We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We had 3 nights for a reunion with family members at this perfect country house hotel and spa. The room was quiet and comfortable and the staff members went out of their way to meet our every need. We took advantage of their special offer that included pink champagne, tea, breakfast, dinner and use of the spa. We also enjoyed a range of treatments in the spa. There is a bus stop right by the door for easy access into York. Gardens are lovely too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    217
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
205
730
52
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed here recently in August for one night only. It was a bit of a last minute booking so we got a very good rate compared to the normal hotel rates. We had a nice spacious room overlooking the parkland to the front of the hotel. We did not have dinner in the hotel but we did have afternoon tea which was lovely. We had the cooked Yorkshire breakfast in the morning and again very pleasant. The staff are friendly and particularly liked the older serving staff (female) at breakfast in the morning, very experienced and homely with a good Yorkshire accent! (My husband hails from Yorks). We tried out the spa facilties which were pleasant. Overall I would definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed there Tuesday 9th August in a double room in the grounds. It was overall an excellent experience.

The room was in the courtyard No 12 from memory.

Starting off from getting out of the taxi the building looked old school and very impressive. The receptionist was very polite and walked me to my room which was a nice touch. The room was fairly small. 17" LCD TV and a small table and chair big enough to work on with a laptop.

Venturing out, the gardens were large and well maintained. Breakfast was great but the service was personal and fantastic.

The hotel is 2.5 miles from the York city centre. There are no shops near so get supplies on the way there from the Sainsburys local on the main road. There was a complimentary bottle of water in the room, though they express that you should leave the glass bottle in situ when leaving!

The bed was very comfortable, and I suspect it's a decent quality mattress.

Overall it's highly recommended, though boom through hotels.com and it's cheaper than direct. £110 per night on there takes it from a 4 to a 5 star review.

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelSpotterno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Ruby Wedding Anniversary Luncheon for 50+ family and friends. Varied, flavoursome and most-attractively presented cold buffet. Beautifully-dressed tables. Floral displays delightful. Terrific service from all staff in a wonderfully professional manner. Wonderful safe gardens for the children to roam. And the sun shone down on us! What more could we want?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdw055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkham, Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights (Thursday to Saturday), for our 22nd Wedding Anniversary. We stayed in a Superior Courtyard room, which overlooked the garden, and was very comfortable. There was plenty of hot water in the ensuite, good quality toiletries, and home made biscuits on the complimentary tray in the bedroom.

The gardens are fantastic, with a variety of plants and fruit trees. Wildlife is also evident, with squirrels, rabbits, birds, frogs and even a Pipistrelle Bat. The gardens are extremely peaceful, and include a croquet lawn for those who wish to indulge. As a keen gardener and photographer I was pleased to be able to enjoy the gardens and grounds at all times of the day (from early morning until late at night).

The Main House and accommodation, feature antiques, and pictures from National Trust Houses; which gives an air of authenticity and elegance. There was plenty of room to relax and enjoy a quiet tete a tete; or to converse with other guests, if so desired.

All the staff were friendly, helpful and very professional; nothing was too much trouble for them; and they really helped to make our stay very special. The food at Middlethorpe is wonderful; we both gained weight during our stay!

The Spa offers a wide range of therapies, and we both found the massage we had relaxing and of a good standard. The Spa is situated in two converted cottages separated from the Main House by the driveway; so it's near, but also peaceful and calming. Well worth a visit, and good value for money - £59 for 55 mins Aromatherapy massage.

It was lovely to have such attentive service from early morning tea brought to our room, breakfast in the main house, snacks and drinks in the drawing room, through to dinner in the dining room.

We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely be staying here again. It was quite expensive, but we felt it was worth it for the quality of service we received, and the beautiful location with historic atmosphere. Middlethorpe Hall is a must; for a romantic break, evening of luxury, or as the location for a wedding.

Thank you to everyone who made our stay special.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyTot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Spent a romantic weekend away with my husband in York.
The hotel is a stunning historical building located just outside York. It is surrounded by beautiful gardens where it s a pleasure to take a stroll (if the whether is nice).
The service is also really good and the staff helpful and attentive. There is no kettle in the room, but you can ask for tea or coffee and they will bring it to you together with homemade shortbread biscuits (it's complimentary).
The breakfast is served in the hall overlooking the garden and it offers a good selection of cereals, fruit and break (and you also order a la carte).
Only the Spa a bit disappointing, oldish and a bit tired, could do with a renovation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloriajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seasider in Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Treated my wife to a stay here for her birthday. It's a lovely country house with lots of history. The service & experience was wonderful. We used the spa, which was average but my wife had an Indian head massage, which she loved. We had dinner hear too. Again, the service was superb, as was the food, if a little unambitous. Overall, I would recommend this place but we have stayed in better for less money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangerinebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,083 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
1,039 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing