We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special and beautiful place, lovely staff, and a wonderful night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2011

From the moment I stepped across the threshold, the service I received was impeccable. Very professional but friendly staff took my bags to my beautiful room, in stunning grounds. This hotel is a former country house and is full of charm and character. I had a quick swim first in their spa and gym area (situated in converted cottages on the grounds,a few seconds' walk from the main house) then ate a lovely meal in their restaurant, again enjoying excellent service (I am wheat intolerant and they had wheat free bread and were able to adapt the menu to my requirements without any fuss). Enjoyed my complimentary early morning tea - delivered to the room - after having had a wonderful night's sleep on the comfiest bed I have slept in away from home. This place is a real treat.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2011

Fabulous hotel in a fabulous location. Nice, if dated, room in courtyard overlooking garden. However there were two significant problems: no tea/coffee facilities in room meaning room service would have cost £13.50 for two teas! Secondly, breakfast finished at 0930hrs. Even business hotels don't finish that early!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellini3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

We are delighted that these guests found the National Trust's Middlethorpe Hall & Spa to be fabulous both because of its location and as an hotel. We are also pleased that they would recommend a visit here.

However, we are a little puzzled by their comment about the absence of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. Indeed, complimentary 'welcome trays' are available on request and this is clearly indicated in our 'information for guests'. Furthermore, 'Tailor of Harrogate' leaf tea or 'ethically sourced' coffee are charged at £4.25 and accompanied with home-made shortbreads and biscuits - not the price mentioned above. Early morning tea is complimentary, included in the room rate, in all bedrooms.

As in most country house hotels, breakfast hours in the dining room are 7.30 to 9.30 weekdays, and 8.00 to 10.00 on weekends, bank holidays and York Race Days. A room service order can be placed after that time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I regard Middlethorpe Hall as a real haven of tranquility with genuine staff who make the total experience so special. . Every time I come to M.H. I feel as though I am totally AT HOME . My visits are always because I am visiting my sick husband in hospital in Leeds and I really appreciate not having the long journey home. Please don't change anything..........and a special thankyou.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lartington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Really can't fault Middlethorpe Hall. Stayed for only one night on business but have determined to return in the future. Staff were welcoming, efficient and friendly. Bedroom was comfortable and clean - what else could anyone ask? I'll be recommending this one to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joolswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I felt we had stepped back in time where people were treated with respect by staff who employed quiet professionalism. A lovely atmosphere in beautiful surroundings, the food was exceptional as was the service, we were totally relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed the quiet polite society. We would definatley visit the Hall again and would recommend it to anyone who appreciates the finer sophisticated way of life.
Simon and Janet

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We arrived for our one night stay on Monday, 17th January, having chosen Middlethorpe as both of our children are students at the University of York, and hoped to meet up with them when passing through. We had the family's dogs with us. Our arrival at Middlethorpe Hall could not have been more welcoming. We were informed on checking that we had been given a room in The Courtyard as it was thought that "it would be helpful with the dogs". Helpful was an understatement. How absolutely lovely, and so thoughtful to consider what too many hotels would have seen as a nuisance. It was unexpected, but indeed perfect, with a secure outside area. Our children joined us for an evening meal, which was delicious (room service, delivered by polite and charming staff) to complete the perfect evening. The interiors of the hotel itself are beautiful. It seems to me that most of the country house hotels we used to frequent some time ago have all been given a "boutique" makeover, not at all to our taste. Not so at Middlethorpe. The drawing room is one of the most beautiful I have seen. I hope they will not be tempted to replace the chintz and silk with faux fur and leather! It is the most delightful interior I have had the pleasure to see in years.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stayed in No 28 in the Courtyard for Christmas. The words 'Middlethorpe life' have entered our lexicon, they mean bliss, complete comfort, relaxation, gorgeous food, lovely people. A beautiful house, carefully restored, the attention to detail is wonderful. Top Tip? Afternoon tea in the main drawing room, by the fire, on a winters day...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueCassells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
674 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
Price Range: £105 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing