We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely return visit”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Middlethorpe with my Mum and 2 sisters. We stayed in the cottage suite which is separate from the main house, about a 100 yard walk down a lane. It was lovely having the cottage as it comes with a garden and is very private. It was not very peaceful on Sunday as the YO1 music festival was taking place at the race course and the music played from 11am until 11pm. I would check prior to returning what events are planned nearby.
Afternoon tea was served at the cottage which was excellent; the spa was very relaxing and did not get busy at all. I had a back massage which was very good. The gardens are well worth exploring with many and varied plants, trees and flowers.
We ate at middlethorpe both evenings; the food and service were faultless on both occasions.
The only slight problem was the bill had a number of errors on it, having had such an enjoyable stay it was a little frustrating having to sort this out prior to departure.
That said I would not hesitate to return to this peaceful and elegant hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabitha1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    218
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
205
732
52
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a two night break and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were all very friendly and attentive, without being intrusive. We were extremely fortunate to be upgraded to a suite, which added to our enjoyment. We dined at the hotel both evenings and the food served was excellent. The hotel was as expected with nice grounds to enjoy. Highly recommended and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CymroLlandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Wonderful welcoming before even out of taxi. The door was opened for us and we were offered assistance with our luggage.

Check in was easy. Twin courtyard room. Porter brought luggage to room (and there was a lot of it)

Spacious room, probably the biggest room we had all over the UK. Fresh air with opening windows.

Went to facial appointment at Spa which is literally a 3 second walk. Treated myself to the discovery facial – most amazing and wonderful facial with friendly therapists. Good idea to book early as they fill up quickly. Booked my self into a pedicure the next day as they had one spot left, that was nice too.

Dinner in restaurant one night. Drinks severed in separate room. Escorted to next room and sat down. Very fancy for 2 normal Aussies, but felt really nice!!

Selection of bread roles to choose from. Menu rather small and didn’t really cater for dietary requirements but thankfully they did have a risotto I could eat. They also had gluten free bread.

Turn down service – first night happened when we weren't there and second night they knocked on the door and asked if we required it. Nice touch.

Gardens beautiful to walk in, there is a stunning lake as well. So peaceful.

Room service was fast and efficient, would highly recommend the homemade sorbet for dessert!

Check out was easy and simple, they also organized a taxi for us to take back into the railway station.

I will be back! Traveled with my mother.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosey-Rose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We just spent two lovely nights at Middlethorp Hall. The staff was perfect. Everyone as nice and accommodating as could be. The food was spectacular as well as the wine list. Andrew was so helpful in helping us with interesting and unusual wines. We enjoyed walking through the beautiful gardens and grounds. Our room was large and very comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited for afternoon tea on our honeymoon as we thought Betty's was a bit of an overpriced tourist trap. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and it definitely has the wow factor when you drive up to it and walk through.

The receptionist was very friendly on arrival and we were directed to the lounge area. I thought we would be sitting on a table in the dining area as afternoon tea is usually served but we were served on a small lap height table whilst sitting on chairs in the lounge area. It felt a bit awkward as there wasn't anywhere to rest our plates and the afternoon tea tray was quite far away from us which meant we had to keep standing up and reaching over.

Despite this, the view from the lounge was amazing and the service was almost faultless but I did find this a little strange. This might just be my personal view as my partner really enjoyed it and found it really relaxing. (The lounge area was extremely relaxing may I add!)

We may have been placed in the lounge because there wasn't anybody having afternoon tea at this time so it may have been strange having the dining room to ourselves. I'm not quite sure.

The reason I gave 'value' an average score was because we received 25% discount online due to the time of booking. I felt this price was worth it and wouldn't have been prepared to pay anymore. I have had afternoon tea at the pump rooms in Bath where I live which was very similar in price.

I would definitely come back and stay at the hotel again but I may try afternoon tea elsewhere.



  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenNesbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

On recent trip back to the UK from Australia visiting family and friends . We decided to have a city break in York as we have visited previously in the past. Liked the location of Middlethorpe Hall and Spa very close to the village of Bridgesthorpe . To get into York it's is an easy 30 minute walk or bus takes you straight in which stops right outside the hotel .
We had a wonderful 3 night stay and it was hard to say goodbye.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had 16 Guests for a Birthday Celebration Lunch in a private room and utilised the 3 for 2 offer. Hotel setting and grounds were wonderful. Food quality and presentation was excellent and the service was friendly and efficient but not intrusive. The library was allocated to us for our arrival and pre-lunch drinks. We were certainly impressed by the experience and would recommend it for any function.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnS2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing