We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small rooms, not what I expected from a Hilton”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Room was dark (very tiny window) and small, very small bathroom. Very clean and new ish. Not a lot of extras as you would normally expect from a Hilton. Wifi or Internet charge of £14.99 for 24 hours is ridiculous. Breakfast was ok ish. Decent enough choice for a small hotel, but scrambled eggs looked disgusting, they must have been there for ages and looked really rancid and were completely dry, so was the bacon. Luckily they asked if i wanted any freshly cooked eggs, so i opted for that, my wife did not have that luck and tried the scrambled eggs... location is very good, very near all the attractions and within the city walls

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,249 of 2,919 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

i was put into a standard room which was situated above the entrance to a henry j beans and above an allocated smoking area.after a sleepless night due to loud music and constant chattering i was moved to a deluxe room.at breakfast next morning i was served food which contained a human hair.as aresult of this my wife and i couldnot complete our meal. when we got to our "deluxe" room we found hairs in the bath and the seperate shower cubicle.the bathroom door stop was loose . the floor tiles were stained.old screw holes had been leftvisible in the walls and the wallpaper was peeling off in parts and did not butt up to the lights and switches which appeared to have been changed.the curtains had hooks missing causing the ends to be hanging down.the door to the balcony had glass which had been washed but was left with dirty streaks both inside and out due to the fact the windows had not been wiped after they had dried. the balcony door was jammed and would only open if it was kicked.once we did get it open and decided to admire the view, we were greeted by the disgusting and sickly sight of the balcony being covered in used cigarette butts.how this room could be classed as deluxe is beyond my comprehension.it did not meet any basic maintenance or cleanliness standards.i have used many other hotel chains in the past including many hilton hotels but this is the poorest level of cleanliness/maintenance i have encountered.i would not expect this from a low budget room let alone a so called deluxe room.this experience has really changed our opinion of the hilton brand.
filthy, outdated,overpriced and worth avoiding

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Just back from York after a short brake stayed at the Hilton Hotel have stayed before
but must say it could do with some up dateing seeing as the price has gone up a lot we used to have breakfast but seeing that the pirce had gone up so much just for the room then extra for the breakfast it was a no go the staff in this Hotel are so help full we had a problem with the heating in our room that was very noisey and very very hot they just change our room even took all our stuff to the second room nothing was to much troubel and York has some thing for everyone would think twice about stayng at the Hilton next time

Room Tip: ask to go on the second floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen_Burywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Was pretty disappointed with my stay at the Hilton in York. It really didn't live up to expectations. The room was pretty small, with faded dull decor. I was planning a quiet night in with room service, but found the room so drab and oppressive that I went out for dinner instead. The bathroom was extremely small and very dated. The toilet roll was the cheapest I think they could buy - not at all what you would expect from a brand such as Hilton. There was a bit long hair and sticky marks on the desk. And Wifi was £15 an hour - unbelievable in a day and age where so many places offer free WiFi. Overall it really felt as though Hilton have taken their eye off the ball, and all the little things that go into making a great stay, have been completely overlooked.

On the positive side, the staff were excellent - friendly and efficient, the breakfast was excellent and the hotel is in a very central location.

I wouldn't recommend the Hilton though - I think there are much better places to stay in York.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McMahonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The booking in procedure was very smooth, and the hotel is superbly situated for walking in to centre and attractions. The room was very clean, but the décor and furniture was somewhat eighties. There was no car valet available, although it states on the website that there is - the car park attendant told me he could direct me to a carwash not too far away! The breakfast was excellent. The bathroom very small, and with a mixer-type shower - could never get the pressure right. You are never informed, not even by information sheets in your room, that there is use of Emperors Health Club available. I wonder whether this is just for their upper-class clients who paid more than the £450ish we paid fro three nights.Henry J. Beans, Tex/Mex next door supposedly open til 1am Friday/Saturday nights. Don't believe it - the place is locked up by 11.30 -12mn.
To sum up; very expensive just for the super location, would probably pay less for more elsewhere, and use the cash saved to get taxis into town.

Room Tip: Room 335 is above Henry J. Beans. Not a problem with noise though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baldyskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at the Hilton in York in March 2012 and I felt I had to write a review for this. The location of the hotel is brilliant for the centre of York, which is why we chose this one. However, after staying in Hiltons before and not being very happy with the quality of the rooms, we paid extra for a suite. What a waste of money this was, very basic poor quality furniture but the room rate did not reflect this.

The breakfast was lovely and the staff in the restaurant were pleasant. The reception staff did not ask if we enjoyed our stay, as is usual - perhaps they knew what the answer would be. Not good value for money.

We would not recommend this hotel for those wanting a comfortable room, but if you want basic, cobwebs and poor quality (no hot water in room), the location was great.

Room Tip: Go for basic as the suites are basic and not worth the money. The suite we stayed in had a notice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simpsons07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website.

I was most disappointed to learn that you found the room to be of a poor standard. Your comments regarding the cleanliness and maintenance issues have been taken seriously and I will be sharing your feedback with the Head Housekeeper and her team to make sure that these issues do not reoccur.

On a brighter note I was pleased that you did enjoy the breakfast and found the breakfast team to be most pleasant and we certainly are in a great location for exploring the sights of York.

Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope you will consider staying with us again to show you that we can do better.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Myself and a friend stayed for one night at the Hilton which is ideally situated within 5 minutes walking distance of all the bars, shops and restaurants.
The hotel its self was tastefully decorated and in good repair. The bar and resteraunt area appeared very popular with residents and was very busy in the evening. The drinks are expensive though....15 pounds for two double Baileys! Next time I'll take my own bottle!
The breakfast was good and offered the usual choice of buffet style cereal, continental, full english and hot porridge.
The room was adequate. It could have been larger given it was two girls on a shopping/drinking trip but there was an ironing board, iron, hair dryer, fan and tea making facilities along with freeview TV. Disappointingly though, to use the hotels WI-Fi in your room there was a charge of 15 pounds; conversely it was free if you went down to the lobby!
The view from room 206 was abysmal and looked out on to the roof at the rear of the hotel which in turn housed an air-con unit. In the morning, 0645hrs to be precise, I was woken by what sounded like a tap dancer on speed and could only presume it was coming from the air-con unit kicking in. The bathroom too was very small and the shower would have been more powerful if I'd dribbled water on myself from the kettle!
A word of warning, you can have your vehicle valet parked in their carpark underneath the hotel at a cost of 17 pounds for 24hrs however, there is a pay and display carpark directly accross the road from the hotel which is much cheaper.
All in all it was adequate for the brief time we spent in it and reasonable value for the 72 pounds paid.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, stay away from 206 and take your own night cap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazntoneDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on the Hilton York following your recent stay.

I am pleased that read that overall you had an enjoyable stay. I am sorry you goudn the room to be on the small side, due to the size and structure of the building this can be challenging with the rooms. However we are in a great location for exploring York.

Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £91 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing