We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious living but service not entirely up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gracious living but service not entirely up to expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Visited for a birthday dinner and overnight stay at the end of June. The property is, we believe, owned by the National Trust and is a beautiful Georgian building not far from York race course with extensive grounds, croquet lawn etc. We had booked a superior double in the courtyard but when we checked in found we had been upgraded to a suite. This was lovely, with a sitting room, kitchenette, huge bedroom and luxurious bathroom. We went for a walk in the grounds before dinner and discovered a wonderful terrace overlooking the lawns - I should think this makes a great wedding venue. Some road noise from the nearby A 64. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

Dinner was enjoyable but fairly expensive. We had chosen from the three course menu but were offered a sorbet in addition - however we were not told it was going to cost an extra £7. Still it was delicious and we were celebrating. The service at dinner was good but we did feel as if we were being rushed. At £4.50 per person we declined coffee.

Breakfast was a different story with neither very good food or service. The cereal and fruit were fine but we scarcely had time to finish eating it before the waiter arrived with our cooked breakfast, even though our coffee, tea and toast had not been brought - we do like these before the cooked food. Several items were missing and it occurred to us that we had probably got the wrong plates but the waiter was most insistent it was ours. Rather than take the plates away to correct he left them where they were and came back with two bowls containing the missing items. Worse, the eggs were hard! Not impressed.

Taken all in all our stay was very pleasant, the accommodation excellent but food and service variable. I think this is really a matter of proper training of the young waiting staff and could easily be improved. Would visit again for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the terrace may suffer from road noise when windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odersfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    217
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
205
730
52
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Middlethorpe Hall three times because it is so a wonderful - perfect in every way. The staff are very friendly, attentive and helpful. The food is fantastic and the gardens magnificent. Faultless!

Room Tip: There is a wide variety to choose from - look on the website or telephone the hotel and discuss what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Callifornia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Based on the reviews and experience of friends, we were looking forward to staying at Middlethorpe Hall. There is much that is good about the place, but overall we were disappointed.

Pros:
Superb service
Nice pool, spa & fitness center
Convenient to downtown York with bus stop nearby
Excellent afternoon tea

Cons:
Tiny "deluxe" room on the third floor
Ridiculously overpriced tasteless dinner - McDonalds serves better food (note: the management refunded the cost of my entrée when I complained). Dinner was so disappointing that we made alternative arrangements for the other 3 nights of our stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main house. Book one of the courtyard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TByrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are sorry that this guest was not satisfied with his visit and in particular with the experience in the dining room. The team here cares deeply about the comfort of our guests and their enjoyment of a stay, and satisfies most people as the other reports on this site illustrate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had lunch here yesterday with friends. The meal was fantastic. Full of flavour. The staff look after you exceedingly well. We had coffee afterwards on the terrace. A very relaxing lunch and then an afternoon spent looking out over the lawns and trees. Splendid time. Can highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseillan, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We have just spent a very memorable extended family weekend at Middlethorpe Hall; ponctuated on the Saturday by a reception and lunch with 52 guests to celebrate our Golden Wedding.
Clearly the Hall and the gardens are quite splendid, but the success of this weekend was due to two factors. To the Staff who are all so friendly, co-operative and quietly efficient; and to the high quality of the food at each meal and for the reception.
Thank you to all involved.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank leshelend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We and two other couples stayed here for the weekend to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. I am not sure where to begin in my praise of this hotel. Quite simply from start to finish everything was wonderful. The rooms are exquisite, comfortably furnished with proper antiques, sumptuous soft furnishings and paintings. We were upgraded to a suite which was delightful. It was spacious and we felt thoroughly spoiled. Tea, coffee, homemade shortbread biscuits supplied. Plenty of room in the sitting room for our friends to join us for our bottle of champagne. This hotel is staffed by people who really seem to care about the comfort, welfare and happiness of their guests. Our friend had an accident with contact lens solution and was not able to join us for dinner as her eye was so affected. Staff found emergency eye washes and made sure that she had something to eat in the room and remembered her and enquired after her eye two days later. The extensive gardens here are magnificent, the perfect place to sit with friends, sharing a bottle of wine in the sun...which we did. The food in the restaurant for dinner and for breakfasts was excellent. Our only tiny gripe is that the chips which we ordered to go with the steak were not cooked through. We sent them back and our waiter initially returned and said that we had just been unlucky as it was only the ones we had tried which were raw and chef was redoing them. Waiting for the replacements to arrive the steak was getting cold. After several further minutes the waiter arrived back and said that actually all the chips were underdone as the batch hadn't been blanched properly and therefore we couldn't have chips..... No alternative was offered. This was the only irritation in an otherwise perfect stay. I didn't want to leave and will be returning and recommending that all my friends stay here too. One last tip, if you prefer a duvet on your bed ask when booking.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at Middlethorpe Hall for our wedding night. The service was fantastic and we felt well and truly spoilt. The meal was delicious and we were served by a remarkable young man called Max - he made our evening particularly special. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing