We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We have just returned from a fabulous 2 night stay at Middlethorpe Hall. What a marvellous experience! The staff were absolutely superb, friendly, helpful and accomodating. The hotel itself is very impressive, it definitely has the WOW factor. When you go there you step back in time to a time when REAL service mattered. We stayed in a junior suite in the courtyard. We had dinner in the hotel on our first night.... absolutely wonderful, so many fantatstic taste sensations...the apple crumble souffle was heavenly. We spent some time in the spa...total relaxation ! We will most definitely be back and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criketfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2011

What a wonderful hotel Middlethorpe Hall is and it appears that we are not the only ones who think so! We were very surprised and indeed delighted to see that HRH Princess Anne was at a nearby table at breakfast on Wednesday morning.
Even without the presence of royalty I must say that our stay was most enjoyable. This National Trust property 5 minutes from York Minster is simply stunning and has a delightful spa in a cottage across the lane as well as beautiful gardens. Our room in the courtyard was cosy and comfortable, the food delicious and the service excellent.
We plan to visit again soon, who knows who we will see next time!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJRawlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We were looking for a spa break and opted for a Sunday - Tuesday package at Middlethorpe. The main house is absolutely gorgeous, straight out of an Austen novel. There are two dining rooms - one oak panelled, plus a library and a huge drawing room to loll around on sofas for pre-dinner drinks. The French sommelier was an absolute star, incredibly passionate about his wine and did not always suggest the most expensive. The waiting staff were brilliant, personable but not pushy. And the food! I don't think I've ever tasted better. Every plate was a work of art and absolutely delicious. As most parties were couples, we tended to have the drawing room to ourselves after 9.30pm and had some brilliantly enjoyable evenings there.

We stayed in a Superior Courtyard room in what were the old stables. They were very cute, and room 24 had toile wallpaper everywhere giving the effect of staying in an extremely posh box of tissues! The bathroom was compact but clean. It was a little odd that you couldn't make your own tea or coffee in the room, but had to order it from room service. Another downside was road noise. It didn't bother us as we were there in winter and so didn't need to have the windows open. But the A64 runs at the foot of Middlethorpe's parkland and is the noise is quite obtrusive when you're outdoors.

The spa is just over the lane from the stables and proved to be the biggest disappointment. It is *tiny*: one changing cubicle in the women's changing rooms, 2 showers, 1 toilet. You could get 4 people in the sauna at a push, and the same went for the steam room, the jacuzzi and the gym - in a "garden room" i.e. shed outside. Unless you have a treatment, you aren't given a robe, so end up having to re-use the same towel. We were even asked to share a locker as they'd run out, which when at Middlethorpe's prices really isn't on. The pool is OK but more than 4 people in it make it feel overcrowded. On the Monday there were a group of 6 who took over the place but on the Tuesday I had the run of it to myself for at least half an hour.

The biggest let-down is not having a specific chill-out zone to lounge about in, read magazines and the like. There's only 6 rather cheap plastic loungers at the end of the pool which really isn't that good. I don't know where the day spa people go - probably the 2 sofas in the reception. But we opted to return to our rooms for a bit of luxury. It's such a shame as the spa reception and treatment staff are lovely and all of us had amazing treatments - I don't think I'd ever had my earlobes massaged before! Heaven.

So go for the food but don't get your hopes up about an amazing spa experience - unless you find out they've extended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth_Darcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

We were delighted to read this glowing review written by 'Elizabeth Darcy' regarding her recent visit with a friend to The National Trust's Middlethorpe Hall & Spa for a Spa Break and that they found the accommodation, the food and the levels of service to be of the highest standards.

Middlethorpe Spa, created within a pair of traditional cottages opposite the historic Hall is compact in size and also situated in the 'green belt' that surrounds the historic City of York, with protected fields and woodlands. This also means that very strict planning restrictions apply and that it was not possible to make the Spa as large as we would have wished. However, it contains a steam room, a sauna, a spa bath, and indoor heated swimming pool (20 x 40 ft), a gymnasium and three treatment rooms. Our reputation also stands on the quality of service offered and the calm and restful atmosphere, as well as on these not ungenerous amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Beautiful setting matched by beautiful service.

On arrival we were lucky enough to receive a complimentary upgrade to a four poster room in the main Hall and this was like staying in an antique-furnished National Trust room of our very own.

The food was excellent and immaculately served by unobtrusive yet attentive staff.

We particularly liked the photos of the renovation which were displayed in the corridor on the way down to the Cloakrooms.

The only thing we found (amusingly) on the negative side was the size of the lift which, for two rather large individuals, was a trifle snug!!

Would love a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t_petrie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

From the moment I stepped across the threshold, the service I received was impeccable. Very professional but friendly staff took my bags to my beautiful room, in stunning grounds. This hotel is a former country house and is full of charm and character. I had a quick swim first in their spa and gym area (situated in converted cottages on the grounds,a few seconds' walk from the main house) then ate a lovely meal in their restaurant, again enjoying excellent service (I am wheat intolerant and they had wheat free bread and were able to adapt the menu to my requirements without any fuss). Enjoyed my complimentary early morning tea - delivered to the room - after having had a wonderful night's sleep on the comfiest bed I have slept in away from home. This place is a real treat.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Fabulous hotel in a fabulous location. Nice, if dated, room in courtyard overlooking garden. However there were two significant problems: no tea/coffee facilities in room meaning room service would have cost £13.50 for two teas! Secondly, breakfast finished at 0930hrs. Even business hotels don't finish that early!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellini3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

We are delighted that these guests found the National Trust's Middlethorpe Hall & Spa to be fabulous both because of its location and as an hotel. We are also pleased that they would recommend a visit here.

However, we are a little puzzled by their comment about the absence of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. Indeed, complimentary 'welcome trays' are available on request and this is clearly indicated in our 'information for guests'. Furthermore, 'Tailor of Harrogate' leaf tea or 'ethically sourced' coffee are charged at £4.25 and accompanied with home-made shortbreads and biscuits - not the price mentioned above. Early morning tea is complimentary, included in the room rate, in all bedrooms.

As in most country house hotels, breakfast hours in the dining room are 7.30 to 9.30 weekdays, and 8.00 to 10.00 on weekends, bank holidays and York Race Days. A room service order can be placed after that time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I regard Middlethorpe Hall as a real haven of tranquility with genuine staff who make the total experience so special. . Every time I come to M.H. I feel as though I am totally AT HOME . My visits are always because I am visiting my sick husband in hospital in Leeds and I really appreciate not having the long journey home. Please don't change anything..........and a special thankyou.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lartington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,379 reviews
1.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £114 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing