We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in York
Wakefield UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We'd booked into the Hilton because we were attending an evening function there. we checked in at about 6 pm but, when we opened our bedroom door, the smell of stale tobacco smoke was overpowering. I'm not precious about such things but the smell was very strong and had clearly been ignored by the housekeeping staff. (The hotel prides itself on being smoke-free, so I found this a little surprising.)
The check-in staff initially adopted a "take it or leave it" attitude, claiming that there were no other rooms available, but we stood our ground and they found us a twin room which was smaller but acceptable. (Two of our friends who arrived later were told that they would have to wait for a room to be cleaned, which took about 30 minutes.)
To be fair to the hotel, they discounted our replacment room and provided some chocolates for the inconvenience, but the attitude of their check-in staff was poor.
Overall, the hotel was pretty much what we expected. This is a bog-standard business orientated chain hotel, and the days are long-gone when a Hilton hotel was syonymous with Luxury.

Room Tip: There was plenty of cheap parking available in the municpipal car park opposite. (I think my overnig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveWakefieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    898
    662
    316
    149
See reviews for
579
1,280
73
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The Hilton York is good value, a good location and friendly, helpful staff. The reason I gave cleanliness a low score was that the corridors were not cleared of the previous guests room service plates and bottles until after I went out for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

As per the title this really is a great location to have as a base to explore York's centre; you're within walking distance to everything this great city has to offer, and the hotel is in a relatively quiet area of the city so there's no worry of not getting a proper night's sleep etc. The hotel is also fairly easy to find from the train station, however if you have a large suitcase or don't want to walk through the main city shopping area then I'd suggest maybe getting a taxi considering it wouldn't cost much.

I've stayed at many Hilton hotels in the past, and given the usual high standard they set I do have to agree with many reviews on here that the overall standard was certainly below par. There was nothing particularly wrong with the hotel, it's just that the rooms were very basic and quite old fashioned, meaning for the money you might feel a bit hard done by. However the hotel building itself is lovely, and we very much enjoyed the breakfast which was most certainly of the great Hilton standard I've become used to.

I'd rate the location as 5 stars and the hotel itself as 3 in comparison to other Hiltons, so overall I think 4 stars is fair - I was certainly happy with the overall experience anyway!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathanjw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great location for wandering round York which is what must make up 75% of the cost of a room, because frankly decor fixtures and fittings are no better quality than a Premier Inn.

Ideal however, if you want to be able to have a night out in York and have a very short stroll back to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Commuter101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a very pleasant stay in the York Hilton Hotel. Staff were helpful and attentive. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom facilities were not so good in that the shower lacked pressure and was set at a peculiar angle. The bath water was warm but not hot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here over 2 nights while visiting York. Its a fantastic location because its so close to the city centre without it being a very loud location. The staff are polite and extremely helpful they even let us check in an hour early with therebeing a torrential down pour of rain. The only down side to the hotel is that the shower in the room we was in dropped pressure on our second day and it wasn't fixed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittycat2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Booked the Hilton for a Saturday night in York, meeting up with friends. Location excellent, adjacent Clifford Tower and hence perfect for walking around the city. Car parking on site and a real delight just to be able to forget about the car. Hotel very comfortable, friendly and helpful staff. May lack a fitness centre and pool, but otherwise I can fully recommend.

Room Tip: Restaurant very good but is close to lots of other quality restaurants, only a short walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing