We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in York
surrey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfect position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here with friends for three nights recently,purely for sightseeing as we hadn't looked around the area before.The hotel is in a perfect position for the town and surrounding attractions....you don't have to use the car at all.Parking is £18 per day(valet parking underneath the hotel)but it is the same for 24hrs in the public car park opposite the hotel i.The staff were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay....the room was a good size with a bathroom(shower in the bath),all spotlessly clean also air conditioning in the room which was handy..Tea and coffee making facilities,toiletries and lovely white towels.Breakfast was very comprehensive....everything there(apart from bananas,but I'm sure if I'd asked they'd have found me one!)Porrige,fruit etc and eggs cooked to order.....lovely orange juice too.We didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings,but they were very happy to recommend local restaurants which were all within easy walking distance.The great range of shops in York are also very close,and the open top bus tours leave from just opposite the hotel.
A good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stickiesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear stickiesurrey,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Hilton York.

Your comments are much appreciated and I am delighted that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the many choices from our Hilton Breakfast.

I will be sharing your feedback with my team as they work extremely hard and it is a pleasure to receive such great feedback.

Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    849
    617
    297
    142
See reviews for
537
1,188
70
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here in January. It right in the center next to everything.
The rooms were clean and spacious. The shower was good too.
Breakfast was fine and the staff were friendly.
Parking is across the road but take plenty of pound coins.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmloumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear mmloumm,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found my team to be most friendly and I will be sharing your kind comments with the whole team.

We are fortunate to be in such a great central location for exploring the lovely city of York.

We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming gyou back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have stayed here on business several times now & I'm always impressed by the friendly welcome, the great service in the bar and the tasty breakfast, the rooms are always spotless and spacious, overall a nice place to stay
On my most recent stay I accidentally left my hat in the room when I checked out. When I called the hotel to see if they had it, they got house keeping to check, they called me back to confirm, got my address and returned it to me in the post, at no charge, within a couple of days.
In times when service is often poor, it's such a refreshing change when people, including big chains, do what they say they will. Excellent service & very friendly too

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is in no way up to the standard of the Hilton chain and needs a complete revamp to get it anywhere close to scratch. The rooms are tiny and cramped, the radiators keep you awake all night making weird noises, the rooms are overly hot, the bathrooms are too small. The front desk staff demand to see your room card before letting you in. We were allowed to change rooms in the middle of the night due to the noise but no-one came to help us move and no-one apologised.The only decent thing about this hotel is the breakfast, which is typical of other Hilton hotels, but sadly that's not enough to pull the rest of this review up. Don't do it! Oh, and don;t be fooled, they don't have a gym. the one you have use of is miles away and rubbish.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hells_Bells81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

First off let me say the staff were amazing. Friendly, chatty and nothing was too much trouble for them. It may be that my expectations were too high but I thought that, although the hotel looked good from the outset,things werent quite the same in the rooms. No bathrobes, very small bathroom and no proper wardrobe! Just a hanging rail in a wooden surround, and outside the bathroom door so all "odours"would permiate your clothes. On the plus side, the bed was comfy, although the duvet didnt fit it very well, and the pillows were just right. I couldn't find a temperature control in the room and it was too hot for me. The sound quality of the TV in the room was dreadful and free wifi in the restaurant, bar and lobby was only for an hour and then didn't work!

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel. No view and it was close to the fire station,but, luckily, nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 372weatherwax15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel was the location! We arrived in the hilton car park and approached by a snotty rude man asking why we parked out car there and claimed we parked it wrong! He then said it is 18 pound a night to leave your car there!! We then got to our room with no help at all. The rooms itself was ok but we were not to happy about a very thin door that divided out room to the next room and you could hear everything. The staff were not welcoming at all!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig99091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing