We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok for 1 night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
209 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“ok for 1 night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Don't have much more to say than the title: ok for 1 night.

Very from the city center and also not so easy to find. But, we arrived in the evening and left next day at morning, so...ok.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThiRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    215
    52
    14
    9
See reviews for
202
724
52
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed at Middlethorpe to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary in April. The flowers I had ordered were not only there but already in our room, in water. The hotel had upgraded us to a four poster bedroom overlooking the grounds and my wife was overwhelmed. We spent the afternoon wandering the beautiful grounds and using the compact but well equipped spa, including a back massage which came as part of the package. Dinner was served immaculately by a young waiter under the watchful eye of a French head waiter, and was very good. We slept well in our huge four poster and after morning tea served in our room, we had a great breakfast the following morning served a by a new team of very perky staff. We left promising ourselves we would return. We loved the country house atmosphere and the attentive but not disconcerting service. The average age of other guests did seem to be on the high side, though which was a shame. You probably wouldn't come here if minibars and DIY tea making were important to you (there aren't any), but for relaxation and effortless luxury, Middlethorpe is hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend for our silver wedding and we had hoped for something special however it far exceeeded our expectations! We love to visit historic houses and have often said how lovely it would be to live in one- well we did for a few days. The public rooms were outstanding and when we got to the bedroom (room 12 a superior twin in the main house) we couldnt believe it- the standard was just the same with decor appropriate to the period of the house. The beds were super comfy (I usually bring my own tempur mattress and pilows but didnt need them) and the whole place was very quiet and totally relaxing.

The view from the bedroom window was onto immaculate rolling lawns and just beyond we could see the edge of the race track.The rest of the gardens were beautiful with a walled garden with apple trees and flower beds then a long walled garden with mainly white flowers and wisteria. Beyond this was a more informal parkland area with a lake and if you stay in the courtyard rooms you can bring your dog.

We are not very keen on hotels usually due to frequently supercilious staff but we didnt need to worry as the staff at Middlethorpe Hall were so friendly and helpful. Food standard was excellent and the breakfast had great choices. There is also a spa with swimmin pool which we didnt get to use as there was so much to do in York. We would love to stay here again and have already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: Brilliant location if you are coming to the races
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathandneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaulieu, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Middlethorpe Hall is an oasis of calm and grace after a days work and one is seeking refuge from the busy roads and life in general.

It is very well situated close to the main roads around York whilst being far enough away to enjoy its peace and charm.

When we stayed in April 2011 our Garden Suite was relaxing, well appointed and had its own garden to take an excellent cup of tea in with the hotel's own shortbread biscuits.

The Spa across the hotel drive was quiet and relaxing.

But the extra highlight of a stay at Middlethorpe Hall has to be excellent food from the long established Chef Nicholas Evans and his brigade, we had the Six Course Gourmet Menu which was outstanding in all courses, accurately and imaginatively cook - the restaurant service under Lee Usher and his staff was professional and welcoming.

In fact Lionel Chatard and his hotel staff are a perfect example of friendly, professional knowledgeable and caring professionals - this hotel really does offer everything you could wish for to get away from it all AND at a remarkably good price for the quality and standard offered.

If you stay no-where else this year a trip to Middlethorpe Hall will give you everything you need in luxury and comfort and with York on the doorstep and the race course at the end of the drive you have a perfect Yorkshire setting.

Room Tip: The six course Gourmet Menu - it is memorable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANSE1855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

This hotel is very special. The attention to detail is faultless. The food is top class and the staff delightful. Nothing is too much trouble. We particularly loved our morning tea delivered to our room in bone china crockery and silver tea pot.

Stunning grounds and lovely spa.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joannecbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

From the moment we arrived, the service was excellent. Santiago, the porter, took our bags for us, and was cheerful and polite. Little touches like asking my pregnant wife if she would prefer to take the lift, instead of the stairs, were greatly appreciated.

Our room was spotless, and had a lovely view of the grounds. Having visited last year, I was surprised at how much there was to see. I think the weather must not have been as good! The bathroom was also excellent, with a nice large bath and shower. The provision of gowns, slippers etc. was really nice. Also, the Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries.

Because of the weather, we were able to enjoy drinks on the terrace, which was wonderful. We also dined in your restaurant that evening, and of course for breakfast this morning. On both occasions the staff were very friendly and polite, especially the lady at breakfast (who I meant to mention last year and forgot!) who's name I didn't catch. The quality of the food was excellent, as was its presentation. I was particularly impressed at the lengths gone to to present my full English breakfast!

My wife enjoyed a 'Mother-to-be' treatment in the spa, and I'm told it was thoroughly relaxing and just what she was looking for! The pool was lovely and quiet, much better than having to share with the masses at our local swimming pool.

Thanks once again for a wonderful stay, we look forward to seeing you next year if not sooner! I can see this becoming a tradition!

Room Tip: Best rates always on their website, book in advane
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnysorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Enjoyed the pool. The garden is pretty, the staff pleasant, but the courtyard room was cramped and cluttered, decor tired and fussy, and the floor above squeaked badly. Linens were clean but the good big bed was spoiled by heavy blankets and coverlet. Television had very limited selection of channels, while internet connection had to be requested. The tiny bathroom offered a nice selection of toiletries. Breakfast in the restaurant was disappointing, with chilled yoghurts, chopped fruit, cereals, juices and milk laid out on windowsills directly above hot radiators. Dinner at night was good but grossly overpriced. Middlethorpe is historically interesting but lacking the ambience and amenities of a proper four star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Lastminute so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing