We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality - unobtrusive first class service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality - unobtrusive first class service”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant, served by well trained staff quietly doing a good job. Pre dinner drinks in the drawing room - a country house setting. Perfect evening.

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank King173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    218
    54
    16
    9
See reviews for
205
736
53
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We had been keen to visit York for some time and jumped at the chance of a great mid week deal at Middlethorpe.

The hotel itself impresses from the start, looks great and overlooks York racecourse. We were also impressed by the location, with a bus stop right outside running a regular service to the city centre during the day, avoiding the need to find parking. In the evening just a short drive to one of York’s many restaurants or pubs.

Service was good and room was well appointed in the manner of the history of the building with a few querky touches if you looked for them. We were also upgraded on arrival which is always a nice touch!

We really enjoyed the spa, used the swimming pool daily and treated ourselves to the odd treatment.

We didn’t use the restaurant in the evening opting to explore York instead but the menu was impressive, albeit a little on the expensive side. The breakfasts were fantastic though!

Overall a really enjoyable stay, and really pleased with deal we had not so sure if we would have rated quite as high if we had paid full price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Wonderful hotel & grounds, Yorkshire breakfast was so nice we had it three days in a row.Gardens were exceptional and perfect to relax in.Hotel rooms are furnished in traditional country house style and ours was roomy with 6 foot wide bed very comfy.
The spa was in a seperate building opposite the hotel the only downfall was the restriction on children who were not allowed to use the spa outside of certain times
Whilst in york we checked out the other 4 star hotels just for comparison and we were glad we chose to stay at Middlethorpe Hall

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elcapo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is a lovely hotel about 2 miles outside of York, not far from the racecourse. We had a superior double room, which was located in the courtyard, with views to the garden, which was delightful for a post breakfast walk. We found the room to be of a good size and would be quite comfortable for a stay of a few days. The bathroom was a little small, but it was clean and functional.

The bed was very comfortable and we both slept very well, and were not disturbed by other guests or annoying noises and bumps in the night!

The decor of the room was what I would consider to be 'in keeping' with the property. So often with old properties, they have a few more expensive exclusive rooms, which are in keeping, but the rest of the rooms are very 'bog' standard and you wonder why you paid the extra to stay in a country house hotel, with the interior of a Travel Lodge room.

Breakfast was more than adequate and cooked fresh to order, with a choice of eggs. There was also a selection of cereals, pastries and yoghurts.

All the staff were very polite and attentive to your needs, without being 'in your face'. Whatever you asked for was provided quickly and without fuss.

I did not use the spa so cannot comment on the facilities offered. Bear in mind, that it is a 40 minute walk into York, so if you did not wish to eat in the hotel resturant, you will need to have your walking feet on, take the car or order a taxi (a taxi back from York cost about £7.50).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a special break for a birthday or anniversary, or just to indulge!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hairypony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My husband and I cannot rate this hotel highly enough! Everything about the place was fantastic and we were treated like royalty by the staff.
We were also upgraded for free on arrival which was an even nicer suprise.
The only downside was that we couldn't stay for longer but we will definately be visiting Middlethorpe again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsNS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This hotel is ideally placed in beautiful grounds and countryside, yet only a 10 minute bus ride to the center of York.The hotel is beautiful, elegant and extremely comfortable. The staff are friendly and efficient and nothing is too much trouble to them. The food is wonderful.
We had breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner and enjoyed every mouthful. The restaurant staff are attentive without being intrusive. The whole experience was wonderful from start to finish.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ravcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stunning location, incredible customer service, wonderful food, easily accessible from the city center, quiet rooms, friendly spa staff: Wow. The single best customer service I've ever experienced at a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madison613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
610 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,169 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing