We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great location”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in York
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great location”
Reviewed 20 April 2011

The best thing about this Hilton is the incredible location which is within close walking distance of most of the York attractions - don't bother with the car unless you are going out of York itself - yes, the parking is pricy at £17 per day however it is competitive with the council car parks, it's safe and it's valet parking ! The rooms ae fairly basic by Hilton standards but everything is there you need, very clean and well maintained - we got an excelent room rate and definitely will be back here

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thedragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on this website.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found, the location to be incredible, and the rooms to be well maintained and am pleased to learn that you will definitely be back.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    918
    670
    320
    151
See reviews for
597
1,305
75
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Four of us stayed on a two night package including breakfast and dinner. The hotel location opposite Clifford Tower, five minutes from The Shambles and even closer to the Jorvik Centre is a big plus. Even the Minster is only about 10 minutes walk away. The staff are also a big plus. The Conciege (Michael) helped straight away with parking, reception staff were welcoming and issues during the stay were dealt with professionally and fast. Daniel and Steven both deserve mention. One room was small, quite warm but no air conditioning with (as described) a partial city view. The other room was about the same size, but cooler and with a bigger bathroom. The 'partial city view' was an over-statement - more a view of nearby walls. The unforseen problem was the noise during the night - plantroom/heating/plumbing etc. Noone slept much. We moved to quieter rooms for the second night and stafff accepted that this noise is a recurrent problem. Arguably the hotel should have solved this by now, but they did make effort to remedy matters for us. Check room location on booking! Also be prepared for small double beds!
Now breakast - really excellent buffet with someone always at the egg station. And as others have said, this is a good touch. Staff again were very helpful and friendly. Dinner on the second night was up to a four star standard whilst on the first night fell a bit short of the mark. Good wine list.
Overall we would stay again. It's a good test of a hotel when problems crop up and it resolves them properly. One final comment - the hotel has disabled access to public areas and rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about the Hilton York.
I was most pleased to read that you had a good stay and that the issues that occurred during your stay were resolved properly.
It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback with regards to my staff and I will be passing on your comments to them as they serve as a great motivator.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights on a very competitive prepaid B and B rate in a Deluxe room.Room not huge but had everything we needed and a fine view of Cliffords Tower.Bathroom was cosy!!(i.e small).All the staff were very efficient and friendly,the prize being taken by the egg lady at Breakfast.What a star!Hotel very well placed for all the sights and shopping.We didn't eat in the Hotel restaurant in the evening so can't comment.Overall, a very pleasant stay .

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on this website.
I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay and found my staff to be very efficient and friendly. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton York in the future.

Kind regards

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Arrived at hotel - very pleasant and made the most of the vallet parking. Checked into our Delux room - again very nice. Had a meal in the hotel the first night - ordered a steak with pepper sauce which was included in the price. During the meal I tried to catch the waitress attention as the sauce was not brought - gave up in the end. When I pointed this out to her after the meal she said it was because I hadn't ordered it - I said it was included and her response was that it was a little late to tell her now when I had eaten the food !!! not the service you expect from a 4 star hotel.

When we returned back to the room later that evening there was a bucket outside catching drips of water coming from the ceiling and this remained there for the whole 3 days of our stay. Woken up at 6.30 the first two mornings with extremely noisy heating system so had to be moved to another room for the last night and a room that did not include the extras that we had paid for. Not quiet the relaxing stay I had hoped for.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on this website. I was most concerned to learn of the shortfalls in our customer service that you experienced during your recent stay, there can be no excuse for this, I have passed on your comments to the Restaurant Manager who is responsible for the training of his team and will be taking the necessary corrective actions to ensure that such issues do not reoccur in the future.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for bringing these matters to my attention, it is through such feedback that I am able to constantly improve our products and services.

Kind regards

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

The hotel is well located within the easy walking distance of shops and sights. The reception is small operating 2 desks and can get busy at times. Secure parking is available at a cost of £17 per day. Their are no leisure facilities at the hotel and the public areas are basic. The restaurants are pleasant and comfortable and I would endorse the comments regarding the breakfast being excellent, particularly enhanced by the personal touch of a person behind the serving area, ensuring everything is well stocked and attending to your freshly cooked eggs.
The rooms are easily found, are clean, modern, and decorated to a high standard. The room provided was small and the bathroom was particularly cramped. The bed was a basic double, a king size would be more appropriate. Their did not appear to be any air conditioning, the room was warm and necessitated the need to leave the window open, which attracted the usual city noise.
The hotel can be booked for fair prices using various internet sites and offers good value, at those prices.
The hotel is geared up for business customers, but caters equally for tourists needs.
The hotel boasts a 4 star rating, there appears no evidence of which independent body currently rates it so highly.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmike717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments on this website.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your recent stay with us and particularly found the breakfast to be excellent, which was enhanced by the personal touch by our breakfast chef,
I have noted your comments regarding there being no air conditioning in the room only our deluxe rooms have air conditioning units in them.

It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the future.

Kind regards

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

hotel offers a good breakfast.
they have in general a nice service and very friendly staff,
restaurant has good quality where we enjoyed a late snack
good location
only disadvantage (which was confirmed by 2 colleagues): I slept well with ear plugs but quite noisy (and was not air condition/ possible to be switched off), came from somewhere above the ceiling
parking possible nearly in front of door over night which costs 2 Pounds.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Imbach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on this website.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall and particular found the restaurant and breakfast to be of good quality and the staff to be very friendly, it is such a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I did not think I received value for money at all when staying at the Hilton in York. We paid a top price for a very small and basic room and I was very disappointed and certainly can't recommend it nor would I ever stay here again. We had stayed at another hotel in the city the night before (because the Hilton wouldn't reduce our rate for the additional night) and the other hotel was absolutely gorgeous for much less cost.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arstambar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I was concerned to read that you were disappointed with the hotel and did not find it value for money, I would like to assure you that it is never my intention for guests to leave the hotel less than completely satisfied and if we had been made aware of any issues during your stay we would have resolved them in a swift manner.

Kind regards

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,302 reviews
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing