We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A1 at Lloyds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A1 at Lloyds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

We have never come across a better combination of service (friendly very wiiling pleasant and efficient), comfort (spacious well equpped rooms), food (excellent), wine (good affordable), and a lovely park .
The one slight, and I emphasise slight, downside was the busy road - some distance away but too near for total peace unless you were in one of the courtyard rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tynwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    217
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
205
730
52
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamr, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel for one night for my birthday and had a wonderful time.We were given the Duke of York Suite which is fantastic, the views were lovely from the room.Hugh room and sitting room and lovely bathroom.In the old house so all period features.The gym is small but adequate, with new equipment and we were the only ones there so size wasn't a problem.The spa is nice, again small but no other people were in it so it was perfect for us.
The grounds are lovely and the interior was kept immaculate.The staff were really helpful and polite.Didn't eat at the hotel but drinks were very expensive.
Will definately be returning to this hotel and recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

Looked after completely and absolutely no complaints!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

Lovely hotel, staff are excellent. Real human touch and attention to detail. Great location for York. Beautiful rooms. Tip: if you want away from traffic noise ask for room at the back or a cottage room.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jojo123Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

Middlethorpe Hall, just outside of York, England is a magnificent find. It is exactly what one would expect of a 18th century manor house-turned-hotel. Stunningly beautiful, appointed with furniture appropriate to such a distinguished building, the grounds were immaculately kept, and above all, the staff was 5-star.
We stayed in a carriage house converted to rooms. It was beautiful and roomy and quite comfortable. The bathroom was small compared to many we've seen in a hotel, but it was not cramped.
The hotel garden and park was fantastic. And it is a working garden as well. Fruit and vegetables grown there are used in the restaurant. Walking behind the hotel is beautiful and relaxing.
The only small negative is that the hotel is located near a motorway and so there is quite a bit of road noise outside on the grounds.
But the the best experience of our short stay however was the raspberry souffle. It was heavenly!
If you like to lounge around in a beautiful setting, being waited on by attentive staff, in affordable luxury, then a visit to Middlethorpe Hall is a must!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiberalCat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

We arrived at Middlethorpe Hotel for our one night stay to find that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to a de-luxe suite in the Courtyard. Room 26 was beautiful with its large sitting room, bedrom and two bathrooms. The food was excellent and the service faultless. The only comment is that it would have been nice to have had tea/coffee making facilities in the room but having said that our morning tea was delivered right on time and with fresh milk !
Will certainly revisit MIddlethorpe Hall when we next take a trip to York

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCountryGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

We wanted to visit York and after a quick search on Tripadvisor decided that Middlethorpe Hall was worth a try. Got a really good rate via Tripadvisor for the standard room but found on arrival that we had been upgraded to a cottage suite. We thought this was fantastic but our neighbours had enjoyed the races too much and the noise was unbearable, No problem, a quick trip to reception and another free upgrade later we were in a garden courtyard suite. The rooms are very nice and clean and the suites have plenty of room. York is a plesent 30mins walk along the river so the hotel is ideally situated. The spa is relaxing and had everything that you would need, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna and pool and is set in a pair of converted semi cottages. We did not eat in the restraunt in the evenings so cannot comment on the food, however be warned if you do want to eat in the evenings the dress code is very much smart. Breakfast is good (although you need to note that only continental is included, there is a charge for full english) and the main waitress is very helpfull and amiable. All in all a very good couple of nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing