We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We chose this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.

On arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff who made you feel right at home and given an up-grade which always helps. Being a national trust property gives you a good idea of the decor etc and you certainly feel like The Lord of the manor.

We used the spa and this was lovely. I got myself out of bed for opening and this made me feel virtuous before my hearty cooked breakfast. The opening hours are 8 until 7 which only gives you a short opportunity to enjoy this facility if you are out and about all day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LichfieldDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had never stayed at the hotel before, we have had Sunday lunch several times. We stayed in the Courtyard, Superior room, quite small, no tea/coffee making facility in room. Very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Meals were pricey so we cancelled our dinner reservations and tried a pub in the next village. Breakfast was disappointing as it was not freshly cooked and was Luke warm. There weren't tea and coffee making facilities in the room. However on the 2nd day we discovered that you could ask for they and they were provided free of charge. I couldn't understand why they weren't in the room to start with. Overall a nice place to stay for a special occasion.

Room Tip: We had an upgraded room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alleng5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our second trip to Middlethorpe, courtesy of another gift voucher. We booked a second night in addition to the 'Naughty but nice' package covered by the voucher. We were not disappointed.

It was lovely on arrival to be upgraded to a room in the main house, having booked a courtyard room. The room was airy and very comfortable, with a real Downton Abbey feel. Other reviewers have raised the issue of noise from the road. One of our windows faced the road and the noise was minimal (I say this as someone who is very sensitive to annoyance!). The cleaning of the room on the second day was meticulous, with everything neatly arranged and tidied away.

We had afternoon tea on the first day and dinner on the second. Both were delicious. Only one scone each is supplied as part of the afternoon tea, but we asked for two more and they duly arrived. Dinner was excellent - gorgeous slow cooked lamb and a magnficent selection of homemade ice creams and sorbets were among the highlights. The people at the next table had the cheese board and it was beautifully presented. The cooked breakfasts were very tasty.

The atmosphere at Middlethorpe is not stuffy or overly formal - people were quite casually dressed. There are some pubs in the village about a mile away if you fancy a change of scene and a pleasant walk (footpath all the way) during your stay.

There is room for small improvements in service - during the afternoon tea we were not checked on periodically and had to go out of our way to ask for more milk. Similarly, our appetisers were forgotten before dinner but came when we mentioned it. Cutlery was missing at breakfast both mornings. The staff are very helpful when you ask them to do anything but could be more proactive in terms of checking if guests have everything they need. One exception is a young French man (whose name we did not get, unfortunately) who is clearly going places in the hospitality industry and was very attentive to us.

Overall, Middlethorpe is just the place to relax if you like elegant surroundings and very good food.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the courtyard and the main house. Both are lovely. If you are hyper sensitive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ArtDeco85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent two nights at Middlethorpe Hall and had a truly wonderful stay. Everything was just right - our room in the main house was excellent, with views over the garden and lovely country house style furnishings. The bathroom was old-fashioned, as you'd expect in an old house like this, but had everything we needed. The public rooms were fabulous - like living in Downton Abbey! - and it was such a pleasure to eat in the pleasant dining room and have coffee served in the comfortable drawing room. The gardens were absolutely splendid and it was lovely having a drink on the terrace in the early evening. The staff were excellent - friendly and extremely helpful without being intrusive. We used the Spa, which was well kept and not at all busy - we had the pool to ourselves for much of the time. If you're looking for a modern air conditioned hotel this is not for you, but we loved it and having visited many National Trust properties it was a real privilege to actually stay in one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chiora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Wow , stayed here one night at a friends wedding. Huge place felt so fancy and grand, we enjoyed the room. The staff are all around ready to get anything you ask for we felt like we were famous. The food was fabtastic, breakfast was amazing and we all met for drinks to wave off the bride and groom. Perfect for special times. If you want to feel special come and stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jackssmacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is not the hotel for you if you want to sit outside and listen to the sound of the countryside. The A64 runs along the bottom of the garden and is very intrusive. The bedrooms are comfortable, (if a bit warm - no a/c or fan) but did lack tea and coffee making facilities ... although we did find out too late that if you ask for them, then the hotel will provide them, but it seems they'd rather deliver freshly made tea and coffee, which of course they charge for, rather than supply them as a matter of course. The 'luxury' spa is a not accurately described when the word 'luxury' is used. Essentially the building is two semi-detached cottages linked together, with a pool attached to the rear. The changing rooms are very small and can only really accommodate about two people comfortably at a time. The gym is outside in something more resembling a large garden shed. The staff are over attentive, thus making pure relaxation a bit of a challenge. When going to breakfast each morning we were questioned about booking a table for dinner. In the evening a certain dress code is applied, but as we were there to relax we found dining in York was much more in keeping with our informal needs. The breakfast was generally very good, although the 'fresh' fruit salad on the buffet table looked a little tired each morning. This hotel is fine if you like being pampered by staff at every opportunity, and only like dining in a formal environment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Clive E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We are sorry that these guests did not fully enjoy their recent visit to the National Trust’s Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, York, but offer our perspective on the comments made:
• Although not as quiet as Country Houses in the depths of the countryside, the still tranquil location of this 300-year old Hall offers many advantages to visitors: it is located within the City of York, it is easily accessible by car, bus and train, and is a secluded oasis set in 20 acres of manicured gardens and parkland.
• Most of our guests are satisfied with early morning tea or coffee delivered to their rooms with our compliments. For those who prefer tea/coffee making facilities, they are available upon request and at no extra charge – one only needs to ask.
• The Spa facilities are compact but conveniently designed for the purpose, and we only regret that these guests did not experience one of our exclusive relaxing treatments.

We wholeheartedly agree with this reviewer that the team here are attentive and take pride in pampering all our guests. The setting of this National Trust property does offer a slightly more formal environment than average, but appropriate to the period character of the house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,575 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
697 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £115 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing