We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our recent stay at the Middlethorpe Hall hotel was fantastic!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our recent stay at the Middlethorpe Hall hotel was fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My husband and I cannot rate this hotel highly enough! Everything about the place was fantastic and we were treated like royalty by the staff.
We were also upgraded for free on arrival which was an even nicer suprise.
The only downside was that we couldn't stay for longer but we will definately be visiting Middlethorpe again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsNS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    218
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
205
733
52
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This hotel is ideally placed in beautiful grounds and countryside, yet only a 10 minute bus ride to the center of York.The hotel is beautiful, elegant and extremely comfortable. The staff are friendly and efficient and nothing is too much trouble to them. The food is wonderful.
We had breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner and enjoyed every mouthful. The restaurant staff are attentive without being intrusive. The whole experience was wonderful from start to finish.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ravcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stunning location, incredible customer service, wonderful food, easily accessible from the city center, quiet rooms, friendly spa staff: Wow. The single best customer service I've ever experienced at a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madison613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

If you are looking for peace and quiet this is the place for you. The hotel is set in 20 acres of land which you are free to wander around. The gardens close to the house make you want to sit outside all day. Tea on the terrace is a must. The staff could not have been any more helpful and incredibly polite. The house and adjacent building are very picturesque. The hotel is directly opposite a pathway which leads to York city centre. I wish I had been staying for pleasure rather than business as I would have loved to visit the spa which is in the hotel grounds. Would most certainly return again and again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulambuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We spent Easter at Middlethorpe Hall and Spa, in a modestly sized room in the main house overlooking the extensive, well-maintained gardens.

Dinner, afternoon tea and breakfasts were all good. Menu choices were not vast, but we were happy with the choices available.

Inevitably, a 300+ year old house has some foibles, and some unusual design features, but I'd sooner have these than stay in just another prefab modern hotel.

Perfect for special occasions!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My daughter and I were fortunate to book for the Royal Wedding event and were treated 'right royally' from our arrival to the finale of the whole day which was to plant a tree in the beautiful grounds of the hotel. It was a fantastically organised event with the host and staff being extremely attentive throughout. The lunch menu was extremely good and I would certainly recommend this venue for any event.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyP-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I booked Middlethorpe as a suprise for my husbands birthday, and it was a treat we both enjoyed.
The hall is lovely set in beautiful suroundings.
From the moment we arrived every one was very friendly,nothing was too much trouble.
Check in was easy and we were upgraded to a junior suite, our room was room 16 out in the courtyard.
It had a lovely little lounge plus the bedroom,it was nice to have the extra room.
We made use of the spa which had a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and jacuzzi plus a fitness suite were you could work out, this was situated in a small summer house in the spa gardens, there was also sun loungers outside to enjoy the sun.
We both had a aroma back therapy massage which was really relaxing.
On the evening we ate in the main house, the food was lovely but dont expect large portions in hind site i would have had a starter as well but i cannot usually eat three courses.
Breakfast next day was great and plentiful.
All in all we had a nice relaxing time at Middlethorpe and would definately go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suepd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing