We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel - excellent stay, best weekend away ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel - excellent stay, best weekend away ever”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I could not have made a better choice for a surprise weekend away with my partner to celebrate our 25th Engagement Anniversary. From the moment I emailed them, to the time we left, they could not have been more welcoming, accomodating and friendly. They went out of their way to help with the surprise, obviously, he knew we were going away but not where in the country or which hotel. To do this, they "played" along with me in that I suggested to my partner we could look around a National Trust Property as we had arrived too early to book into our hotel. When the porter opened the door for us, I "realised" my mistake but they offered to show us around.. As this was an exceptionally beautiful warm sunny day, once we had walked round the gardens and grounds, we sat outside and enjoyed coffee and biscuits. We went back to the car, drove past the Hotel and I asked him to pull in to take a photograph and then told him this was were we were staying, it was worth every penny to see his face !
However, I then had a wonderful surprise as although I had booked a room in the main house, they had given us a complimentary upgrade to a suite! Then we had a lovely card in our suite from Mr Chartard, the General Manager offering his congratulations and then later on, complimentary glass of pink champange each. The house is absolutely beautiful, the staff the best we have ever come across and the food was exceptional both in the evening and at breakfast. We were made to feel so welcome at all times they made this the weekend of a lifetime. The Spa and pool is lovely and the perfect way to work up an appitite for the evening meal. Food was supberb and definately the best we have ever had (even beat the Four Seasons).
Suite was beautiful, lovely Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries and housekeeping was perfect . We felt as though we were staying in a beautiful old home, not just a hotel, a great atmostphere, beautiful flowers everywhere. Stunning lounge, libary and lovely fires to sit by and have drinks before the meal.
Basically, everything was perfect and not one negative .
This is expensive but you certainly got more than your moneys worth so it wasn't for the stay that we had! I am so glad I chose Middlethorpe Hall and if I could, I would return frequently. If you are considering a stay and reading this review, book it, I promise that you will be extremely glad that you did. You dont just have a weekend away, you have a fantastic experience. Mr Chartard and his staff are to be commended for the way they run the hotel and make guests feel like friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillviewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    224
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
211
750
56
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Just returned from a one nights break at Middlethorpe Hall and Spa and its was fabulous.
On arrival, the reception staff were really friendly I mentioned we were recently married and looking forward to relaxing. I also asked for tea and coffee making facilities which was brought to our room with no extra cost (have read that people gave this a negative...just ask)
We stayed in a superior room in the courtyard. The room was so quaint and decorated with little ornaments and wooden furniture.
The spa is lovely and wasn't busy.
On return from the spa, a complimentary bottle of champagne had been put into our room as we were recently married! we were really taken aback.
The main house and gardens are spectacular, almost like a museum with grand rooms extremely well kept.
The staff are brilliant and make you feel very welcome.
Definitely going back. Not one negative.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallis1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

i stayed at this hotel for a birthday treat and it was amazing. from the minute you walk through the door the staff make you feel special and nothing is too much trouble. we were fortunate to be upgraded from a superior courtyard room to a 4 poster bed in the main house without even asking. The room was amazing and the views over the grounds gorgeous. We had gone on a package and champagne afternoon tea was included which was served in the drawing room. I would recommend this to anyone that goes the homemade cakes were delighful. We then spent the afternoon in the spa, treatments were available if you wanted them. The best to come was the evening meal. The food is not cheap at this hotel but worth every penny due to quality and taste. The dales beef was the best i've ever tasted. We finished with coffee in the drawing room which was the end to a perfect day. After a very restful sleep we had a delighful full yorkshire breakfast . continental was also available for those who preferred. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciated quality and luxury. perfect for a romantic treat away.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallullah1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

my wife and i stayed for three days and nights and had a superb time. we were upgraded to a suite, the room was spacious, and very clean. The staff could not be more helpful and the food was just out of this world. We have stayed at many hotels but we were made to feel as if we were special and we will definately be going back, a must if you are visiting york.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel43england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We had a superior room booked and wasn't happy with the room and was then moved to the main house. This was there best room, but it was shabby, bedding was not white! Bathroom with a off white toilet mat around the toilet and just needed a general update! We decided not to stay, but was charged (- VAT) which was refunded because they knew we would complain on your website!
Then finally as the gentleman took our luggage to the car, he dragged my husband's new Ralf Lauren shirt on the drive way and would not admit he had marked the cuffs!! Overall I think it needs a serious makeover!! I would never go again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
7 Thank andrea3001blondedx30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
The disappointing experience of the couple in question at National Trust’s Middlethorpe Hall, can only be described as a ‘brief encounter’, as they viewed the two bedrooms, escorted by our porter and left within minutes – one even wonders how they had time to check the standards of our linen!

The context was:
 These guests had called earlier that day, trying to cancel their reservation and were told that a late charge would apply because of the short notice;
 They were also offered a complimentary upgrade to one of our deluxe suites but declined abruptly, not even wanting to see the accommodation, preferring an immediate departure and also generating a certain amount of noise and upset in the front hall.

They reluctantly accepted the last minute cancellation charge, therefore their behaviour had an ulterior motive, and did not fairly reflect that of which they wrongly accuse the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The family spent the weekend at Middlethorpe - we were upgraded to suites outside the main building in an old cottage nearby - great for privacy, but beside the spa and a dash through the rain to the main hotel and its elegant lounges.
It is certainly very pleasant to draw up beside the main facade and walk into a stone-flagged hall - the reception rooms really are comfortable and elegant - after dinner drinks beside the fire in the ballroom is the tops.
Only had breakfast in the hotel - Saturday's Yorkshire breakfast meant no lunch needed that day. The spa was good, and our rooms excellent. Its not cheap, but it is elegant!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihbScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

I have NEVER been so impressed with a hotel as I am with Middlethorpe-, although I have travelled very extensively over many years and stayed in many excellant hotels.
From the moment of arrival until the minute you check out - you are in Heaven..
The staff, without exception, are a delight, Nothing is too much trouble - friendly and efficient, attentive without being overwhelming.
The ambience is of a very elegant country house which manages to feel comfortabe warm and friendly, and somehow you feel as if this is YOUR own luxurious home.
The food can only be called CUISINE.
The rooms,( and I sneaked a look at quite a few) -, are quite superb- all of them, and I loved the fact that if there is availability on your arrival, they upgrade you, bless them.
The restaurant is beautiful, oak panneled and lit with candles and thank you Middlethorpe for not having piped music.
The toiletries are Crabtree & Evelyn and there are lots of little touches everywhere which add to the perfection of this hotel
The drawing room is Exquisite, where you really feel at home, relaxing over a cup of coffee and the afternoon tea is second to none.Beside it, is a small library, lovely, which I used as my personal morning room.
Lional Chatard, the general manager is a handsome Frenchman who is a hotelier through and through. Ask to have a chat with him - he's a fascinating gentleman with lots of knowledge of anything to do with hotels .
You will not in any way be disappointed with this hotel.
Shall I return? YES, YES, AND YES.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroledolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,301 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing