We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant outstanding, relaxing and enjoyable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We recently went to Middlethorpe Hall (our third overnight visit, although we did celebrate Yorkshire Day there last year). As ever it was lovely. We went for a late Valentines Day and had Sunday Lunch - the quality of the Lunch was as excellent as ever - beautifully presented and absolutely delicious, served by waiters who were helpful, polite, not intrusive but there at every point to attend... they seemed to offer what we needed as we thought of it ourselves! We had previously stayed in the house but this time it was the courtyard rooms. The bed was comfortable and the room pleasant, although when we stayed previously it had been a real treat to be upgraded to the four poster bedroom in the main house, I didn't mind. We had a swim and relaxed. We will be back at the end of June, to celebrate with our eldest family member as a group.. because we know that it will be superb. What makes it special for me is the quality of the staff... they are nice as well as well trained. It never seems like something is too much trouble and that is what makes it extra special (as well as that absolutely faultless food). Breakfast perfect. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in York.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

Just back from a wonderful two nights stay at Middlethorpe. Just like Bodysgallen Hall in North Wales both these hotels ouse National Trust....They are beautiful buildings, well maintained and stocked lovely furniture and heavy chintz curtains. We were lucky enough to stay in the four poster room which was extremely comfortable with a lovely view over the lawns. Staff were all excellent with a special mention to the waitress at breakfast (efficient and professional) and the barman who took time out to discuss in detail the various whiskies they had to offer....an excellent trip ...we will be back...thanks everyone for our wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

No complaints about the service and extremely friendly and helpful staff (with being grovelling or patronising). The food was also excellent and we had a pleasant swim and treatment in the Spa. Just found the rooms a little tired especially the bathroom and it was too warm/hot throughout the hotel. Appreciate that it was a warm weekend and we are on the cusp of Winter/Spring but someone should have turned the heating down. WiFi was free, with excellent signal strength from the very top room of the house.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hillside3144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

When we stayed at the Hotel earlier in the year we only had breakfast, but this time we had
our dinner in the restaurant. It was excellent as was the service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelt34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We were only able to stay one night and found it initially because it was close to York Crematorium - where were were attending a funeral. However, our short stay there was bliss!
Not only because of the surroundings, but because of the wonderful attentive and friendly service from every single one of the staff. We had been upgraded to a better room and all our requests for type of bedding when originally booking were met. We were impressed by the attention to detail. Complementary morning tea with the Yorkshire post was so much nicer than the usual kettle in the room. Dinner in the restaurant was divine. The surroundings are relaxing and impressive. The spa pool was also really nice. It may seem expensive, but it is totally worth it. I'd much rather stay at this superb hotel than longer elsewhere. Thank you so much! Cathy A

Room Tip: The hotel chose ours for us, it did not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just enjoyed a Murder Mystery evening for the first time at Middlethorpe Hall. What an atmosphere and perfect location. The historic surroundings and period furnishings made the evening. The food, wine and above all the service from all the staff made this an unforgettable experience. The room surpassed our expectations. A great decision to stay the night, although we live in York, makes us proud to know visitors to the City of York are treated to such high levels of service and comfort.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms, park by suite door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Last weekend we visited the Middlethorpe for a Saturday relaxing stay.  The Hotel from the outside looks very impressive and did not disappoint when we entered.  We were looking for a traditional, old style feeling and that is exactly what we got.

On arrival we were upgraded to the main building, and upon entering the room I was pleasantly surprised that it was warm, as usually you have to wait for the room to heat up.  On a cold day these simple touches are appreciated.  The room was large and had antique furniture in.  The bathroom was also of a good size with under floor heating and his and hers sinks.

We had afternoon tea, which was very nice sitting in the drawing room looking out over the grounds.  This is one of the best afternoon teas I have had in a while.  The tea was a plenty and the selection of cakes was great, with over seven types for both of you to try. You can even have a box to take the cakes away if you can't finish all of them.

In the evening we had the six course taster menu, which again was superb. The different courses were full of taste, and the service was unpretentious and welcoming.
All staff were friendly and again the breakfast in the morning was good, especially the cooked breakfast.

I have given the hotel four stars because of two things, the bed was far to soft for me and the pillows, although this is obviously down to taste and the shower was not quite powerful enough.  It was also difficult to turn on if you didn't, want to get your hair wet as it was non moveable, so you have to do a balancing act with your foot!

I would  definitely recommend for a short visit to York, as only 5 mins down the road by car

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scarlett-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
653 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,394 reviews
1.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £116 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing