We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Lovely old Queen Anne house set in delightful gardens with a pleasant terrace for evening drinks...just outside York, like staying in your own stately home, with antiques, carpets, interesting portraits and objets. Stayed in a separate stable block which was comfortable and cosy with good bathroom fixtures and fittings. Dinner was excellent, delicious, very good service and reasonably priced. Great full English breakfast included in the room rate. An easy drive into the centre of town. Definitely deserves Number One in York.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LimeyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

Go to York just so you can stay at Middlethorpe Hall. This is English country house at it's best,
lovely grounds and gardens and beautiful non glitzy decor. My bedroom was small but charming. The best part was the staff- they could not have been more accomodating or pleasant and with a lovely sense of humor.
The surrounding countryside is beautiful but we had to drag ourselves away from the hotel everyday as it felt like such a sanctuary but one replete with good wine and food.
Can't say enough good things about the experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the stable area ask for a second floor room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dish-sewickley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have not had the pleasure of staying at Middlethorpe so this review is for the Spa.

As I live in York there are lots of spas to choose from and I have tried the majority of the ones that get good reviews. That said time and time again I go back to Middlethorpe Hall.

I have had yet another blissfully relaxing escape consisting of fantastic service, blissful treatments, divine food and beautiful surroundings.

Unlike some spas that are part of a hotel, you do not feel conspicuous in your robe nor in all the times I have visited have had to ever endure children dive bombing the pool, I feel this is due to the spa being in its own private building.

The beauticians take the time to listen to you and don't just see you as the 'next appointment in the book'. My husband books me in when he knows I need that 'me' time and he says he can truly see the difference when he collects me-the frown has gone.

Ladies (and gents) if you need a solitary oasis of peace or even a girly weekend of sheet indulgence then you must give this spa a try.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Plscurfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

It's number one for good reason....because it is good! Why more of our stately homes haven't been turned into jolly nice hotels is a mystery. Our lovely old crumbling piles deserve to be filled with people. The atmosphere in the hotel is more like a house party than a hotel. We hadn't booked accommodation in advance of our trip south so it was lucky that we were able to stay there. Mr S had left his biz clothes hanging in our bedroom (a tad unfortunate as this was a business trip!) so we didn't dress for dinner, but actually everybody else had made the effort. Our room was in the main house overlooking the lawns and it was very comfortable, elegant and well appointed. We particularly enjoyed the home made shortbread- scrummy!

Room Tip: Ask for Frankie Dettorri's room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karenina_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A superb hotel in beautiful surroundings. All you would expect from a country house hotel. The staff were friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The room we had looked out over the garden and was very clean and well maintained. We dined in the restaurant twice over our stay and the food was beautifully presented and always hot. The only negative we found was that the menu remained the same throughout our 4 day stay and would benefit from perhaps one additional main dish changed each day. Breakfast was delicious with excellent ingredients perfectly cooked. Plenty of choice with a buffet included. Traffic noise form the A64 was not a problem and I'm sure the Archbishop of York who resides just down the road isn't troubled by it either! Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: There is a small lift to all floors but if you don't like lifts, ask for a lower floor room or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthSeaDrifter_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel is interesting, If you enjoy heritage etc., comfortable rooms (we stayed in the hall not the cottages ajoining) & excellent service all round. Very quiet & relaxing with lovely gardens. Good facilities at the spa but could be a pain if it's raining as the spa is across the road from the hall. Champagne afternoon tea quite pleasent in the drawing room. The restaurant was fair but disappointing for the price. Bland pea soup or should I say velouté, nasty garlic purée with the trout, clingfilm still wrapped around a mediocre chicken terrine. tasteless coffee parfait, mushy bitter strawberries but the trout & lamb were cooked to perfection & delicious? So in short a very nice stay but eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Not sure about the cottages you may feel a little remote to the historic experience of the hall. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Hotel chosen for a weekend break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Porter to carry bags available. Nice friendly staff, who recognised us and presented the room key when requested. A local map and other info provided by reception when asked. Room had a queen/king sized bed (not sure which) which had plenty of pillows and was very roomy and comfy. The wardrobe had hangers, but due to it being next to a radiator, the right had door didn't open fully and was a little annoying. No tea or coffee facilities provided in the room, but a large bottle of water instead. Complimentary toiletries and plenty of towels, haridryer, wi-fi, tv, lots of local reading materials, guides, notepaper and tissues provided. Lights were a little dim. The windows were single glazed and some outside noise could be heard. Walls were also a bit thin and in the morning, the other guests could be heard. A good sleep was had as there wasn't much foot traffic at night. Shower over a bath, very roomy and a good shower from the taps. The only thing I disliked was when the maid turned on the radiator after the morning room service and again in the evening after the evening turn down service, after I had deliberately turned it off, on a hot day. The dinner in the restaurant was very pleasant even for a fussy eater like me and the choice of having drinks in the drawing room or in the bedroom was welcome. My husband had a delicious steak, which was the special of the day.The breakfast was continental and cooked. The cook was very accomodating of my egg request, as I was pregnant. Beautiful grounds to walk around and admire. The spa was also an enjoyable experience. Again the staff were very accomodating with regards to my pregnancy and a hot tub, gym and pool were also available. Overall a good break and nice experience. would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Standard double in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCourt06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,379 reviews
1.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £114 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing