We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in a great city!”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in York
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location in a great city!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed for two nights over a weekend. The hotel is right in the middle of the old, charming inner-city York, inside the city wall. Our view from the hotel room was right across from the Clifford's Tower. Fascinating.
The room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated.
We spend one late evening at the hotel restaurant and had the "full works" of Yorkshire pudding with lamb stew. Absolutely delicious and LOTS of it :)
Normally, I guess you won't be staying much at the hotel when there are so many charming places right around the corner, but to relax for an afternoon drink after sightseeing in York, the hotel has a nice bar with decent offer of good ales.

Room Tip: Ask for view to the front, overlooking the Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frodefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Frodefox,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit.

I am delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed your ‘Taste of Yorkshire’ meal. I will be sharing your comments with the Head Chef and his team; it is a pleasure to receive such great feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    872
    635
    305
    146
See reviews for
557
1,224
71
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I had a pleasant experience at this hotel. The location was very good and very helpful staff. The room was a bit cramped but it was clean and sunny in the morning. Food was good too. Would probably go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Angela P,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am pleased you had a pleasant experience at the Hilton York.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here with friends for three nights recently,purely for sightseeing as we hadn't looked around the area before.The hotel is in a perfect position for the town and surrounding attractions....you don't have to use the car at all.Parking is £18 per day(valet parking underneath the hotel)but it is the same for 24hrs in the public car park opposite the hotel i.The staff were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay....the room was a good size with a bathroom(shower in the bath),all spotlessly clean also air conditioning in the room which was handy..Tea and coffee making facilities,toiletries and lovely white towels.Breakfast was very comprehensive....everything there(apart from bananas,but I'm sure if I'd asked they'd have found me one!)Porrige,fruit etc and eggs cooked to order.....lovely orange juice too.We didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings,but they were very happy to recommend local restaurants which were all within easy walking distance.The great range of shops in York are also very close,and the open top bus tours leave from just opposite the hotel.
A good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stickiesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear stickiesurrey,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Hilton York.

Your comments are much appreciated and I am delighted that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the many choices from our Hilton Breakfast.

I will be sharing your feedback with my team as they work extremely hard and it is a pleasure to receive such great feedback.

Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here in January. It right in the center next to everything.
The rooms were clean and spacious. The shower was good too.
Breakfast was fine and the staff were friendly.
Parking is across the road but take plenty of pound coins.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmloumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear mmloumm,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found my team to be most friendly and I will be sharing your kind comments with the whole team.

We are fortunate to be in such a great central location for exploring the lovely city of York.

We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming gyou back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have stayed here on business several times now & I'm always impressed by the friendly welcome, the great service in the bar and the tasty breakfast, the rooms are always spotless and spacious, overall a nice place to stay
On my most recent stay I accidentally left my hat in the room when I checked out. When I called the hotel to see if they had it, they got house keeping to check, they called me back to confirm, got my address and returned it to me in the post, at no charge, within a couple of days.
In times when service is often poor, it's such a refreshing change when people, including big chains, do what they say they will. Excellent service & very friendly too

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is in no way up to the standard of the Hilton chain and needs a complete revamp to get it anywhere close to scratch. The rooms are tiny and cramped, the radiators keep you awake all night making weird noises, the rooms are overly hot, the bathrooms are too small. The front desk staff demand to see your room card before letting you in. We were allowed to change rooms in the middle of the night due to the noise but no-one came to help us move and no-one apologised.The only decent thing about this hotel is the breakfast, which is typical of other Hilton hotels, but sadly that's not enough to pull the rest of this review up. Don't do it! Oh, and don;t be fooled, they don't have a gym. the one you have use of is miles away and rubbish.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hells_Bells81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing