We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Great Location"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in York
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“"Great Location"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked this hotel for a sight seeing holiday with the family, you could not fault location. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was good. Room looked a bit dated, but we coped for the time we spent there, overall a great location for a visit to york

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank shaw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    861
    628
    303
    144
See reviews for
553
1,208
71
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed as a family and found the location to walk about excellent. Upon checkin the first rooms they brought us to were small and had no air conditioning. If it was not so bloody hot during our stay that would have been fine- but it was brutally hot- so we asked for rooms with air and they did move us. So if it is hot you must ask about the air situation. Overall the rooms were good and clean as well as very comfortable. Breakfast was good. For a few nights it was fine. It didnt have much charm but a solid hotel. Only has free wifi in small lobby- so that is a bit of a pain

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Air if its summertime
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed in a ver nice family room with my friend and daughter. Room was lovely with toiletries. Bathroom was very nice although I would prefer not to have to step into a bath to have a shower. Breakfast was very good and excellent choice. Excellent and friendly staff. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: AFamily room was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Central to York, this hotel in very well located, clean and the staff friendly. Breakfast was very good. Being in a central location car parking locally is limited although the hotel offers parking at £17 per day, which based on the nearest car park is competitive. Enjoy, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gra-and-Bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Hotel is located in front of Clifford's Tower and just a short walk to city center. Paid a lot of money?, you get a view of the windows of the adjacent hotel ... The room was so tiny and not worth the money. There was not much space to move in the bathroom ... and I'm not exactly a large person! There is not much water pressure for shower so it took forever to shampoo even my short hair! Breakfast was the only thing in York I did not have to queue up for. The chef is the first British chef/cook I have met that knows how to make my eggs: over-easy.
Of course, WI-FI is not free like in the other big chain hotels.

Room Tip: Spend A WHOLE LOT MORE MONEY for a good view. HHonors doesn't mean anything here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bassbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Bassbeef,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to read of your disappointment in regards to your stay with us.

I note from your feedback you found the internet is not free, the agreement is a national one for Hilton Hotels set by Head Office Wifi is available at no additional cost in our lobby area, Tower’s Bar, Tower’s Restaurant and Henry J Beans Bar and Grill.

On a brighter note I am pleased that our breakfast made your eggs just right and I will be passing your comments on to her.

Once again thank you for your feedback. Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed one night with family. Well situated and parking facilities (£17 per night) which is ok for central York. Room very good but no fridge otherwise good. Did not notice air con so could be a problem in hot weather. Excellent Hilton breakfast with friendly staff would use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Lytham,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted you and your family had an enjoyable stay and found the room and breakfast excellent and my team friendly. I will be sharing your comments with the team.

Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Staff are very friendly helpful and professional although it is evident that corners are being cut-no bread rolls offered with evening meal, no complimentary buscuits in rooms, no mushrooms or whiskey to go with the porridge for breakfast and it appears that things like eggs be indict or pancakes have dissapeared from the breakfast offerings along with the muffins-sadly not impressed!- it's the small touches that make the hiltons stand out!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Lucykins,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to read of your disappointment in regards to your stay with us.

Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with the relevant Heads of Department to ensure that appropriate corrective action is instigated

Thank you, once again for your valued feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you
back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing