We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, stunning grounds!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, stunning grounds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in October 2013 with a group of friends. We had afternoon tea at the hotel which was lovely. There was lots of choice of sandwiches and cakes and we upgraded to have champagne with it too.

The rooms were spacious, very clean and had gorgeous views of the grounds. The breakfast was delicious and the service was very good.

From arriving right up to checking out the staff were attentive, friendly and made our stay that little bit better. The rooms are quite pricey (£199 for a standard double) however I feel it is good value for money as they offer a high standard of service. I would definatly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    215
    52
    14
    9
See reviews for
202
724
52
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Middlethorpe Hall is ideally situated in quiet countryside about 10 minutes drive from York, a most interesting and friendly city. It is however very difficult to park a car there, but happily Middlethorpe Hall is 30 metres from a bus stop with buses every 30 minutes.
The grounds are extensive, well cared for and relaxing. The hotel buildings are charming and comfortable, although our room in the annexe was rather awkwardly shaped, perhaps the main house is better. Porters and reception are efficient and welcoming.
The food in the restaurant is superb, but the service is really very slow, despite the friendly staff - definitely room for improvement.
I was also disappointed by the £5 a day charge for WiFi access and the £5 a time charge for room service, particularly in the absence of tea making facilities in the room.
Overall however, we will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole Dorset
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at this Hotel having just stayed at Jesmond Dene House in Newcastle, the contrast was noticeable. We paid more for 3 nights here than 4 nights in Jesmond, with the rooms and food not being as good. Our room was on the second floor and was a deluxe double; it was small with an enormous bed, which meant there was little space in it. The room overlooked the lovely gardens which was a bonus but as we were only in it for a short while did not make up for it being, in our opinion, overpriced. There is no bar, which for a hotel like this is wrong. There is a drink service from a pantry, which would be fine, but it means there is no focal point where people can meet and talk. In the restaurant the food is good and beautifuly presented but not to the value that is charged, we also found the whole experience a little stuffy- having said that we did eat there twice. There is a bus service into York but not many buses an hour; a taxi in is about £8.50. Whilst we were there the weather was not good so we didn't use the Spa as there is a short walk over the road to get there; if it had been in the main house we would probably have used it.I feel that the National Trust should do a little more to better the feel of the place, they have good staff there who could not have been more helpful. The pricing policy needs looking into along with the Restaurant Tariff. We would not stay there again until improvements are made.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rpwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a find! We stayed for just one night at this hotel en route to a family wedding, but could not have asked for more. The room was clean and spacious, the food in the restaurant was wonderful and the service was excellent. Every member of staff went out of their way to be helpful, but a special mention has to go to the young porter who gave us a very comprehensive description of the grounds and explained the ha-has, as he showed us to our room. He will go far! Our only regret is that we did not have time to try out the spa and pool - something we will rectify next time, as we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanBOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

All as perfect as ever. Beautiful room, bed, breakfast, dinner & overall atmosphere. The staff here are consistently of the best in England. This is such a wonderful place to spend quality time. Easy access to the city centre (taxi, bus, or walk better than the central tight car parks).

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful - we are working our way through them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SooSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Wanting to celebrate a special joint birthday, four of us chose Middlethorpe Hall having previously experienced quite exquisite cooking and service, and were not disappointed. After the complimentary champagne served in the Library, we all had the tasting menu with recommended wines which could only be described as wonderful! A very special evening made extra special by the superb welcome and staff. Philip and Peta, Ken and Sylvia

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Beautiful hotel set it stunning gardens and park - it was autumn when I visited and the trees and paths were full of colour. The service was outstanding, all the staff without exception were friendly with a touch of formality - they got a really nice balance. They could not have been more helpful. My room in the courtyard was very nice - cosy but quite adequate. Very comfortable bed and pillows and all the necessary extras. The meals were of a high standard. I was there for three nights, however, and found the dinner menu choice a little limited - 4 choices on the a la carte and 4 choices on the set menu for residents. As I don't eat fish (2 choices on each menu were fish) this meant little choice over three nights - however what I had was beautifully cooked and presented and again, the service in the dining room was very attentive and excellent all round. I'd stay there again without doubt and would look forward to it. Now intend to try one of the National Trusts other two hotels!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singletripperV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing