable stay, so we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Warm regards. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a mid-price hotel, so clearly it is not going to have all the facilities of a 5 star hotel, but for the price, it is excellent. As a frequent user of hotels across the country, this ticks all the boxes for me. Quite new and fresh, it has good, clean rooms, with very good, modern bathrooms. Importantly, the shower gives a decent water flow and toiletries are also good. The beds are comfortable and I enjoyed a good night's sleep. Check-in and out were both friendly and efficient. There is also free wi-fi, which was fast and problem free. Good location too, just over the bridge from the centre of the town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear David I have shared your comments with the team and we are all very pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay here in York. I can appreciate that when you travel extensively for business to find somewhere comfortable and welcoming is so important, so I hope that you will consider staying with us again, or at another Park Inn hotel. If you book directly via the Park Inn website you are eligible to join the company loyalty scheme; any team member will be pleased to assist in this process and explain the benefits, or you can look on line at the Club Carlson webiste.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson York

Address: North Street, York YO1 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £67 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson York 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Ouse, Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre is a vibrant hotel close to premier attractions. The hotel's prime location is within walking distance of the train station, shopping and business districts. Feel at home in one of the 200 bedrooms with stunning views of the river, city centre or cathedral. Room amenities include flat-screen televisions, Free Wireless High-speed Internet and complimentary toiletries. Enjoy on-site dining in the vibrant restaurant and bar, which serves appetising dishes and an extensive drinks menu. Onsite, secure car parking is also available; charges apply. With 12 meeting rooms, the hotel is a great choice for hosting events. The facilities can accommodate up to 400 delegates for conferences and up to 240 guests for gala dinners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson York Hotel York
York Park Inn
Park Inn York
Park Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing