We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton York(York)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveller rating
1,069
250
61
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,069
250
61
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housedrawing roomnational trustdownton abbeyearly morning teacottage suitecountry housestately homestable blockpublic roomshomemade biscuitson arrivalyork suitesteam roomyorkshire breakfastrelaxing breakroad noise
Filter
Updating list...
791 - 796 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a delightful stay at Middlethorpe Hall. The staff are welcoming, helpful and attentive. The bedrooms are quiet, well decorated and clean. Food is well prepared, imaginative and served in stupendous surroundings. The hotel is within walking distance of the racecourse and adjacent to a frequent bus route into Central York (where cars are not welcome!). We unreservedly recommend Middlethorpe Hall - you will rarely find a better hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patdixon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I spent a couple of days here, and I can honestly say it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. It is a beautiful, elegant country house. I went with my daughter who has been very ill, and we thought this would be just the thing to aid her recovery. We were right. We stayed in the converted stable block. The room was beautiful, spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. The homemade biscuits and early morning drinks were the icing on the cake.

The gym was small but had everything a person needs, and the spa area particularly relaxing. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, we didn't eat again until the evening. Our dinner was also wonderful

The thing that made this short break so special was the quality of the staff. From the minute we arrived to the minute we departed they were, without exception, friendly, courteous and helpful. Never too familiar, they struck just the right tone to make us feel welcome and spoiled. I think they are this hotel's greatest asset.

All in all, a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Visited Middlethorpe Hall again for a one night stay as part of a trip to York Races. If anything, the hotel is even better than last year, with first class service, a beautifully appointed drawing room and lots of wonderful extras such as sweets and fruit from their own orchard in the rooms. £144 for a double including an excellent breakfast - could not have been better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed for five nights and were upgraded from our room in the hotel to a cottage which was appreciated. We used the spa facilities every day, and we had the sauna, swimming pool and hot tub mostly to ourselves. The spa facilities were clean throughout and fresh towels were provided. Walking into town was easy and very pleasant via the racecourse and riverside path. Taxis were £7.50 each way into York and there is a bus stop very close by on the main road but we did not use it. We stayed for dinner on two nights and the food and wine were excellent although the menu choices may be too limited to eat there every night. The gardens are excellent to walk in but suffer a little from road noise from the A64. Breakfast was first class. Overall an excellent relaxing and enjoyable stay justifying a five-star rating.

Room Tip: Cottages are very private with a separate kitchenette, hallway and living room but cottages are divided into upper and lower floors and noise travels easily through the floorboards.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I could go on and on about the many wonders of the middlethorpe but I'm going to keep it simple.
Middlethorpe is the best hotel I have ever been to! The staff are fantastic, the rooms and house are simply delightful and the spa is perfect.
Completely lives up to it's number 1 rating of the best hotel in York and we will definitely be returning!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews