We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location in a great city”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Hilton in York is located opposite Clifford's Tower, one of the remnants of York's historic castle. If like me you get a room at the front of the hotel, you are in for a treat. If not, however, you are still very centrally located to explore all that this fantastic city has to offer.

I stayed whilst traveling for work over two nights. The room and bathroom weren't spacious as such, but neither was it cramped. The bed was huge and the room was clean. The menu, breakfast and extras were as you would expect at any Hilton. We had a drink in the bar in the evening but for a proper York experience I'd venture out to one of the city's many pubs where you'll get a much better atmosphere.

A couple of colleagues ventured out to the nearby gym in the morning and were pleasantly surprised. It's not part of the hotel, but allows access to guests.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanJamesMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear DanJamesMc,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this website.

I am pleased that you found our central location great for exploring York, it is a lovley city.

Delighted to read your comments regarding your room and your colleagues enjoyed their time at the local gym.

Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,897 - 1,903 of 2,919 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

I spent one night there with my husband this weekend. The location of the hotel is perfect.
We upgraded our room which has a view of Cliffords Tower. We did not benefit from any of the other complementary services. There was no bottled water, wine, dressing gowns etc. However i spoke to thr receptionist on check out who was very apologetic about our lack of service and gave us a half bottle of wine to take home. Thank You.
The room (119) had a double bed and a single bed. The double bed was not as comfortable as other Hilton hotel beds i have slept in and there was no choice regarding pillows. This made the room very small with little room to walk around. I think this is more of a family room. It certainly did not have a hint of luxuary as you would expect for an upgrade. The bathroom is small and the shower poor.
The breakfast is of the usual standard of a the Hilton chain with a good choice of foods. We had a 2 course evening meal included which was very nice.
All the staff are helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe28750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Joe28750,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent stay at the Hilton York.

Thank you for your detailed feedback, which has all been noted and I am sorry to read of your disappointment regarding the lack of service. I was pleased to learn that my team were apologetic and helpfu and will be sharing your feedback with them all.

Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Staff were excellent - clean and comfortable hotel with an excellent breakfast service. Great location. The only issue was the spare rollout bed - it was ill-equiped for the purpose. Recommended for those travelling to York

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Peter M,

Thank you for completing a review of the hotel in TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback and am delighted to read you enjoyed our excellent Hilton breakfast and found my team to be great.

Your comment regarding the rool out bed has been noted and passed on to the relevant Managers for their attention.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed in room 115, first floor looking over to the tower opposite, it was a great room, very clean. The bathroom was good, plenty of hot water and a great power shower. Room has a safe if needed. Only issue the room is over restaurant so heard chairs being moved across the hard floor, so maybe ask for higher room but look out over the tower. Went for early morning run along river bank, just perfect even when raining, and set up for a really full breakfast. Would and will stay her again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MickJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear MickJac,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your morning run by the riverside.

Your comments regarding the chair noise has been noted and passed on to the Restaurant Manager for his attention.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel is in a very good location to all the main attractions in York. I would suggest asking for a higher floor and not over the restaurant. The hotel also has off site parking when their own car park is full which is not mentioned on their website.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear David M,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay.

Your comments regarding no mention of the off site car park on our webiste has been noted and shared with the relevant departmental Manager for their attention.

I am pleased you enjoyed our central location and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A super hotel and fantastic 'jumping off' point to start your York adventure! Not too far from anything really and the staff are very pleasant and the rooms nice and comfortable. Breakfast is what you would expect from a chain ~ decent and a lot of it! If you can, pay the extra for a view of Clifford's Tower (if you plan on staying in the room for a good amount of your stay). If you expect to be out and about and only in the room to sleep, it probably isn't worth any extra to you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear B H,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Great to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location for exploring York and our Hilton breakfasts.

It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback and I will be sharing your review with my team as they work extremely hard.

Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton York.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights here for our honeymoon. Staff all pleasant and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Room was comfortable, bathroom smallish as in previous reviews but cannot see the problem there as its not like its used to sleep in! Breakfast was lovely and plentiful every morning set us up for the day. Hotel in fabulous location within walking distance from all attractions. Would definitely recommend and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolcoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Carolcoke,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at HIltonYork.

Firslty,congratulations to you both, and I am glad that you had a lovely stay and delighted you chose Hilton York for your honeymoon.

I am pleased that you would recommend us and that my team were pleasant and helpful. I am very proud of them all as they work extremely hard delivering high standards of customer service.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you both back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Brandam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £91 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing