We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Visited this month on business. Lovely hotel, good location. Room good size with lots of extras in the room. Which were nice touches. But one thing these types of hotels need to learn is that in this day and age with smartphones/tablets/laptops
being used all the time. That charging £15 a day for wifi is a complete rip off and spoils a stay. If mcdonalds and asda can give it away, maybe you should rethink your policy. All in all though 8.5/10

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank hammered70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,859 - 1,865 of 2,920 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

I like to travel to york, it is a very beautiful city. Hilton hotel in good location, near city centre. I stayed in this hotel for a weekend, I like the breakfast in the morning and lunch in this hotel. the staffs in the restaurant who are very friendly and food is very tasty.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiayin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

In many ways this is a standard Hilton but (a) it's in York (b) the staff were fantastic (c) it's in a good location and (d) did I say the staff were fantastic?
I've not been to York since I was a kid so I was amazed how nice it was, more European than English and the hotel is right in the centre.
It would have been a nice break anyway but the staff were, without doubt, the friendliest of any in any hotel I've stayed in.
It's possibly a York thing, because everyone was nice, but the Hilton staff were really nice. And they were helpful in a genuine way, too, not a "well it's hotel policy so we've got to smile" sort of way. It made the weekend. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglishJero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Please beware when booking there is no disco/Christmas party on your stay (sunday nights) my husband and I was kept awake until 11.45 the music was so loud. we both didn't wake up refreshed from staying here that's all im saying. We felt it was a lot of money spent just to feel terrible xmas shoppingthe next day, the experience was terrible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Located directly across from Clifford's Tower, the Hilton is steps from most of the attractions in York. An average hotel, I rated it very good because of the location. We had requested a quiet room and were provided with one as far away from the lobby and meeting rooms/restaurant as possible due to the number of holiday parties scheduled. It was quiet and comfortable. We would have appreciated free wifi for the cost of the room and the parking cost was steep, however we didn't need our car for the time we were there. We used points for one night a paid for a second so it was a good value overall. With the variety of close and good restaurant and pub choices nearby, we didn't try the restaurant. For the morning, there are many coffee shops, including a Starbucks, and pubs that serve breakfast, very close by. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickiboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Just had a company Christmas party at the Hilton and sadly a very poor evening. No one to greet you and no information. What Christmas decorations that were around the hotel and in our function room were dreadful and basic . The meal was not great - quality and service was awful and to end the meal cool coffee and no mince pies !!
Being the HILTON I expected it to be far better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Located across the street from Clifford's Tower, the hotel is perfectly situated for making a 360-deg cruise around the whole historic town centre. Very helpful front-desk and bell staff. For 40,000 Hilton Honors points for one night, this isn't the best value for a standard two double-bed room. Mattress was like sleeping on a wooden board. Standard-sized bath with limited amenities.

Room Tip: For a nice view, ask for a room overlooking Clifford's Tower and the York Castle area. For a qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £90 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing