We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, beautiful and convenient location outside York.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning, beautiful and convenient location outside York.”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Staff is exceptional, facilities are excellent and food was very good. Easy drive into York and close to golf. Nice spa and swimming pool.
Tea and coffee in room. Nice touches with bottled water and excellent shortbread cookies.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    218
    54
    16
    9
See reviews for
205
737
53
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

As a National Trust Historic House Hotel near York, Middlethorpe Hall stands up well as a quality retreat for a few days away break. Its period features blend in with modern essentials to give it that comfortable feel in albeit stately home type charisma. The garden and grounds (25 acres) are beautifully manicured and the drinks terrace at the back of the house takes full advantage of the outlook. We stayed there for a three night break, Thursday until Sunday. Our stay started well with a room upgrade to a four poster suite in the house. We had booked a room in the Courtyard originally. The room was delightful and the outlook over the gardens at the back was stunning.
We used the Spa which was functional with all the things you’d expect such as pool, sauna, steam room and exercise room.
Up until Saturday night, and more of that later, the dining experience was excellent and was very much of the fine dining variety with a price to match! However, there is an allowance in the room rate that goes towards dinner which lessons the expense a little, and encourage one to use the restaurant. One thing to note though was the menu didn’t change for all our stay and that was a bit limiting. The service at breakfast and generally was a bit inconsistent and whilst the full English was on offer the items that made up the continental breakfast were spread along the window sills which made for awkward selection. However, because of the house design it probably could not be arranged any better.
Now to cover Saturday night and this issue is a hobby horse of mine. Whilst I accept that hotels have to cater for weddings given the lucrative nature of these events, when they impact on the running of the hotel for the rest of guests then I really get annoyed. Particularly give the cost of staying at Middlethorpe. Firstly, that evening I had a perfectly good glass of Kir Royal tipped down me by the inexperienced waiter and furthermore it took the best part of 40 minutes to have a 15 minute chocolate soufflé delivered to the table. Small details but when one pays top dollar, near perfect service is expected.
That said when things run smoothly the hotel is a desirable destination, but may be avoid Saturdays

Room Tip: Rooms in the house overlooking gardens are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serialglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

From our arrival to the moment we left, very reluctantly, we felt really well looked after by the friendly and attentive staff. The whole place was so homely, comfortable and well presented that it felt as if we were VIPS who had arrived at a very smart house party, dinner was absolutely sensational. We had a courtyard room which was low ceilinged and cosy but well furnished and perfectly adequate, clean as a whistle and the bed was very comfy. We used the spa which was equally friendly and had a lovely pampering session. The gardens are superb and beautifully kept. The only thing that I could comment on in a negative way would be the noise from the A64 but there is nothing they can do about that and that breakfast was all a bit flustered and not very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBobtheFarmersWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We arrived at Middlethorpe Hall in pouring rain. It did not matter. The warmth of our welcome, our fabulous suite in the main house, wonderful food and a marvellous Pool & Spa made this a most wonderful stay from the moment we arrived till we left. Without exception, every member of staff whom we encountered had the right mix of professionalism and friendliness. Being a National Trust Hotel, we fully appreciated the efforts taken to fit-out this lovely hotel in keeping with its time...and yet no comfort is spared. It sort of felt like Jane Austen with mod cons!!! A most gorgeous place. Well done to the whole team. I must also mention how glorious the gardens are. Thanks a million.

Room Tip: We loved the main house; it felt lovely to come down that wonderful stairs in the morning! But, I m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackrockDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed for a short visit with a friend. It was delightful - the hotel and gardens are beautiful. My room was in a pretty annexe, very comfortable. The food was delicious. We received a warm welcome and the whole experience was excellent. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary. We stayed in one of the four poster bedrooms in the main house, I loved every minute of it, and recommend it highly. The pool was a great addition to our trip. Breakfast was delicious and presented very well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanddickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
610 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,168 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing