We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,459)
Filter reviews
1,459 results
Traveller rating
1,108
259
65
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,108
259
65
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house drawing room national trust downton abbey early morning tea country house stately home public rooms on arrival steam room relaxing break yorkshire breakfast road noise wonderful hotel york racecourse birthday treat beautiful building
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,459 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We were there for a Golden Wedding celebration. The
Building of the.hotel goes back to early 18th century and is well maintained. It has an oldy-worldly atmosphere with excellent staff and service. The food was good, particularly the breakfast and the overall cost of staying there was acceptable. The hotel’s amenities are perfectly adequate with a beautiful garden and free wi-fi and free parking.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Chiantiesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

I think most people that stop at this hotel on a regular basis do not use Tripadviser. It is for a special event like birthdays or going to the races.
This hotel is situated across the road from the 6f starting post of the York racecourse so is ideal if you want to walk to the course. There is a bus stop outside the hotel for #11 bus to York however I suspect we were the only people to catch this bus.
We stayed in a courtyard room that were converted from the stables. It was a first floor room and was very clean and furnished in keeping with the main house. The bathroom was adequate in size.
The walled gardens are very well maintained and in style with the house. Nice to have a walk round the small lake. Loads of squirrels and birds.
The house is a National Trust Georgian property and is like staying in a stately home. Mark, the concierge, was very helpful.
Lovely little spa in a converted cottage with pool etc. Polite and friendly staff.
Restaurant is excellent with very fine food and wines and service. We had the taster menu on one night and this was very good. We had eaten in York one day and we tried to have sandwiches in the study in the evening. The waitress said she would get the menu and come back. We waited a while and then left and walked into Bishopthorpe. We don't ask twice. Maybe they wanted to concentrate on the guests eating in the restaurant.
Overall, a very nice hotel with nice rooms and good service if eating in the restaurant.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Normski B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

My fiance and I stayed here for one night and had the most amazing and relaxing stay. It is a beautiful building with the most stunning gardens. The room was clean and had everything you need including bathrobes. We ate at the hotel for dinner and it was delicious and beautifully presented. Breakfast was also a delight! Staff were incredibly helpful and kind. Upon our arrival we were shown around the house into the different rooms, including the spa building dining room and library. They also helped us with our luggage and paid close attention to detail to make sure we were well looked after. There was plenty of parking and it is a 7 min drive to York. Would recommend to anyone if they want a short break in York.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

The Middlethorpe Hall and Spa are owned by the National Trust. The hotel is decorated in accordance with its age; the rooms are the same including uneven floors and beds.

The Hall is situated quite close to the A64 which you can hear if your room is on the south side. The facilities were fine and the grounds well kept. The city is a good 5 minute car or taxi ride away. There is adequate parking.

The dining facilities are fine but with no alternative to the restaurant. The food and service were good.

It is a little out of the city and is very much of its time.

Room Tip: Stay on the north side for the quieter rooms
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Recently returned from a relaxing stay at this traditional old British hotel & spa.

Good points- staff were absolutely lovely & couldn't do enough for you, especially the wonderful porter. Beautiful gardens & a stunning old building full of interesting paintings etc.Free & plentiful parking, great location just outside of York, free wifi.
Lovely breakfast with continental & hot food choices.

Not so good points - our room was in need of a refurb, just a bit dated (even considering it is a traditional old place) & musty in the wardrobes. Wifi was weak, there was a constant noise of a generator (or something similar) running - we were so looking forward to some silence! The shower wasn't very powerful & overall the room just didn't feel luxurious. (room 17). The salmon & eggs breakfast was so salty i couldn't eat it & sent it back. They re-made it & it was beautiful. I heard several other people complaining about the saltiness of this dish - not sure what occurred? Everything else we ate was amazing.

Despite the few moans we did have a lovely weekend & it's a beautiful place to stay & relax. Can't give 5 stars though i'm afraid.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SARobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews