We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking house, of such style and tranquillity, just outside busy York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We arrived at Middlethorpe Hall in pouring rain. It did not matter. The warmth of our welcome, our fabulous suite in the main house, wonderful food and a marvellous Pool & Spa made this a most wonderful stay from the moment we arrived till we left. Without exception, every member of staff whom we encountered had the right mix of professionalism and friendliness. Being a National Trust Hotel, we fully appreciated the efforts taken to fit-out this lovely hotel in keeping with its time...and yet no comfort is spared. It sort of felt like Jane Austen with mod cons!!! A most gorgeous place. Well done to the whole team. I must also mention how glorious the gardens are. Thanks a million.

Room Tip: We loved the main house; it felt lovely to come down that wonderful stairs in the morning! But, I m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackrockDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed for a short visit with a friend. It was delightful - the hotel and gardens are beautiful. My room was in a pretty annexe, very comfortable. The food was delicious. We received a warm welcome and the whole experience was excellent. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary. We stayed in one of the four poster bedrooms in the main house, I loved every minute of it, and recommend it highly. The pool was a great addition to our trip. Breakfast was delicious and presented very well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanddickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having married here 16 years ago, we returned for a special Anniversary celebration. We were lucky to get a last minute table reservation despite York Race week..... And we were not disappointed.

Greeted at the door and taken through to the beautiful Drawing Room for drinks and canapés.....a taste of what was to come. We began with scallops served with seaweed and then a good robust portion of Yorkshire Lamb. I don't recall exactly the cut or how it was cooked however the presentation, the sauce and the overall flavour .......how to describe that feeling that you never want it to end! All washed down with a fantastic Rufus Stone - Heathcote Shiraz as recommended by knowledgeable manager Adam. Our only regret was that we were not able to stay that night! Keep it up, you all do it so very well. Thank you. Jackie Crawford

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed for 2 nights as a relaxing break with my partner. We received a warm welcome and were upgraded to a suite which was wonderful. All the facilities were spot on and working.

My only gripe was that there was no music anywhere. I understand it's in keeping with the tradition of the hotel, but the atmosphere at breakfast, dinner and in the drawing room was stifling. I really don't want my dinner conversation overheard when I'm paying nearly £200 for it. My partner and i clinked glasses and it echoed through the silence of the dinner hall. The drawing room was only ever used by one couple at a time as it felt too awkward to be in there when someone else was. It's a shame as it really spoiled the atmosphere and made it very formal.

I loved the gardens and the food was brilliant, it's just a real shame the atmosphere felt a bit too stuffy, I wouldn't go back due to this. Perhaps I'm used to more modern hotels and it's just not to my taste.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have just been married at Middlethorpe Hall and had a fantastic day. The hotel is really beautiful and the gardens equally so. The manager and his staff could not have been more friendly or helpful and the wedding co-ordinator was brilliant at making everything run smoothly and putting you at ease. The food was excellent. We had a small wedding however Middlethorpe hall made it very special.
The room we stayed in (Room 2) was fantastic with lots of character and a huge queen size bed.
We would like to say a big thank you to all the staff who helped to make our day so special.The hotel was beautiful, and our guests couldn't believe the lovely setting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chopalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I highly encourage everyone planning a trip to York ( or its environs) to stay at Middlethorpe Hall. It is a wonderful place. A short bus or cab ride from City Centre, but a zillion miles away (figuratively) from the hustle and bustle that I encountered when touring the sights in York. Middlethorpe Hall is the perfect place to relax. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and there's plenty of space to just walk and explore. The staff does everything they can to accommodate. Everyone one is smiling and helpful and they truly make you feel right at home. One thing I noticed as well is that staff members are always visible making improvements to the home and gardens. Everything is impeccable to begin with, but seeing members of staff 'keeping everything up' is just so heartening. Makes one feel that this place will be here for future guests to enjoy for years and years to come. Let's all hope so.

A Must Do: Afternoon Tea in the beautiful drawing room. It's not to be missed!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadtripper_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,379 reviews
1.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £114 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing