We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton York(York)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveller rating
1,069
250
61
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,069
250
61
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housedrawing roomnational trustdownton abbeyearly morning teacottage suitecountry housestately homestable blockpublic roomshomemade biscuitson arrivalyork suitesteam roomyorkshire breakfastrelaxing breakroad noise
Filter
Updating list...
733 - 738 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Small room with poor lighting and tired decor. Shower difficult to use. No explanation as to why it is not possible to have tea and coffe in the room. Over priced menu. Young inexperienced waiters doing their best. A slight feeling of being in a time warp. The hotel needs a little more energy and more effort needs to be made on all fronts.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

We are very sorry if these guests did not fully enjoy their recent visit to this historic hall now owned by the National Trust – hence the described feel of being in a out-of-time oasis that most our guests relish.

As mentioned in our guests’ information pack, not only do we offer 24h room service and complimentary early morning tea or coffee delivered to the room, but also tea/coffee making facilities are available on request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Impeccable, polite and friendly service from everyone we encountered over our three night break at Middlethorpe Hall. Gardening and spa staff, portering and reception staff, room service and those waiting on, all delivered a faultless service. Breakfast lunch and dinner were all excellent. Our room in the courtyard block was delightful, very quiet and cosy during our January stay. I had read the reviews prior to booking and it really does deliver. Well done to Lionel Chatard and all of his team. Thank you for making our long overdue break a really relaxing treat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingBob59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here on sunday.Hotel is a beautiful building an staff are wonderful.particular thanks to hard working young lady in restaurant.Food did not disappoint wine was a delight.our room was in the courtyard an was tastefully furnished.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank joseph850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and booked for just one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and told we were to receive a complimentary upgrade to the Duke of York Suite. We took full advantage of the spa and wonderful setting before dining and sampling the taster menu, which was absolutely delicious. The waiter then took our coffee and liquers to our room so we might relax and enjoy the sumptuous surroundings. Breakfast, following tea served in our sitting room, was faultless.

We hope to repeat the stay for our next anniversary and would thoroughly recommend Middlethorpe Hall.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BogratNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I recently spent two nights at this hotel,on my own, to do my Christmas shopping, and this was the third time I have done this.I was made to feel completely at home and very welcome. The rooms are individual and very cosy, completely in keeping with the building. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent with delicious food and friendly service. I will certainly be returning this year!
If you require a coffee/tea tray in your room this will be supplied.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in a courtyard room. They are quiet, and I have never been aware of noise from other residents. The short walk to the main building has never been a problem.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews