We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,401)
Filter reviews
1,401 results
Traveller rating
1,064
249
61
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,064
249
61
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housedrawing roomnational trustdownton abbeyearly morning teacottage suitecountry housestately homestable blockpublic roomshomemade biscuitson arrivalyork suitesteam roomyorkshire breakfastrelaxing breakroad noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
905 - 910 of 1,401 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I've stayed here several times over the years, although a bit expensive its worth saving for. I've stayed in the main house and court yard and found the service superb. The breakfasts are amazing and the main restaurant meals a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milomeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

The setting is wonderful, the welcome warm and friendly, the rooms very comfortable, the food excellent, all in all a fine venue and a warm and friendly ambience. A convenient location from which tondo business inn York or as a base to explore the wonderful City of York

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Begbroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Had such good memories from our last visit, we decided to take advantage of the late availability offer, for one night only. Was given upgrade upon arrival. Dinner was excellent, as was the breakfast. All staff helpful as always. Gardens beautiful even in February. Cannot imagine how the hotel could be improved upon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We visited Middlethorpe to celebrate our son's birthday in early February. The warm welcome we received continued throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble; all the staff were exceedingly helpful. The food was of outstanding quality, with an extensive wine list senjoyed in the wood panelled dining room. We were lucky enough to see a family of deer quietly grazing in the sumptuous gardens one early evening, truly wonderful. All in all a memorable stay, we have already booked to return in August. This is a gem of a hotel and I am glad we have found it! The spa treatments were excellent with ESPA and Decelor products to choose. The pool was just the right temperature which is great for all the family.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite adjacent to the main house which were very spacious and peaceful.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights for a romantic valentine getaway.We had a lovely time. The staff make you feel so welcome and nothing is to much trouble, Sam being one of the team greeted us at the door and helped us to our room with our bags and was more than happy to take us round pointing out were the hotel facilities were.
When the running of a hotel is as organized to this standard it can have an effect on the staff they can become too occupied trying hard to get everything just right that they forget to smile and make the guest feel welcome... NOT AT MIDDLETHORPE HALL.From the staff (Julia and the manager on duty 13th+14th of february) the girls on reception,to the lady who takes your breakfast order to the gardener they are all accommodating and friendly and I am sure that is the very reason Middlethorpe Hall has a real feel of home.
Yes the furniture at close inspection can look a little tired but with real honesty I quite like that I feel it gives the place true charm and warmth,it is spotlessly clean and has the aroma of fresh flowers.The grounds are beautiful we are looking forward to visiting again when the gardens are blooming.

Room Tip: when booking a double if your not happy to have two singles to be put together then say so.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews