We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect way to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect way to relax”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Spent two very relaxing days at Middlethorpe Hall from the moment we arrived until the moment we departed.

What an absolute pleasure to receive such excellent, polite, friendly and efficient service - the management must be extremely delighted with the standard and expertise of their staff.

Nobody calling us 'guys' or 'mate' just pure politeness.

The afternoon tea was first class as were all the meals, beautifully presented and tasted just as good as well - yes it might be on the expensive side but it is worth every penny.

As it says in the brochure despite all the refurbishment the management have kept it in keeping with former days - and they have got that just right.

The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed a full day in York with the bus stop only being at the end of the drive and across the road a lovely walk to the National Trust house of the Terry's family which takes you across York race course.

We also indulged in a spa treatment, again staff could not be faulted. Lovely indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi.

If you are looking for a perfect way to relax - this is it.

Room Tip: We had one which overlooked the grounds but there are also some cottages in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 815Evertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    218
    54
    16
    9
See reviews for
205
737
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
360 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were on the tail end of our two-week visit to England and Wales, having stayed in a range of B&Bs, modern chain hotels and manor-style inns, and would say that our two nights at Middlethorpe were some of the best of the entire trip.

The property is absolutely lovely and both of our rooms were spectacular: high ceilings poster beds, amazing views of the property. Bathrooms were a little snug, but worked just fine. The service was spot on and the price was just right as well. Even the dinner we had one night far exceeded our expectations (will give a separate review). Fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed here on a Monday evening at the beginning of October. Excellent stay from the minute I entered the hotel. Staff were friendly and hotel was clean, tidy and well presented. The attention to detail was obvious. I need to leave at 7am the next day, this was not a problem for breakfast as room service served up a bacon sandwich and best coffee ever. My room was excellent and the bed very comfortable. Well done to the hotel team for all of the hard work they do.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Came here with my girlfriend in the summer for a weekend break was excellent very clean rooms were lovely would recommend this to anyone! Great atmosphere and very clean inside and out. The staff was welcoming helpful and attentive! Great weekend break!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at the hotel last Saturday and everything was just perfect in every way.

Every member of staff greeted me with a smile and nothing was too much
trouble to any of them. I particularly appreciated the use of the private
room to entertain my guests which they loved.

The food I had delivered to my room was delicious and I must say the
shortbread served with the coffee and on the hospitality tray in the room was easily the best I have ever tasted and I'm Scottish so I've sampled a lot!
I will definitely return to Middlethorpe and have already
highly recommended it to many friends and business contacts who
travel to Yorkshire frequently.

Room Tip: I stayed in room number 6 in the house itself. It commands lovely views over uninterrupted countrys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowguyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a delightful stay at Middlethorpe Hall. The staff are welcoming, helpful and attentive. The bedrooms are quiet, well decorated and clean. Food is well prepared, imaginative and served in stupendous surroundings. The hotel is within walking distance of the racecourse and adjacent to a frequent bus route into Central York (where cars are not welcome!). We unreservedly recommend Middlethorpe Hall - you will rarely find a better hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patdixon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I spent a couple of days here, and I can honestly say it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. It is a beautiful, elegant country house. I went with my daughter who has been very ill, and we thought this would be just the thing to aid her recovery. We were right. We stayed in the converted stable block. The room was beautiful, spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. The homemade biscuits and early morning drinks were the icing on the cake.

The gym was small but had everything a person needs, and the spa area particularly relaxing. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, we didn't eat again until the evening. Our dinner was also wonderful

The thing that made this short break so special was the quality of the staff. From the minute we arrived to the minute we departed they were, without exception, friendly, courteous and helpful. Never too familiar, they struck just the right tone to make us feel welcome and spoiled. I think they are this hotel's greatest asset.

All in all, a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
605 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing