We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Hotel With Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson York
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Spent 3 nights at this hotel and found it to be comfortable and well situated
It is a short walk to,the city center.
The rooms are modern and although not large have most amenities
The wi fi didn't work as well as I would have liked but it was free in your room and throughout
The hotel
There is a nice view of the river

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Bradyboy2! Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you found the hotel to be perfect for your needs so I do hope that you will consider staying with us again if your travels bring you back to York.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

We had a late booked break in York at the Park hotel which is right next to river and only a five minute walk to the shops and restaurants,The hotel room was excellent a really comfortable bed and a very good shower and over looking the river,The buffet breakfast had plenty of choice just about something for everyone all though we would prefer a fresh cooked breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Felixpippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Good afternoon. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your time in York and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to this beautiful city. Why not check out the Park Inn website to take advantage of some special rates?

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Walking distance to all attractions, parking on site in gated inside car park at an extra cost, hotel was clean and tidy with basic amenities,helpful staff, swift check in/out breakfast was good and enough to choose from, rooms were a little pricy but it is York, overall would recommend and would visit again

Room Tip: over looking river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank foreveryoung27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write; I am delighted you found the location of the hotel to be ideal for your visit and the facilities we offer met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed in this hotel at the end of a week long holiday on the way back home to Glasgow. I stayed with my elderly mother (83) and due to the good location and the 'Park Inn' brand ( I stay at the Heathrow Park inn with work frequently and it is absolutely excellent) I had high expectations.
The room was pre paid due to my 'elite gold' status on the Park Inn's reward programme, but the woman at reception still asked for payment, this was the first mistake. Then, when I asked if the room was an upgraded one (due to my status on the programme) she said that it was the 'best room available.'
When we got to the lift (we were on the fifth floor) it was broken. A male receptionist took us up in it despite the fact it went to every floor and didn't open on some which was distressing enough, but proceeded to tell us that he didn't know why we had been booked in this particular wing, as they knew the lift was broken! I was outraged, and asked him to take us back to reception to get re-booked. I couldn't possibly face the posibility that my 83 year old mother might have to negotiate 5 flights of stairs.
This time, the same woman said that there were no other twin rooms left in the 'other' wing, so I asked for a King bed size in the room. The guy who had brought us down pointed to a room on her screen and said '220 is a twin room.' She answered, 'yes but I was putting them in a King.' all this was said to each other, ignoring us, and then she proceeded to give us a very sub standard twin, with no explanation, which overlooked a busy back road.
Like another traveller, we could not sleep for the noise. The room (despite me being gold elite) was very much below standard, without even a fridge. What incensed me even more was the plethora of posters which tried to get people to join the points programme, as they would get upgraded rooms with magnificent views of the cathedral and the river Ouse.....It was almost as if the fact that I was on the points programme she presumed we were getting something for nothing, so gave us the lowest standard room. i would have complained about the blatent lie of there not being another suitable room available, whether I had been on the programme or not.
In all the hotels we stayed in that week (7 in total) the service in this one was appalling, in the other points programme hotels we were treated like VIPs, and really enjoyed the experience.
This stay, and especially the service was overall a shambles......

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river (and good luck with that!) as the back street is extremely nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisypop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Madam. May I apologise for the problems you experienced during your recent stay at the hotel. It is unfortunate that your arrival at the hotel coincided with some maintenance work on one of the lifts in the hotel. This in itself would have caused little disruption to the the comfort of our guests but unfortunately, quite unusually, the second lift developed a fault. We were able to resolve this fault fairly quickly, but in the interim the decision was made to try allocate rooms in an area of the hotel where these lifts were not required, in order to cause least inconvenience to our guests in accessing a room.

For our guests who enjoy Gold elite membership of the loyalty scheme, we do allocate the best room available within the category of room booked, in line with the scheme; unfortunately due to the fact that the hotel was fully booked that evening we were unable to offer a complimentary upgrade as you would have wished.

I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, but hope you understand that we were dealing with an unusual problem at the time.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the York attractions, we had visited York before and love the city of York.
The hotel could have been cleaner- more attention needs to be paid to the bathroom and beside the beds.
The food was very average. Although the quantity of breakfast was very good, the quality and appeal left a lot to be desired.
The hotel staff were excellent, and every effort was made to ensure we were comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a river view room and although there were night revellers at hotels across the river , becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nanny0002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback; I am however a little disappointed to hear that you found some faults with your room as we are invariably receive extremely positive with regards to cleanliness standards. Please be assured that I will speak with the Head Housekeeper. I agree, the river views are certainly amazing and it is certainly well worth paying to upgrade to these rooms.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Our trip was spoiled by two main things, which prevented us from good night's sleep. Firstly, the beds were very uncomfortable because the mattresses had seen better days. Secondly, on 2 consecutive nights we were woken up by both nighttime revelers and various early morning bangs and crashes made by trash collectors, street cleaners etc. if we were ever to stay at the hotel again (which we won't) we would definitely insist on a room facing the river and not the street.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 361_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Whilst it is never good to hear when a guest has not enjoyed all aspects of their stay, all feedback is welcome. I am a little surprised to hear that you found the mattress was not suitable, but wish to assure you that they are certainly not old. We have an amazing city centre location, with all the benefits that provides, but as with any city there are inevitably on occasions the associated city centre noises. I am sorry to hear, that despite the double glazing, you were disturbed and even more disappointed that you would not therefore consider staying with us again the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were really happy with our stay at this hotel. Easy to find and just a short walk from all the shops. The reception staff were friendly and informative. We were able to leave our bags when we checked in and checked out so we didn't have to lug them around York with us. The room was spotlessly clean. There was an ironing board and iron which is a first for most hotels and also nice to have a bath too. Also great to have free wifi for a change! The breakfast was lovely - a great selection of food and although a buffet style, the hot food was reasonably warm, not gone cold like often happens on a buffet breakfast. Clean and modern reception area where you could sit and wait to be picked up. The only very minor negative (but doesn't apply to heavy sleepers like me), was that my Mum said there was quite a lot of noise outside from about 5am (which I assume would be deliveries etc) but she is a very light sleeper anyway. We were in room 118 which is on the first floor at the front of the hotel. We would definetely stay here again. Just as good, if not better, than a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

It sounds as though you had a great time here in York and the hotel lived up to your expectations. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback and I know the team will be delighted to hear that their Yes I Can! customer service made all the difference.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson York

Address: North Street, York YO1 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £68 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson York 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Ouse, Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre is a vibrant hotel close to premier attractions. The hotel's prime location is within walking distance of the train station, shopping and business districts. Feel at home in one of the 200 bedrooms with stunning views of the river, city centre or cathedral. Room amenities include flat-screen televisions, Free Wireless High-speed Internet and complimentary toiletries. Enjoy on-site dining in the vibrant restaurant and bar, which serves appetising dishes and an extensive drinks menu. Onsite, secure car parking is also available; charges apply. With 12 meeting rooms, the hotel is a great choice for hosting events. The facilities can accommodate up to 400 delegates for conferences and up to 240 guests for gala dinners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson York Hotel York
York Park Inn
Park Inn York
Park Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing