We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would hope for and more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It's not easy for a hotel to excel in service, attitude as well as in ambiance. This slice of 18th Century England has it all. The finest staff, the most accomplished kitchen, the perfect property, country walks, a cute Spa (admittedly could be refreshed in some small ways). If you dream of a weekend to recover your sanity then look no further. As a frequent world traveller I had scant hope that my own county and country could match the service ethos of some parts of the world - but the staff here are wonderful, genuine and passionate about what they do and how they do it. It makes all the difference. It would have been easy to bask in the property and let that do all the work, but hats off to the training, to the management and mostly to the staff themselves. All details were taken care of. The food was simply delicious and so well presented at each meal. I have experienced Hartwell too and that was equally fantastic. But in the end the splendour of York gives Middlethorpe the edge.

In summary, if you would like to connect with England in a wonderful way - then this is everything that you would hope for and more.

Room Tip: dual aspect, main house gives spectacular views / sunsets/ across Knavesmire and gardens (actually b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonblk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in October 2013 with a group of friends. We had afternoon tea at the hotel which was lovely. There was lots of choice of sandwiches and cakes and we upgraded to have champagne with it too.

The rooms were spacious, very clean and had gorgeous views of the grounds. The breakfast was delicious and the service was very good.

From arriving right up to checking out the staff were attentive, friendly and made our stay that little bit better. The rooms are quite pricey (£199 for a standard double) however I feel it is good value for money as they offer a high standard of service. I would definatly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Middlethorpe Hall is ideally situated in quiet countryside about 10 minutes drive from York, a most interesting and friendly city. It is however very difficult to park a car there, but happily Middlethorpe Hall is 30 metres from a bus stop with buses every 30 minutes.
The grounds are extensive, well cared for and relaxing. The hotel buildings are charming and comfortable, although our room in the annexe was rather awkwardly shaped, perhaps the main house is better. Porters and reception are efficient and welcoming.
The food in the restaurant is superb, but the service is really very slow, despite the friendly staff - definitely room for improvement.
I was also disappointed by the £5 a day charge for WiFi access and the £5 a time charge for room service, particularly in the absence of tea making facilities in the room.
Overall however, we will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at this Hotel having just stayed at Jesmond Dene House in Newcastle, the contrast was noticeable. We paid more for 3 nights here than 4 nights in Jesmond, with the rooms and food not being as good. Our room was on the second floor and was a deluxe double; it was small with an enormous bed, which meant there was little space in it. The room overlooked the lovely gardens which was a bonus but as we were only in it for a short while did not make up for it being, in our opinion, overpriced. There is no bar, which for a hotel like this is wrong. There is a drink service from a pantry, which would be fine, but it means there is no focal point where people can meet and talk. In the restaurant the food is good and beautifuly presented but not to the value that is charged, we also found the whole experience a little stuffy- having said that we did eat there twice. There is a bus service into York but not many buses an hour; a taxi in is about £8.50. Whilst we were there the weather was not good so we didn't use the Spa as there is a short walk over the road to get there; if it had been in the main house we would probably have used it.I feel that the National Trust should do a little more to better the feel of the place, they have good staff there who could not have been more helpful. The pricing policy needs looking into along with the Restaurant Tariff. We would not stay there again until improvements are made.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rpwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a find! We stayed for just one night at this hotel en route to a family wedding, but could not have asked for more. The room was clean and spacious, the food in the restaurant was wonderful and the service was excellent. Every member of staff went out of their way to be helpful, but a special mention has to go to the young porter who gave us a very comprehensive description of the grounds and explained the ha-has, as he showed us to our room. He will go far! Our only regret is that we did not have time to try out the spa and pool - something we will rectify next time, as we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanBOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

All as perfect as ever. Beautiful room, bed, breakfast, dinner & overall atmosphere. The staff here are consistently of the best in England. This is such a wonderful place to spend quality time. Easy access to the city centre (taxi, bus, or walk better than the central tight car parks).

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful - we are working our way through them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SooSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Wanting to celebrate a special joint birthday, four of us chose Middlethorpe Hall having previously experienced quite exquisite cooking and service, and were not disappointed. After the complimentary champagne served in the Library, we all had the tasting menu with recommended wines which could only be described as wonderful! A very special evening made extra special by the superb welcome and staff. Philip and Peta, Ken and Sylvia

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
674 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
Price Range: £105 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing