We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Elegant place”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Middlethorpe Hall is an elegant place; it's also quiet and relaxing. We went for lunch - a special deal at £19.90 per person for two courses. We waited rather a long time in the drawing room for drinks and the menu. The tables in the dining room are a little too close together; I don't want to have my neighbours' conversation imposed on me. We had starters and main courses which were very nice but on the small side. It's best not to be hungry in this place! The dishes also contained too much salt; chef - please don't add salt, we can add our own if we want it. We took our coffee and petit fours (not included in the price) in the lounge. The coffee was just about OK but not very strong (even though we asked for it strong). They don't have skimmed milk, only semi-skimmed. The service during the meal was efficient and 'correct' but not delivered with much enthusiasm. We would go there again if we wanted a grand place to eat (and take guests) but there is better food to be had elsewhere in the York area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVC499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    217
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
205
730
52
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here as a special event on our 47th wedding Anniversary. The management, on finding this, kindly upgraded our room to a courtyard suite cottage called the Sir Henry Thompson Suite. What a wonderful place with everything thought of, right down to the bowls of chocolates and grapes. Even the coffee making facilities had a caftiere and very decent coffee. The bathroom had his and hers basins and both bath and separate shower. There were televisions in both the lounge and the bedroom. We did not dine here as we had dined at the Hotel Du Vin using a voucher given by family, but the breakfast was superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the place spotlessly clean and well decorated. They thoughtfully closed the curtains, turned the lamps on and turned the bed covers back whilst we were out. The main building was ancient and superb and the main lounge unbelievably beautiful as the photos show. We found that this ground floor suite in its own courtyard was very quiet and restful. We could not recommend this place enough and will certainly return. Congratulations to all who are responsible for this haven. You are professionals indeed

Room Tip: I would suggest a courtyard room rather than the main building facing the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishermanNeLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect setting for a romantic getaway, a perfect retreat.
quaint rooms and excellent friendly service.
Breakfast was very pleasant.
The grounds and setting were delightful.
Will definitely be coming back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mustyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The staff are friendly, professional and welcoming. The building is beautiful, the drawing room and library elegant but very homely.
Gardens are a treat to walk in the morning/evening.
The rooms are very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryS1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in a very comfortable four poster bedroom for 3 nights and appreciated the staff and manager's attitude of trying to help if small things needed to be done or corrected. The manager clearly cares about the visitor experience. The rooms are a reasonable size and furnished with lovely antiques, as are all three hotels in this group. The A64 traffic hum which other guests criticised (and which nearly put us off booking when we read some of the reviews) is barely audible and did nothing to disturb our sleep or enjoyment of the hotel. The grounds are worth exploring and the small pool and gym nice additional facilities. If you are using the hotel as a base it is next to the York race course and close to York itself - as well as being in striking distance of Castle Howard and many other NT properties and wonderful countryside.
The National Trust should do far more to fund the maintenance of the 3 hotels in the group to help ensure they can protect the furnishings and reputation for service and excellence they built up before being handed over to the NT. It must be a struggle to maintain and refresh such exceptional buildings without completely pricing them out of the reach of most of us.
The food in the restaurant was excellent - a good range of tasty dishes which were beautifully presented by courteous staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

As a surprise, my partner booked a nights stay for us at Middleton Hall. What a brilliant surprise it was. From start to finish, the staff were welcoming and helpful. The building and setting is beautiful, situated next to the race track, it's beautiful gardens are joy to wake up to. The food was amazing, will defiantly come again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had such a great weekend at Middlethorpe Hall. Didn't know what to expect and was pleasantly surprised. Not far from York, beautiful building, helpful staff, brilliant spa, so relaxing. such pleasant memories of walking in the garden and morning runs in the surrounding area. The room in the courtyard was really nice, could hear the people walking around above, but didn't really mind. Loved it. Very friendly doorman too. And breakfast was top notch.

Room Tip: All the buildings are beautiful. Sleep was disturbed by couple above us in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,087 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
1,039 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing