We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 13 November 2012

A lovely room was allocated opposite Clifford's tower
Breakfast was perfect with so much choice and good service.
Dinner package was good with plenty of choice and as York was busy it was a wise move and the hotel squeezed us in at short notice.

Will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adeleLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,841)
There are newer reviews for Hilton York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,142 - 2,148 of 2,843 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here for my sons birthday celebrations the room was clean and comfortable but it was the breakfast that made our stay memorable.The lady who made sure everything was kept topped up was so cheerful and greeted us with a smile each morning ,she even remembered how we took our eggs (as these are cooked as requested) and as we are vegetarians she put the order into the kitchen for our vege sausage as soon as she saw us, after checking that we wanted them again and then made our eggs when the sausages were ready, she was so welcoming it made us feel special. All the staff were helpful and polite and even though the rooms have no fridge we had a bucket of ice from the bar each evening to keep our drinks cool. The location is one of the reasons we chose this hotel as most attractions are only a short walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnet57uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The city of York holds so many interesting historical sites and the Hilton Hotel is convenient, clean, centrally located place to stay. The Viking Center, Museums, pedestrian streets dating back into history (Shambles) as far as the Romans, the Minster etc. are all within walking distance. The rail station is an easy walk or cab ride. Tea rooms, shops and helpful businesses such as banks and travel helps are also nearby.

Room Tip: I would think that all the rooms in this hotel would be suitable as the building is in area that is...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I didn't stay in the hotel but I ventured into the restaurant after a long, rainy night walking around York. Even though it was almost 10pm we were welcomed into the homely restaurant/bar area with a smile and the food & service were exceptional! I look forward to staying here next time I am in York.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights both business and pleasure. Great location for venturing out into York and found staff to be overall friendly and helpful. Albeit check in was a bit brusque and the margins the valet parking boys work within when hotel full had to be seen to be believed! Room OK but no view and quite noisy and unable to move as full. Never ate in, as no point going to York if you do not go out for meals and the odd real ale or 2:-) unlikely to return unless other hotels are of same standard and a cheaper deal is available.

Room Tip: Sadly never got near one.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

I am unsure as to why this hotel is not ranked higher in York. The location is perfect, the staff are very polite. The breakfast is amazing and the rooms were always cleaned and restocked each day. I stayed at the novotel just across the road the week previois and it was terrible and only £3 cheaper a night than the Hilton. I would highly recommend for a stay in York whether business or pleasure. Conference facilities and service also of a high standard. Only complaint is the cost of WiFi.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Don't think for a minute that you've saved enough for your stay. Add on car parking fees of £17 per day (plus tips for valets) and Internet of £15 a day. Nice hotel with easy walking distance to most of city and sights. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Not their fault the central heating makes a racket all night. Mixed review, enjoyed our stay of three nights but glad to get home for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on this website.
I am pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant stay and found the staff welcoming and friendly.
Your comments regarding the central heating noise have been noted and passed on to the Hotels Facilities Manager.
Should your travels bring you back to York I hope you may consider staying with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £91 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing