We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to Hilton Standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in York
Fortson, GA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not up to Hilton Standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I recently stayed several times at this hotel. The location is very central, the food in the restaurant is good and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, the housekeeping wasn't very good (they actually left used face clothes draped over the sink)' the front desk seldom answers the phone, and the noise from the streets was quite loud and woke me up a few times. If you get a good rate and need someplace central, it will work. Otherwise there are better places to stay in York. One highlight was the chef at breakfast...she was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear tarajd,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback online.

I am sorry to read of your disappointment and that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. All your feedback has been shared with the relevant Heads of Department and the various issues will be addressed.

Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    861
    628
    303
    144
See reviews for
553
1,208
71
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Hotel is in great location. Close to town and other attractions. Small underground car park so You have to leave the key at the reception. lounge very small. Service very good. Especially in the Outside bar/restaurant. Great food also. Breakfast also very good. Room very clean and very comfortable. Perfect hote for relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Jarorado,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

Delighted to read you had a great trip and found our hotel perfect for relaxing and received very good customer service from my team. It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback and I will be sharing your comments with them all as they serve as a great motivator.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Hilton in York is located opposite Clifford's Tower, one of the remnants of York's historic castle. If like me you get a room at the front of the hotel, you are in for a treat. If not, however, you are still very centrally located to explore all that this fantastic city has to offer.

I stayed whilst traveling for work over two nights. The room and bathroom weren't spacious as such, but neither was it cramped. The bed was huge and the room was clean. The menu, breakfast and extras were as you would expect at any Hilton. We had a drink in the bar in the evening but for a proper York experience I'd venture out to one of the city's many pubs where you'll get a much better atmosphere.

A couple of colleagues ventured out to the nearby gym in the morning and were pleasantly surprised. It's not part of the hotel, but allows access to guests.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanJamesMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear DanJamesMc,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this website.

I am pleased that you found our central location great for exploring York, it is a lovley city.

Delighted to read your comments regarding your room and your colleagues enjoyed their time at the local gym.

Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I spent one night there with my husband this weekend. The location of the hotel is perfect.
We upgraded our room which has a view of Cliffords Tower. We did not benefit from any of the other complementary services. There was no bottled water, wine, dressing gowns etc. However i spoke to thr receptionist on check out who was very apologetic about our lack of service and gave us a half bottle of wine to take home. Thank You.
The room (119) had a double bed and a single bed. The double bed was not as comfortable as other Hilton hotel beds i have slept in and there was no choice regarding pillows. This made the room very small with little room to walk around. I think this is more of a family room. It certainly did not have a hint of luxuary as you would expect for an upgrade. The bathroom is small and the shower poor.
The breakfast is of the usual standard of a the Hilton chain with a good choice of foods. We had a 2 course evening meal included which was very nice.
All the staff are helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe28750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Joe28750,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent stay at the Hilton York.

Thank you for your detailed feedback, which has all been noted and I am sorry to read of your disappointment regarding the lack of service. I was pleased to learn that my team were apologetic and helpfu and will be sharing your feedback with them all.

Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Staff were excellent - clean and comfortable hotel with an excellent breakfast service. Great location. The only issue was the spare rollout bed - it was ill-equiped for the purpose. Recommended for those travelling to York

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Peter M,

Thank you for completing a review of the hotel in TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback and am delighted to read you enjoyed our excellent Hilton breakfast and found my team to be great.

Your comment regarding the rool out bed has been noted and passed on to the relevant Managers for their attention.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 115, first floor looking over to the tower opposite, it was a great room, very clean. The bathroom was good, plenty of hot water and a great power shower. Room has a safe if needed. Only issue the room is over restaurant so heard chairs being moved across the hard floor, so maybe ask for higher room but look out over the tower. Went for early morning run along river bank, just perfect even when raining, and set up for a really full breakfast. Would and will stay her again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MickJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear MickJac,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your morning run by the riverside.

Your comments regarding the chair noise has been noted and passed on to the Restaurant Manager for his attention.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel is in a very good location to all the main attractions in York. I would suggest asking for a higher floor and not over the restaurant. The hotel also has off site parking when their own car park is full which is not mentioned on their website.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear David M,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay.

Your comments regarding no mention of the off site car park on our webiste has been noted and shared with the relevant departmental Manager for their attention.

I am pleased you enjoyed our central location and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing