We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    224
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
211
750
56
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I organised a murder mystery independently of the hotel to be held at the hotel. The staff were very accommodating, and it was a lovely setting and atmosphere to hold an event such as this. I had an amazing night and a large part of that was down to how brilliant the hotel was on the night. Our wine glasses were constantly topped up and they worked closely with the murder mystery company to create a brilliant experience. Well done Middlethorpe!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

We came to middlethorpe hall for a valentines/birthday get away, the hotel is very clean and tidy amazing rooms with all original period features, on our arrival we found hat we had been upgraded to a suite which was a lovely suprise, we had breakfast the next morning which was also to a very good standard with a lot of choice all staff are friendly and helpful, we are a young couple however still where made to feel very comfortable. Would defiantly recommend

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strensall, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We were 3 friends returning to Middlethorpe for a special lunch in the Oak Room followed by a wonderful decleor facial treatment in the Middlethorpe Spa. We cannot fault the level of genuinely friendly and personal service both in the restaurant and the spa. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and portions were robust, served on immaculate crockery and glassware. Perfect thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odiham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I booked this through my companies travel agents for one night and did not have any preconceptions before my stay. What I can say is that it was one of the best hotels I have ever been to. I was in one of the courtyard rooms which were spacious, clean and well appointed. I went in to the spa for a swim and the pool was fantastic. I had dinner in the hotel restaurant and can honestly say that it is up there with the top restaurants I have visited, but the overwhelming memory of Middlethorpe was the absolutely fantastic service that I received from every single member of staff. I live about 250 miles away and was there on business but will definitely be going back with my wife for a trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This place is just lovely , calm , interesting and amazing soup ,the gardens were interesting even on a damp January morning ,the spa had a good swimming pool for the size of the spa , but the treatments were amazing we enoyed our visit so much we extended it by an extra nite , thank you for making our stay very relaxed

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelertogo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E.lothian
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My Husband booked this only on the Wednesday prior to staying on the Saturday night. This was a treat having had an awful emotional family loss earlier in the week.
He had booked a Deluxe room but on checking in we were upgraded to a Suite in The Courtyard. What can I say but SUPERB.
Having been a Hotelier .....I can be picky but there was nothing to grumble about. Full marks all round.
Dinner was excellant, service faultless, all staff were courteous and friendly. There are too many details and fantastic touches to mention.
The only 2 grumbles was the bathroom.. far too small. (my shower at home is the size of this bathroom) and THE COLD TAP WAS stuck, so could not use. Shower was working and wonderfull.
To be fair the Duty Manager rang the room to offer us the use of another room for a bath if we required. Now that is what finer details mean to us and appreciate.
The other grumble was the pair of "elephants" that were in the room upstairs very heavy feet.

Will be putting this Hotel on my WISH LIST of places to go and be pampered / spoilt again.
Very Very Well Done to all concerned.

Room Tip: Courtyard suite fantastic but go for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northerngolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,301 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing