We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location. Will stay here again”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This was my second time staying in the Hilton York. Great location. The room is not the luxurious type but it is clean and tidy. Excellent breakfast - good selection and good service. From my past experience, if the room is on the side street where the pubs are, it could get noisy late at night as people came out of the pub. This time my room faces the Clifford's Tower and noise was not an issue (also gave me a very nice view!)

I recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,540 - 2,546 of 3,031 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

Good place to stay but like so many hotels why allocate rooms near the function room and disco to guests who are not going to the party.

May not sleep tonight........

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on this website.

I was delighted to read your comments and pleased that you enjoyed another great stay here and found the breakfast excellent.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed here for the second time as a family of 4, 2 adults a 10 year old and a 2 year old.
Hotel is in a good location, about 10 minutes walk from the station, even though it is the other end of York, it was only a short walk really.
Firstly, as we found the first time round, the staff at this hotel are absolutely wonderful. I have never stayed in a hotel, certainly not this side of the US where staff are so very very helpful and polite - reception, bar staff, restaurant and room service. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them and every request we made (lots of filling up the baby's cup with milk, steralising bottles when we came first time etc.) was always met with efficiency and politeness.
Breakfast is fantastic, you can fill up for the day quite easily!
The room was slightly disappointing I have to say. I didn't think it was quite so small on our first visit but maybe that was because our youngest wasn't moving around by that point. We had a double double and if you were 4 adults, you would've been very very cosy.
However, it was spotlessly clean and well serviced during our stay.
Disappointed that not enough towels were provided for the amount of guests and that only one set of shower gel / shampoos provided for 4 people...However, once contact was made with housekeeping our requests for extras were speedily and politely met.
We ate room service both nights - the first night the food was amazing, remember that kids eat free with any adult meal (we love this about the Hilton), but the second night was not so special. Different chef we presume.
Moans aside, I would absolutely stay here again, I wouldn't chose anywhere else to stay in York. It is a lovely hotel with magnificent staff, who make you feel very welcome.

Room Tip: We had a view of a brick wall (!), so ask for a room with a view... Be prepared for the double doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikian21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on this website.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the customer service you received to be excellent, the rooms to be comfortable and you also enjoyed a fantastic breakfast . It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback and I have passed on your kind comments to all of my staff as they serve as a great motivator.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you both back to Hilton York in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Recently spent the evening at Hilton York, December 2011. We had a 'Double Double Room', 2 Double beds. Got a good offer. £80 per night incl Breakfast We are a family of 2 adults and 2 Children (10 & 13).

The hotel is in a very convenient position right in the heart of York. Parking is available at extra cost underneath the hotel. Thought the cost was expensive £15. But in hindsight it wasn't as we never used the car from when we arrived at 1pm and then left again at 5pm the following day. You can park across the road, but it's not that much cheaper and it is outdoors. It snowed when we were there - so we didn't have to clear our car.

The room was small but adequate for an overnight stay. We turned the radiators up when we got there, and when we got back after an afternoon of Christmas Shopping it was boiling!

The Bathroom is tiny which wasn;t great, but manageable.

The breakfast was very good plenty to choose from. There was a lady cooking fresh fried and poached eggs which were delicious! I also need to say that she was very friendly and should be commended on this.

We had Dinner in a Mediterranean Restaurant across the road. Middle of the road cost I would say. They were great with the kids too.

Have stayed here before and I do believe that this is the most convenient and comfortable hotel to stop in York.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaylover06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on this website.

I am pleased to read that you had good stay and enjoyed the location and found the breakfast to be great.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton York in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Just had a weekend away at the Hilton in York.
Location - Brilliant!
Car park - secure, not too pricey.
Breakfast - the best I've had at a hotel, huge selection, really good quality, must add as well that the staff were really polite and helpful in particular Michael - front of house.
Room - clean, tidy, modern, good facilities, my only grumble was neither myself or my fiancee slept well and this seemed to be due to the bed. Also, our radiator made a constant knocking for around an hour each morning. Also, our room could have slept four, two in the double bed and two on a sofa bed. The room really would be a squeeze for four, but was more than enough for two.

Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slim_ady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review.

I was delighted to read your feedback regarding your stay and pleased that you found the Breakfast to have a huge selection and my team to be polite and helpful.

I have passed your comments on to the Maintenance Manager who is taking the necessary corrective action to resolve the situation.

I am pleased that you would recommend this hotel and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

just stayed at this hotel with my family,,i have never been to a hotel were the staff are as helpful as they are at this hotel,not just helpful.they make you feel very welcome,from valet parking to reception porters and bar staff,i would recommend this hotel to everyone,it is central to everything,,there was only one problem that we had a that was the size of our room,it was a double double,and was supposed to be big enough for four adults,it wasnt,it was a very small room and bathroom,a bit of a squeeze for me my husband and two older children,but overall a great hotel,,well done hilton york the best hilton we have been to,

Room Tip: book your breakfast when you book room,the breakfasts are fantastic,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmitch23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I am pleased to read that you had a great stay and found my team very helpful and welcoming.

My team work hard to ensure we deliver the highest standards of customer service at all times and I am pleased that on this occasion it was no exception.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Good Location in centre of York, just opposite the Cliffords Tower.
Very welcoming staff with good service throughout.
Breakfast has plenty on offer, to suit all tastes.
Vallet parking at £17 was very good and efficient, well worth the money.
Another good stay in York ..made better by this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write review on this website.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton York. It is a pleasure to receive such positive comments and I will be passing them on to all of my team as they serve as a great motivator.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £77 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing