We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Applejacks very slow!”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in York
Hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Applejacks very slow!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited applejacks yesterday with the family. The food was ok nothing really special usual american burger etc the kids meals again are ok two of kids had hotdogs, the eldest had the chicken burger for kids which came and was a one bite burger nowhere on the menu was this stated so he was still hungry.
The service was very very slow although the staff all seemed very nice but we waited over 45 minuets for our food in a diner which was almost empty. At the prices you are charged I don't think you can afford the let your standards slip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    870
    633
    305
    145
See reviews for
556
1,221
71
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in April for the weekend, and to our horror we found faeces on the bed linen quilt which obviously had not been changed by the maid, the hotel moved us to another room after I had complained to duty staff, who took pictures off this and did treat the matter seriously but heck this is the Hilton supposedly a fantastic hotel, I have never come across anything so disgusting before. The restaurant was good, but again a let down, we decided to upgrade to the al la carte menu but 3 items were not available the steak I have to say was not good at all. Very small restaurant overcrowded and at breakfast we had to sit in the bar area where staff were holding a meeting with with a supplier discussing the Easter children's egg hunt party, this should have been taken to a meeting room at least. Very, very disappointed, could not recommend this hotel at all.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish155027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Neither my wife nor I had stayed in a Hilton hotel before and were expecting a plush room for the price we paid, we were very disappointed as it was a very average room. However, this hotel is in an excellent location for the centre of York.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Awful awful awful afternoon tea, so expensive for what we got. £27 for some tasteless sandwiches a scone each and tiny bite size cakes, we were in there for all of half an hour, such a waste of time and money. Very disappointed as had booked this on our weekend away for my mums birthday. I've had many afternoon teas before and this was by far the worst. Has put me off visiting hilton hotels altogether. I really wouldn't bother! Xxx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I had a lovely 3 night stay here for my birthday. We found the room very comfortable and the free upgrade was most welcome. The choices for breakfast were plentiful and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Plenty of places to eat and drink within a few minutes walk. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked late for a one night stay in York with my wife & 2 kids and have to say it was superb, very clean with friendly staff, especially the breakfast chef, she was excellent. Central location with all the best sites only 5 or 10 mins away. Most definitely recommend....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed in a few Hiltons recently and a few doubletree or hampton by Hilton and there is a common theme that a lot of the original Hiltons are very dated and could do with some investment, and this is a good example of that.

The location is great and the room was small but clean, however the heating made a lot of noise, the walls were very thin and unfortunately we had a room with an adjoining door to next door which let in lots of noise. Certainly I would not stay again as York has better hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlrUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing