We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The epitome of class and elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The epitome of class and elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I simply cannot fault this hotel in anyway.
The service is impeccable, the décor classically elegant and the food (we only had breakfast, unfortunately) was simply wonderful.

My husband and I stayed one Sunday evening late in December. We booked one evenings stay in a stable courtyard room. It was located through the beautiful cobbled courtyard - complete with Christmas tree shimmering with white fairy lights - and up some stairs on the first floor.
These rooms are beautifully decorated, extremely tasteful, with a wonderfully comfortable bed.
In the bathroom you will find a selection of Crabtree & Evelyn Jojoba products. The bathroom has a heated towel rail and underfloor heating so is very cosy. No chilly showers in this hotel!
The underfloor heating runs through the bedroom too. You will never be cold in these rooms.
There are no tea and coffee making facilities in these rooms. If you require a drink, just call reception and before you know it there is a knock at the door and your tray is delivered. Fresh milk is much more preferable to those horrid UHT pots..

The next morning we walked across to the main hotel for our breakfast. We were met at the entrance by the hotel manager, who opened the door and welcomed us in. He took our coats from us and escorted us to the breakfast room.
We then ate the best hotel breakfast we have ever had before. I even indulged and had pancakes and maple syrup to start, followed by the most delicious scrambled egg on brioche.
Husband opted for the full English breakfast and remarkably ate every single bit - unheard of!

After a short walk, we headed over to the spa which was empty. I loved the Jacuzzi and felt really relaxed afterwards, my husband made great use of the pool.

It was with great reluctance that we checked out of our room, which took about a second thanks to the extremely quick checkout process.
We are looking forward to our next visit to York, and will make sure our reservations are made at Middlethorpe Hall.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justbeinghonest17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    217
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
205
730
52
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

What a lovely treat, its like a step back in time where service is second to none.

I was lucky enough to be in a suite which was amazing. The room was warm and cosy with home made choccies, grapes and shortbread. Initially there was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, this was no problem & was rectified.

The best bit was breakfast in bed on sunday morning......................a rare and special treat.

Its not the cheapest hotel but evey girl needs a treat every now and then.................

Easy to get into York (Taxi £8)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichDee1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked a private dinner for friends and family at Middlethorpe Hall after we had had a fabulous 70 th party there for my mum The evening was superb with such special touches as the library for us to have drinks and canapés before dinner and the lovely setting in the yellow room with candles and name settings for everyone The food was amazing as always and the chef deserves a Michelin star in our opinion Service was impeccable and as some of the guests were up til late it was a long night for the waiters who were perfectly charming Bedrooms great breakfast a lovely relaxed affair This is a great place for a luxury break with a personal touch Well done to Julia and the team for the personal touches that made our weekend so special Our guests were blown away Thankyou again !

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

What an outstanding place to stay. I booked a trip to Middlethorpe hotel and spa to celebrate my mum's birthday and we had a fabulous time. The spa was very cute and comfortable. I had a Neom massage and mum had a decleor facial both of which were extremely relaxing. It's worth paying slightly more for a superior room, we stayed in a twin room in the courtyard and it was beautiful and quaint. The food and service in the main hall was outstanding. If you love period dramas, laura Ashley and the national trust this is 100% the place for you. For those that have written poor reviews all I can think is that they must prefer modern minimalist decor and haven't got into the spirit of the place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenJEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was my birthday treat and what a treat it was!!

What a lovely hotel, staff are very friendly, and such a change to be welcomed at the door like an old friend. My whole experience of this hotel from the food to rooms was 10/10.
Can't wait until I visit again which can't come soon enough.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels in york atm did not disappoint us whenever we have spent a night at middlethorpe, five stars for quality of the hotel as well as customer service, staff are all of high standards and rooms are also at the highest standards, definitely worth a visit would not let you down!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vickyrobinson68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Small room with poor lighting and tired decor. Shower difficult to use. No explanation as to why it is not possible to have tea and coffe in the room. Over priced menu. Young inexperienced waiters doing their best. A slight feeling of being in a time warp. The hotel needs a little more energy and more effort needs to be made on all fronts.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We are very sorry if these guests did not fully enjoy their recent visit to this historic hall now owned by the National Trust – hence the described feel of being in a out-of-time oasis that most our guests relish.

As mentioned in our guests’ information pack, not only do we offer 24h room service and complimentary early morning tea or coffee delivered to the room, but also tea/coffee making facilities are available on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing