We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location for sightseeting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in York
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Ideal location for sightseeting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Located directly across from Clifford's Tower, the Hilton is steps from most of the attractions in York. An average hotel, I rated it very good because of the location. We had requested a quiet room and were provided with one as far away from the lobby and meeting rooms/restaurant as possible due to the number of holiday parties scheduled. It was quiet and comfortable. We would have appreciated free wifi for the cost of the room and the parking cost was steep, however we didn't need our car for the time we were there. We used points for one night a paid for a second so it was a good value overall. With the variety of close and good restaurant and pub choices nearby, we didn't try the restaurant. For the morning, there are many coffee shops, including a Starbucks, and pubs that serve breakfast, very close by. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickiboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    862
    628
    303
    144
See reviews for
553
1,208
71
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Just had a company Christmas party at the Hilton and sadly a very poor evening. No one to greet you and no information. What Christmas decorations that were around the hotel and in our function room were dreadful and basic . The meal was not great - quality and service was awful and to end the meal cool coffee and no mince pies !!
Being the HILTON I expected it to be far better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
160 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Located across the street from Clifford's Tower, the hotel is perfectly situated for making a 360-deg cruise around the whole historic town centre. Very helpful front-desk and bell staff. For 40,000 Hilton Honors points for one night, this isn't the best value for a standard two double-bed room. Mattress was like sleeping on a wooden board. Standard-sized bath with limited amenities.

Room Tip: For a nice view, ask for a room overlooking Clifford's Tower and the York Castle area. For a qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We attended a Christmas party at this Hotel on Saturday night, and I do have sympathy with the staff that work these, often hard work for little reward. Well at £35 per head you would expect, toilet paper in the ladies? After the 1st visit by one of our party at 8pm, it was reported to staff, again at 8:50pm, again at 9:25pm and so on still no loo roll on exit at 12pm. At £35 you would expect, enough turkey to go round maybe? No they actually ran out, and 2 of our group had to wait a further 15 minutes for their turkey. The rest of us, we'd finished! I would value the meal at £10, everyone was let down by the quality, bone dry stuffing, 2 tiny sprouts, NO GRAVY!. At £35 you would expect a stocked bar on party night? No they ran out of a few spirits, including the much sought after Jagermeister, not my tipple, but disappointed party people.

Room Tip: I'd maybe eat elsewhere......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed at the Hilton, York in December 2013 for two nights. My room was next to a machine room which woke me up at 3am and the noise did not abate until 6am. Worst night's sleep at a hotel for a long time. On the plus side, the staff at this hotel are very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast staff in particular are great, as is the food at breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dunbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a good spot near the centre if town. Parking is expensive, but you can park in the pay and display opposite for £2 overnight.

Service is friendly from staff in all departments.

The food is okay, but needs a bit more flair and variety.

Rooms are okay, but some on the front are quite noisy.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Not the quality I would associate with such a branded world famous name.seen better rooms in cheaper rivals and would definitely think 3 times before booking here again.and once again why do we get ripped off by having to fork out hard earned cash for wi-fi ???? Shame on you HIlton!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing