We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning house but some disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning house but some disappointments”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in a garden cottage with our two dogs for a three day break in December. The cottage was ideal for our purpose and had a nice small basically furnished sitting room and small kitchen with tea making facilities. It was a short walk up to the main hotel. There are pleasant hotel gardens to walk around, a small lake and the York racecourse just 5 minutes away. The main hotel is a grand building with a lovely lounge and log fire. The menu was adventurous (bit too adventurous for some !) but my daughter loved the chocolate fondant pudding !! The service was slow and we gave up on our doffed on one evening. The manager very helpfully allowed us a late checkout which enabled us visit York before we left. All in all a pleasant stay but expensive and fell short of similar places we have stayed.

Room Tip: Garden cottage good for dog owners but suggest try upstairs as the downstairs room was noisy when pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    218
    54
    16
    9
See reviews for
205
737
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A lovely Queen Anne building 20 mins by taxi from York, bus service opposite the hotel. Extremely professional staff, and plenty of them. Gorgeous lounge for your pre-dinner aperitif, excellent cuisine with good quantities. The grounds are nice to wander around, the trees majestic against a crisp blue winter sky, secluded benches and a walled garden. The atmosphere of the local aristocracy is well-preserved. I would give it 5 stars if there had been less traffic noise in the garden, breakfast till 11, tea and coffee facilities in the room and if spa treatments had been available between a day out in York and dinner (last treatment at 5pm).Ask the bellboy about the hotel's haunted rooms - it used to be a girls' boarding school.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A great night out for my wife and I (York residents) and an old friend (our New Year's guest visiting Europe). Food was superb: simply a treat. Service is attentive but not intrusive. The whole package just works: food, service and a fab location. (I am no stranger to very good restaurants.) The lounge is the usual place to start and unmatched locally. The lawns are great in summer for a walk but tonight was deep mid-winter. We have been many times before and will be back.

I just feel good about dining here, which is about as pithy a recommendation as I can muster.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Sent in "Downton Abbey" style hotel, we started with drinks in the large reception room, fire going in the fireplace, huge Christmas tree and views over the lawns. Nibbles came with the drinks and our orders were taken. We were shown through to the dining room which was relatively small by comparison to the rest of the rooms. My mushroom and artichoke tart was on the lightest crispest pastry and delicious flavours. Followed by a turkey Wellington and then perfectly rich Christmas pudding with a fig jam and custard laced with alcohol a perfectly balanced indulgent menu for a Christmas lunch. Service was excellent. A place well worth the visit for the ambience, quality of food as well as great value for money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

My friend treated me to a special birthday lunch here. From the moment we walked through the door it was fab. We had drinks in the lounge, then went through to the dining room overlooking the gardens. The food was really fantastic. The flavours, presentation and service were really good. I will most certainly be returning.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nipsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I had read 'A Brief History' and 'A What's On At Middlethorpe' when my daughter and her family had invited us to join them there for three days after Xmas 2013. We were delighted at the invitation and expected an experience to match many we had had with them all over the years.
Of course nearby the City of York is surely outstanding but beware. . trouble is brewing for motorists entering the City Walls. . .CAMERAS! . . . with Fines! !
Our room at the Hotel was average and the toilet/bathroom designed for a very slim occupant!
The first thing that took us by surprise was a small notice on our room tray holding a water bottle saying we could have a cup of tea if we contacted reception two hundred yards up the Estate! ! Come on, even Premier Inns give you tea and biscuits in your room! We love reading in our room at times but we found the lighting in our room very, very poor.
At dinner in the Evening we were presented with an elaborate set of 'Hardback' Menus full of meals that we had never heard of before in our lives. (But we are old eighty year old fogies). Nevertheless we ordered and tried them but found them unrecognisable when they arrived at our table! Who made the prices up! ! It would be a good idea to vary the Menus presented. I had run out of options by the second day!
The Main Building we found full of Staff willing to give SERVICE but need lots of help using and understanding ENGLISH !
I used the excellent Spa facility BUT IT WAS EMPTY ? ! Maybe because the Swimming Pool is unsupervised?
Would we go back to this Hotel again? NO ! NOT FOR US. But it was a pleasure to be with our family for a few days.

Room Tip: If you like using a nice bathroom keep off room 20 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have once again visited this beautiful hotel and relaxed from the moment we walked through the door .

The staff are a delight and cannot do enough to make your time at Middlethorpe memorable.

Each evening you are assured that the meal will have been prepared with great care and the professinal service makes it even more special. The attention to detail is evident in every aspect of the service you receive.

We have visited in each season and look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Dont expect a modern characterless room, each area of this lovely building is filled with charm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
606 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,161 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing