We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,450)
Filter reviews
1,450 results
Traveller rating
1,102
257
64
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,102
257
64
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housedrawing roomnational trustdownton abbeyearly morning teacountry housestately homepublic roomson arrivalsteam roomrelaxing breakyorkshire breakfastroad noisewonderful hotelyork racecoursebirthday treatbeautiful building
Filter
Updating list...
793 - 798 of 1,450 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Escaped to Middlethorpe Hall after business took me to London and Sheffield. Very attentive service, exquisite dining, and great gardens for walking, writing, and contemplation. Garden lovers will appreciate the informative brochure about the various (and magnificent) trees on the property. The accommodations were spacious and designed for complete comfort and relaxation. I particularly liked the early morning coffee delivery to my room. Since I was without a car, the nearby bus stop and bus service into York were helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We recently stayed at Middlethorpe for a 3 night stay and loved every minute of it. The service throughout the hotel was outstanding and the location is really beautiful. You are really made to feel at home at this hotel.

We were based in the main house with a lovely spacious room which was always kept clean and tidy by housekeeping. The room provided everything you could need including a spacious comfy bed and the view over the grounds was amazing.

Each morning we had a nice choice of Continental or hot breakfast which had a nice variety and it was never any trouble to change the breakfast a little to our own taste.
The spa and fitness facilities were also really good. My girlfriend booked a facial and really enjoyed her treatment.

I travel to York every year and will certainly be returning to Middlethorpe in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesy_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We returned to Middlethorpe this week to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We were delighted that upon our arrival we had been upgraded to the four poster room that we had been in the previous year when we were married. There was also a half bottle of champagne & card wishing us a Happy Anniversary awaiting us in the room. And at our evening dinner, the desert we ordered had 'Happy Anniversary' piped in chocolate across the top of the plate. All really nice thoughtful touches that made the occasion even more special us.

Once again we had a lovely couple of nights at Middlethorpe. A little bit of expense & luxury to make an occasion special.

Hope to return again next year.

Thank you Middlethorpe!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hertfordshirejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We spent a weekend night Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Break with friends at the Hall. The service and welcome was outstanding throughout and the staff were all of the highest quality in terms of their friendliness, helpfulness and efficiency. The dinner was superb - we all chose different dishes and everyone was delighted with all three courses of their own choosing. The only slight reservation we had was in the rooms which were rather old fashioned, which to some extent we expected in that they were in an historic building, but their fabric, certainly in the main house, was also showing clear signs of weariness. However it was an excellent break and we all enjoyed it very much and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selsdon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Having read some of the recent reviews I must be living in a parallel universe. I've stayed at Middlethorpe a number of times over the last 20 years and have never seen signs of capital expenditure over that period. The building is undoubtedly impressive but the constant background noise of the A64 extinguishes any pretence of being a country house hotel.

This visit was to see my parents, and having three children in tow we paid for a two bed cottage and a room in the main house for my parents. Bearing in mind that the hotel presents itself as a luxury country house hotel we were surprised to be presented with a cottage that was straight from the pages of an English Country Cottages brochure circa 1986. Our rate was £430 for the night and we had only a single bathroom with a small tank of water.

Suffice to say the hotel now donates all of its (probably rapidly diminishing) profits to the National Trust. My bill for a tired cottage and a room in the main house with uninteresting food and (charming but poorly trained) staff was just under £1,000. I suspect this is what happens when a not for profit body tries to run a business. All I can say is that eventually it will fail. If they were building cars the outcome would be a TR7.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Fourseasonsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

We are sorry if these guests did not enjoy their second visit to the National Trust’s Middlethorpe Hall & Spa. However, we regret their sarcastic tone, unfounded allegations, factual inaccuracies and criticisms towards the charity.

We hope that this review will be read in the context of over 93% of past visitors commenting favourably about our hotel facilities: - our current rating on Tripadvisor.

We would also kindly ask this reviewer to convey our gratitude to his parents for their gratuity to the team and kind comments at the time of their departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews