We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,401)
Filter reviews
1,401 results
Traveller rating
1,064
249
61
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,064
249
61
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housedrawing roomnational trustdownton abbeyearly morning teacottage suitecountry housestately homestable blockpublic roomshomemade biscuitson arrivalyork suitesteam roomyorkshire breakfastrelaxing breakroad noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
963 - 968 of 1,401 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This old manor house and courtyard ( a National Trust Property) has been changed into a high class hotel, restaurant and spa. Although the people were very nice and attentive, and the food was a good standard - it was'nt my cup of tea. I know people will disagree with me, but i suppose horses for courses !!! I could'nt for the life of me feel comfortable, don't know why !!! I know i'm the son of a stonemason, but that should'nt matter. It was small things such as no tea making facilities in your room - you had to request it from " the manor house" whenever you needed a cup of tea !! To conclude, it would be brilliant for people who are used to this type of service, or would like to know what "Downtown Abbey" feels, or excellent for one night stay, but i'm affraid it wasn't for us !!

Room Tip: If you want to know what "Downtown Abbey" feels like - this is for yoy !!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alwynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely hotel in August 2012. It was like stepping back in time, full of old world charm and excellent customer service. We especially liked the early morning tea service, we just picked up the phone and a tray of tea arrived. Afternoon tea in the drawing room was exquisite!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Recently we had a reception at the hotel to celebrate our daughters wedding in Barcelona in June for family and friends who couldnt make it to the main wedding.
We looked around for the perfect venue and we found it in Middlethopre Hall.
We were helped from the pre planning stage, through the choice of room for the venue, and the management and staff throughout were superb at all times helpful, encouraging and all with a smile on their faces.
The food was spot on and and a really good choice of wines etc and we had rooms in the hotel for the saturday evening and they were spacious, very clean, and the hotel has a great spa area with swimming pool etc, the gardens were spotless and great for the photo op's and just really can say enough aboout the whole experience. It's not a cheap option but you get what you pay for in this life and this was worth every penny thank you Middlethorpe Hall....

Room Tip: They cater for all choices from twin rooms en- suite to suites and they have apartments in a mews appendix and even a little cottge on the grounds so it's down to your budget really.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitch1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at Middlethorpe Hall for one night at the end of August a birthday treat from our son. From the moment we checked in to our cottage with it's own private garden the staff were very welcoming and informative showing us were everything was in this beautiful house. The meal we had in the restaurant that evening was excellent and again the staff were very informative about the food. The brerakfast the next morning was very good something for everyone. We only wish we could have stayed a few more days. I would highly recommend a stay at Middlethorpe Hall you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: We had a cottage which was lovely just like your very own private reteat.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfie27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in summer 2010 with around 25 relatives and friends to celebrate our son's marriage which took place nearby. We were thrilled at the time with the service and food (as we hosted a buffet in the hotel one evening). We returned for one night in September 2012 and were thrilled to find nothing had changed - in fact some of the staff even remembered us and greeted us like long lost friends!

This is a comfortable hotel offering good old fashioned service as one expects but rarely finds!

The hotel is delightful in beatiful grounds and gardens. The rooms are a little old fashioned in line with the period but well appointed. The staff are personable and attentive and nothing appears to be too much trouble. The restaurant offers outstanding cuisine. What more could one possibly want?

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main house if you find steps a challenge.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews