We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved every moment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved every moment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the second Christmas we've spent at Middlethorpe and it was great to find that their standards remain as high as ever. This time one of our party was elderly and frail and I was touched to see that the staff took care of her with all the tenderness old age requires. She was escorted not only up and down the stairs, but into whatever public room she selected. When she decided to stay in her room she was waited upon and minded with care and discretion.
As for the food, the word excellent hardly describes it. The restaurant staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. That slice of gammon I had from the Christmas night buffet was the best I've ever tasted.
And for the first time at Middlethorpe I ordered a margarita before dinner. The quality of a margarita is - for me - the ultimate test. I needn't have worried.
This will not be the last Christmas we spend in such convivial surroundings.
Thanks to everybody who made it so memorable.

Room Tip: get a room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    209
    52
    12
    9
See reviews for
198
708
51
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ronno, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Middlethorpe Hall for two nights on a trip to the North of England, and what a superb experience it was.
Wonderful welcome, clean room, great service in the spa and restaurant and fabulous food.
We could not have asked for better, and are planning another visit.

Room Tip: Even in Winter, the gardens are well worth visiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank visiteautourdumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The loss of the excellent French Maître d from this hotel is showing now. Since our last visit six months ago I regret to say that this visit was far from excellent, as it has been in the past. The room was still very nice but finding a long black hair on the bath mat and stray bottle of lotion under the bed was disconcerting but the main issue was with the restaurant. I felt that my specific dietary needs were listened to but there was things on my plate I specifically asked not to be there. I also asked for some type of sauce with my fish but it came dry, but to be fair it was a busy service and we only gave 24hours notice of my dietary needs.. The table next to us had to keep swapping their dishes across the table as the waitress had mixed up their dishes, they too had specific dietary needs. In fact the waiting staff seemed to arrive in the dining room with trays of food and then consulted a sheet of paper with the orders on it, all the while the hot food was cooling. My fish was lukewarm on arrival at our table but nice hot potatoes made up for a hot meal. Surely the table destination can be announced at the 'pass' like most restaurants. So will we return? yes but I will have to more clear when ordering food from the new Maître d and giving maybe more notice to chef of my arrival. It would not take much to do some training with the restaurant staff to get this hotel up there at five stars again.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hspisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We would like to offer our apologies to this reviewer, for a recent visit that was not as excellent as her previous stay at Middlethorpe Hall six months ago. Her comments - already shared with the Duty Manager at the time of her departure – have been constructively received and discussed with the team. They will help us to further improve both consistency and standards where necessary.

I am pleased – and so is Maxence the French Head-Waiter who was off duty at the time of her visit - that this guest is considering returning. We will welcome this opportunity to demonstrate that her recent experience was unfortunate on an extremely busy day, and that our efforts remain to ensuring that all our guests are well looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently attended the three-day Christmas Holiday weekend at Middlethorpe. It was the best Christmas gift we could have given ourselves. The house and grounds are lovely. The staff is friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay special. The food was spectacular. I can see us coming back as a destination visit as we did not have ample time to explore York properly. I think the spring and summer must be magical at Middlethorpe. Thank-you for providing us with a memorable stay.

Room Tip: The Garden Cottage was large and perfect for a couple and single child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I got married at Middlethorpe Hall on 17th December 2016. I arrived at the hotel on 15th December and with great thanks to the porter - I had help unpacking my car and taking my many many bags to my room. I was staying in the Duke of York Suite. It is a very special room, very spacious and feels very luxurious.

Our family and friends proceeded to arrive over the next 24 hours and they couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. Cars were parked for guests. Check in was quick and easy. And with fires roaring and christmas trees and decorations around there was a particularly festive feeling!

Breakfast is sensational!!! The staff are fantastic - they can't do enough. Every single member of the team at MH is extremely polite and friendly. First class service! We can't thank Middlethorpe for everything you did to help us with the wedding. Julia the wedding planner is an absolute dream. The support that she gave us in the build up to the wedding and on the day was amazing. The day ran without a hitch but I know that is because behind the scenes she was running everything and making sure it all took place as and when it should. Thank you Julia!! Lionel the General Manager was also fantastic - assisting the photographer, helping me with my dress, he again couldn't do enough to help us.

The hotel is kept to an extremely high standard and the spa, gym and pool make this place even more perfect. There are a few things that our guests keep mentioning about our wedding - one of them is the food. Every single guest has commented on how fabulous the food was. Majority stating they have never been to a wedding where the food has been this good. Compliments to the chef!!

Our wedding day was absolutely perfect and my husband and I have only Middlethorpe Hall to thank for this. We have already booked our return trip to celebrate our anniversary in December 2017 (we can't wait!!) and I hope that we will be returning every year to do the same.

All in all, in our opinion, this hotel is absolutely fantastic and ticks every box you expect it to and more. Go and stay, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel with very helpful people to help make stay as relaxed and stress free as possible.

We particularly enjoyed the lounge where the service and room were just lovely. We reallllly wanted to open one of the presents under the tree but decided the threat of being on Santas naughty list just too much!

Would recommend it.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Noal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner stayed for 2 nights, wow we were impressed! Our room was outstanding, with views over the garden. The hotel is in a beautiful location and about 15 minutes bus ride to the town. The minute we arrived we felt very welcomed and that nothing was ever to much to ask. The restaurant is lovely, with a variety of different food options. The food is 5* quality and i couldn't fault it!! The staff were very nice but also very attentive, but not over attentive which was lovely. As sometimes when you go to a restaurant they are constantly watching you and you feel uncomfortable. Overall we have had a very nice little break away before the christmas season began, and we have actually already booked to come again in the new year!!

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosef22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing