We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definately return”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in York
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would definately return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I have just returned from a 2 night break in York with my partner and son and we had originally booked into a travelodge but after looking at the 2 rooms we were offered we refused to stay as they were filthy! Not knowing York and with it being half term many hotels were not able to accommodate a family but when we rung Hilton reservations they were able to book me a room as with a double and a rollaway bed for my son. When we arrived at the Hilton approx half an hour later and we explained why we had booked at such short notice they said they were able to offer us a room with 2 double beds for the same price. It was a little overpriced but as we were in a pickle and needed a room we accepted it. There is also a charge for parking but considering the carpark is under the hotel and secure it is not a bad price. All the staff that we spoke to were exceptionally helpful, after the 1st night the receptionist asked how we were enjoying our stay I happened to mention that the radiatoer was a bit noisy when it comes on in the morning and that they may need someone to look at it, i did tell her it wasn't a problem for us but an hour later room service arrived with complimentary fruit, water chocolate and wine to apologise (they really didn't need to but we enjoyed it). The breakfast at this hotel is outstanding and if anyone complains they are very picky, lots of cereal, different bread, cooked breakfast great (the lady on the servery is so pleasant) fruit, cheese, pastries etc....we didn't need lunch as breakfast was on until 10am. The only reason I have given this hotel 4 rather than 5 is because the wifi isn't free and it was a little on the expensive side but I am glad we stayed as I would now definately return when staying in York again.....Fab location, everything is in walking distance and if you want to eat nice food reasonably priced go to Rustique just around the corner, i'd be surprised if you didnt enjoy it

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    862
    628
    303
    144
See reviews for
553
1,208
71
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Booked this hotel last minute for an overnight stay to meet up with family. Accommodation basic and small. Had extra visitors in the bathroom (silverfish). On checking out my husband reported this to the receptionist who didn't know what they were and didn't seem bothered. At 7am the following morning the central heating system kicks in and clunking of the pipes can be heard - so no good if you like a lie in. Breakfast substantial and hotel in good central location for museums and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hairgrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Chose the Hilton based on location for business needs in York.
Located in a nice setting and convenient for the town centre.
Rooms are OK if a little dated (decor could do with a facelift). Corridor had a musty smell which fortunately did not extend into the room.
The usual charging for internet at Hilton 15 pounds for 24 hours, then potentially adding parking at 17 pounds for overnight charge?
On the positive the evening meal was very good in the hotel restaurant and breakfast was superb.
I do like to stay at Hilton's, but you need to watch the charges!
Overall nothing special but no complaints with the room or service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MySuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Very accommodating easy booking, rooms ok but they have been decorated 'organically' over a number of years. Pricey but average for York. Great for the kids. Really handy for the castle museum and Jorvik.

Wouldn't recommend the bar and grill as weren't made welcome. Also don't go to the car dry place round the corner from Jorvik as its through the roof in terms of cost v value

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Absolutely amazing, staff were polite, room was similar to that of a 5*, Breakfast was nice and lots to choose from. 3 minute walk to the centre of York and all the restaurants/pubs, for £43 per night, AMAZING!!!!

Only con is the £17 per 24 hours parking at the hotel, but at least it's safe

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Spent three comfortable nights here- had a deluxe room which gave a view of Clifford's Tower and daily mini bottles of wine and fruit- nice touch. Room was adequately sized, all the usual extras but no mini bar. Bed was comfortable - only gripe was the pillows were way too soft, bit like marshmallow.
Bathroom had the added bonus of a bath which I miss in most hotels nowadays.
Staff were courteous and pleasant and hotel spotless.

We were room only basis and can't comment on food - didn't eat in the hotel as there is plenty of choice of restaurants and cafes a stones throw away.

Would not consider staying anywhere else when we return (and we certainly will) to York

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marym1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

One night stay and the room was very clean,nice bedding,lovely pillows,quiet room .hotel reception staff really friendly and helpful.good location and takes 10 to 15 minutes walk from train station. Breakfast was really good with friendly helpful waiter/waitresses. Hotel has its own car park at £17.50 per night(a bit pricey considering a London hotel charges a lot less), would not want to pay full hotel price but if you can get it at a discount rate then its good value.....

Room Tip: upper floors will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shedstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing