We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and grounds and a lot of affordable luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2009

I stayed for a short break away from the bustle of London, the hotel was everything I imagined it would be and more. A short ride from York town centre and near the race course this Georgian house with authentic features, fittings and furniture in every room and beautifully manicured gardens with a touch of the wildness of York as well as a taste of the modern world in my room (small flat screen TV a and underflow hearting in the bathroom!) was just what I needed. Meals were served in the most beautiful dinning room with helpful and cheerful staff. I even sampled a traditional afternoon tea in the drawing whilst writing letter! I spent relaxing hours in the Spa pool and steam room which were clean and inviting with attentive staff at hand.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,306)
There are newer reviews for Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,222 - 1,228 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2009

We stayed here just for a single night in March, 2009 as we were overnight in York. Middlethorpe Hall is about 1-1.5 miles outside of the centre of York in its own grounds. The Hall is a lovely, characterful building and the courtyard and gardends at the back ( presumably much more interesting in Summer :-) ) complement it well.

We had a room in the main house. The room was really attractive, spacious and the bathroom was excellent too. The rooms are not decorated in a modern style but are, instead, in keeping with the style of the house as are all the communal rooms. This is really what you'd expect given that the National Trust owns the hotel.

We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel and both were excellent as was service for both. The only possible (minor) complaint I would have over dinner was that I felt that the food came a little quickly in that the meal last around 90 mintues when I felt the first and second courses could have been served a little more slowly.

Generally, though, this is an excellent hotel for a stay over in York if you don't mind (or prefer) to be a little outside the city walls - great food, great rooms, great building and great service.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

A traditional house, comfortable and elegant but not overly grand. (For that, see its sister hotel in Buckinghamshire, Hartwell House.) We stayed in a standard double. Nothing to complain about except that the bathroom could have done with a bit of refurbishment. But very pleasant overall.

The high point of this hotel is its serving staff. We booked one of their private rooms for a family function and the staff couldn't have been better. I'm sure catering to the needs of 14 people (including children) would try the patience of anyone, but they were brilliant.

We'll stay here again next time we're in York.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Superb food , excellent service and the most exquisit of old houses . We stayed in a cottage room and so enjoyed the decor and facilities , it had everything that you would want from a modern hotel room but was filled with wonderful old period antiques from by gone days . My wife and I really enjoyed the tranquility of the whole experience and would recommend anyone to stay .

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidmwildman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We spent a couple of nights at MIddlethorpe Hall and thought the place was lovely. Couldnt fault the staff, everyone very helpful.
We used the spa, not as large as some spas I have visited, however the treatments were very good and much cheaper.
We ate in our room first night and as one of the other reviewers mentioned the portion of chips was very small, however they tasted lovely and we were on a break. Ate in the restaurant the second night and it was excellent. Im a vegetarian and did have a couple of choices on both starter and main meal.
We also spent and afternoon in York , we got a taxi there and back , this cost £6.50 each way.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, as it is owned by the National Trust, so any profits go back in thehotel/National Trust.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellainec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Stayed in Jan 09. Yes the hotel is lovely. The staff are courteous and efficient and the food is very good.
A couple of minor points which stopped me awarding 5 stars are:
The drawing room was uncomfortably cold when we arrived. Gas 'fires' are ok aesthetically but they certainly do not emit the level of heat required for such an impressively large room.
No tea or coffee making facilities in the bedroom. This is by no means a budget hotel and the omission of such an item from the room is a tad mean, especially when the cost of procuring either a tea or coffee from the hotel (albeit with 2 homemade biscuits) is around £4:50!
The spa is not really a spa. It is too small to relax in and there are no refreshments to speak of, even if the publicity shots show a couple in dressing gowns sat snugly in the spa, tucking into a healthy meal! You can have a cup of tea or coffee after your treatment but that is it.
So overall we couldn't help but feel a little disappointed in that after reading the reviews and looking at the website we were convinced we were in for the best stay in a UK hotel that we had experienced. It was close but not quite as good as, say The Lakeside Hotel, which is a similar traditional type hotel dealing in quality food and relaxation.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Castringblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

Middlethorpe Hall..... a truly relaxing time was had. From the Earl Grey tea tasteing amazing from the silver teapot, the softly creaking floorboards under thick carpet, the welcoming open fire in the hallway, delicious home made biscuits in the room, the beautifully furnished rooms to the staff always smiling genuine smiles....oh, the food. The presentation was perfect, the taste amazing. I must not forget the breakfast....DO NOT leave without trying the homemade muesli.... and the rest I'll leave for you to experience yourselves!

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank JoceyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,329 reviews
1.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £111 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing