We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under whelmed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in York
Yorkshire, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Under whelmed”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Most attractive feature of this hotel is its location.
After walking down corridors which are quite dark and gloomy, we were disapointed with the room size, we have experienced budget hotels which provide much more floor space and better lighting.
The bathroom was extremley small too with just enough room to wedge a toilet and bath in.
The TV definatley needed a repair as the it looked like it was snowing on each chanel we tried.
Very Disapointing

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0timpressed1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    858
    628
    303
    144
See reviews for
553
1,205
71
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel. Paid £140 inc breakfast for a Friday night. valet parked for £18 24 hours. Rooms small but ok. Breakfast nice. The only real issue I had was that the soundproofing is terrible. You can hear banging and crashing through all hours. Reception staff great, restaurant staff great.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tescoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Enjoyed our stay, surprised that there was no fridge/mini bar in our room. We had room 226 which was very quiet apart from the pipes banging at times through the night. Hotel very central for all amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, Cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I stay in Hilton's a lot and this one was among the poorest I have stayed in. Whilst the facilities were adequate the rooms could do with some sprucing up. The bar/restaurant wasn't the most appealing in terms of decor and atmosphere. We didn't try the restaurants, but having read the Applejack's menu with Heinz Tomato soup listed as a starter we decided to go elsewhere.

Breakfast was disappointing with brick hard bacon, no pastries and eggs covered in grease having been cooked in a frying pan swimming with oil.

To top it all off parking cost £18, which I thought was excessive.

On the plus side it has a great central location, so a quick hop, skip and a jump to the historic attractions, shops and restaurants of York.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Out-on-a-Lymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a decent location, opposite Clifford Tower which is nice. friendly and helpful staff. Hotel a bit characterless and parking very limited on site with the public car park opposite quite pricey at £2.20ish and hour. Room we stayed in was OK but TV picture quality was poor and childs pull out bed was uncomfortable. Overall it was fine but wouldn't be ruching back to this hotel if stopping in York again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mark C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Hilton York.

I happy that overall you enjoyed our central location and found my team to be most helpful and friendly. I will be sharing your feedback with them all.

Your comment regarding the television picture has been noted and passed on to the Maintenance Manager for his attention.

Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you
back.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Good location, room adequate, great breakfast. All staff very friendly.After reading some of the reviews was a little concerned but everything was great. Although like others I am surprised you have to pay extra for wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planespotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Planespotter,

Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed our Hilton breakfast and central location.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

A great location right in the centre of York very close to Museums, the Yorvik centre and York Castle. The hotel was nice with very friendly and helpful staff. We had a couple of problems but these were fixed and the hotel went out of its way to put things right for us. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the restaurant.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear R P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hilton York.

It is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am pleased that my team went out of their way to make things right for you and you enjoyed our afternoon tea in Towers restaurant. I will be sharing your comments with my team as they serve as a great motivator and I am proud of them all.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing