We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in York
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Myself and Partner visited York on Sunday the 17th November.

We arrived to a valet service which was nice and check in was quick and efficent, we also were offered a free room upgrade which consitied of a clifford tower view, complimentry wine and water, bathrobes and slippers. Room was clean, modern and very comfy.

We were slightly shocked at the prices for drinks in the bar (£9 for a large rose) but the bar it's self was really nice and relaxing and the staff were atentive.

Breakfast was brilliant, had everything you could want and if they didn't they would see if they could get it.

Location is amazing and if I go to york again I will be staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending in an odd number (view of cliffords tower) we had 321
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotte_maher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    862
    628
    303
    144
See reviews for
553
1,208
71
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is playing on the Hilton name and charging a fortune for an average hotel. The rooms are ok, but there are no frills and the hotel has very few facilities other than a dining room, some function rooms and a very tiny extortionately priced bar!

The breakfast was good and the staff both in the dining room and on reception were very good, but there were long queues to check in and out.

The really annoying things were noisy, clicking heating pipes in the room which kept us awake all night, there were 3 booked in our room, but only towels and cups for 2, no biscuits in the room and the showers are very basic and the anti slip mats slippy!

Disappointing in general for the price!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Value_Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

As this was a non smoking hotel we were extremely surprised when we opened the door, room 245, to be greeted with the stench of stale tobacco. When we got home all our clothes had to be either washed or sent to the dry cleaners. We were not impressed at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed at Hilton on a Saturday night as we were there for a shopping trip and relaxing weekend. Hotel room very comfortable if we had been able to enjoy it but as there was a function below our rooms that played eighties music all night (we even predicted Tiffany 'I think we alone now' would come on next and it did!) we got little sleep. When you visit a Hilton hotel you do not expect this! Rang down to reception twice and spoke to very surprised (who were they kidding?) reception staff who were very unhelpful. Complained again next morning after we got some sleep (after nearly falling out of bed when 'Come on Eileen' came on and the bed vibrated with noise of stamping feet at 11.45pm) but they were not interested. Otherwise ... hotel lovely, majority of staff friendly and breakfast fab. Kat Newcastle upon Tyne

Room Tip: Don't accept a room above function room (rooms 148, 150, 152 etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Kathryn U,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website.

I was sorry to learn that you were disturbed by noise, emanating from one of our function rooms and that the Reception Desk were unhelpful. I will be speaking with my Management team reminding them of their responsibility to ensure that all of our guests are comfortable for the duration of their stay.

On a brighter note I am pleased that you had a fab breakfast.

I hope this incident does not deter you from staying with us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back for another girls shopping trip.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel was in an excellent location with secure parking although £17.50 per night for parking having paid £150 per night was a bit excessive. Breakfast was excellent. There is a public car park directly opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Reay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Reay S,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on this website following your recent stay.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our excellent location.

Car parking in York is at a premium, especially at the hotel. However, we thoroughly research the market when setting prices and I am confident that the charge we make is competitive both within the City of York and also other city centre located hotels throughout the country. In addition, our car park is both secure and offers valet parking at all times.

Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great location but hotel very basic. Room was small with only a queen bed and not the most comfortable. Bar area a little basic and quite pricey. Must say the breakfast was very good. Staff polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Consider staying somewhere else first!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 388SUSH388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear 388SUSH388,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read that overall you had a good stay and enjoyed our Hilton breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great central location but it is really overpriced for what it offers. The rooms are quite basic for £239 a night, the bathroom was tiny and the wardrobe just a shelf. The bed was fairly comfy but only a queen size so not really big enough for two. The hotel's only amenities are the restaurant and bar which is quite cold and not very cosy or welcoming. If you are looking for a more luxury or glamorous weekend break for the money I would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear welovetotravel09,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Please be assured that all your comments have been noted.

I am pleased you that you enjoyed our great location and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing